We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Complimentary Chocolate Said It All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Ranked #79 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 28 March 2008

It was a cold Easter, but we didn't want to stay in the hotel - the room was small, it reminded me of being in a caravan. The complimentary chocolate gave us a laugh - it was a squared centimetre Ritter sport. Beware if you are a light sleeper;even on the third floor we were disturbed by the U bahn underneath.
We were shocked that this was a four star due to the cramped room

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Svenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2008

I was staying at the Best Western St. Raphael in Hamburg during my visit for Cebit 2008.

Frankly speaking the rooms looked much better and spacious on the website (through which we made the booking). Main issue was that the rooms were very small. I have never stayed in such a small room.

One other downside was the fact that one could hear and feel the subway when it passed. I assume this is an issue that all buildings face around the central train station so I can't really blame the hotel for this. I am just mentioning it.

On the other hand, the rooms were cleaned every day, the staff was very polite, breakfast was good and the hotel located in a convenient place and near the center of the city. The central station is walking distance (5-10 min).

Wireless internet is free.

Overall, for all that it provided, it could have been slightly cheaper.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hideto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel for one night in two rooms (with 3 teenagers). The location is very convenient (close to central bus & train station, and subway station). Excellent base for Hamburg discovery. The rooms are clean but very small. Staff courteous but not more than that. Be forewarned - the are several steps up to the hotel and no ramp- poor access for wheelchairs or heavy luggage on wheels. They did let us store our luggage till the evening after checkout in a storage area in the lobby. Free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Liora V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Stayed in this hotel whilst visiting Hamburg for my birthday. We got a special rate, I think because the hotel was being refurbished. The hotel was in a good location, only about 5 minutes from the main train station.

We got the airport bus to the train station and it was easy to find from here.

We had a "themed" room that was decorated with roses, which was clean and relatively big.

It was a bit noisy due the hotel being refurbished.

The hotel had free internet access which was useful.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenDavis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2006

This hotel is very nice!!!

The breakfast is great.

The only problem is the location because it is located far from train stations.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank schuminou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2006

We stayed here for a short break in Dec 2006. The hotel is clean, the rooms are somewhat smaller than some other hotels, but this did not spoil our visit. The staff are extremely friendly, this combined with a good restaurant and an inviting bar made our stay a pleasure.
With the bus station over the road, the main railway station a few minutes walk, and the town centre with shops, restaurants (and those Christmas markets) just a 15 minute stoll, this is an ideal place to base yourself for a visit to Hamburg.

Stayed: December 2006
4  Thank Robin.wood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We stayed here for a few days whilst having a look at Hamburg & Bremen. The hotel is well placed for the station and bus station and on the edge of the town centre, on a busy road, but the room was quiet. The room was of a good size and it and the rest of the hotel were very clean, the staff were the real high spot, friendly, helpful and knowledgable about their city. An unusually high standard of service, they deserve every credit. We'd happily stay again. If you do go to Hamburg, try the two micro-breweries, one behind the Rathaus and the other on Willi Brandt Strasse; cheers.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
ARCOTEL Rubin
#59 of 321 in Hamburg
738 reviews
St. Georg
Junges Hotel Hamburg
Junges Hotel Hamburg
#94 of 321 in Hamburg
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#100 of 321 in Hamburg
118 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#54 of 321 in Hamburg
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael

Address: Adenauerallee 41, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £65 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael is a luxury hotel right in the city centre, ideal for a business trip, city break or your family holiday. It is just a short walk to the main shopping district, many local attractions and the main train station. All 118 rooms feature unique and comfortable decor and timeless elegance. Savour a culinary experience in our restaurant "St. Raphael". And after a long day, enjoy a drink in our "Captain's Corner" bar, or unwind in our sauna high above Hamburg's rooftops. One conference room with plenty of natural daylight will hold up to 40 people. Hotel Notice: Due to renovations, the fitness and sauna area can not be used from the beginning of January 2018 to the middle of March 2018. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Raphael
Best Western Hamburg
Hamburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing