We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Hamburg City(Hamburg)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
89
236
87
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
236
87
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hoteltrouser presswalk in wardrobetea coffee facilitiesshower capsmall fridgelong weekend in hamburgnice bar areaaverage hotelrooms are cleaneach morningfew minutes walkroom facingnice sizehotel roomconvenient locationbed was comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

After a long haul flight from Australia we were grateful for reception staff allowing us to access our room well before the usual time. Ah, thanks so much for the hot shower and comfortable bed!
The room was snug but contained all the usual amenities and we were perfectly comfortable. I did note the absence of a kettle and have now read from a previous review that room service will bring free cups to your room which would have been helpful to know about.
The restaurant was very empty on the night we dined there but that is not an indication of the food quality as we found it very tasty with prompt service. We were glad to eat early and take our jet lagged bodies to sleep again.
Breakfast the next morning was a delight. Every good food was on offer and table service was efficiently polite.
The location for us was quite good as we arrived by train and walked the 400m from central station.
There are many hotels in this city and we may choose another if we have different requirements next time but there is certainly nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is centrally located in Hamburg, a few hundred meters from the Central Railway Station, but like in so many other cities the area around the station is also a place where porn-shops, beggars, drunks and prostitutes are part of the scene. I could well imagine that single ladies and prudish people would be uncomfortable here - especially at night.

Others, however, will enjoy the proximity to the shopping areas, the many good restaurants, etc. There are also several well-known gay bars in the area.

The people in the reception are friendly and efficient in the way that Germans are well-known for.

The hotel itself is anonymous and business-like type. Corridors that look like a million other hotels.

Our room was spacious. In fact very, very large. Furnished with a king-size double bed, two tables, four chairs, several closets, bedside tables and more items it seemed to lack charm. I can't really put my finger on it, but for the first time in a hotel I would have liked my room to be a bit smaller - or maybe furniture with more color to avoid the feeling of being in a very beige place - if you get my drift.

I was surprised that the TV was relatively small and not a flat-screen but an old-fashioned TV from last century in the shape of a garage, but it did work. Typically for most hotels in Europe the channels were a couple of dozen local (German speaking) channels and BBC World and CNN + the inevitable pay-TV channels with a few new Hollywood-movies and some straight porn.

The bathroom features a tub which you have to climb into if you want a shower. Not necessarily an easy task if you are an elderly person, but I liked it very much. Like the rest of the property the bath room was clean and inviting.

We were surprised at the lack of an electric kettle or a coffee-machine, but plesantly surprised when we discovered in the guide-book provided by the management that you can call room service 24 hours a day and they will bring you coffee or tea FREE OF CHARGE within a few minutes. We tried it several times and it worked!

Imagine our surprise then when we were asked to accept credit card charges for this service when we checked out.

We were told that we have not ordered our coffee in the right way, but the friendly receptionist was unable to explain what "the right way" of ordering coffee is. We protested the charges and in all fairness I must say that they were deleted from our bill without argument, but the episode left us slightly bewildered. Not the best way to leave the place.

On the plus side I must remember to mention that this hotel provides a really good WiFi-connection free of charge. They also have a parking lot where you can park your car for the price of € 8 per day which is a bargain in a city where parking spaces are few and parking enforcement officers many.

Will we be coming back? We just might. But not necessarily. There a hundreds of hotels in Hamburg, some of which have a lot more style and charm than the Hotel St. Raphael. On the other hand the rates here are generally very reasonable and the feeling of being able to spend an evening on the town in a lively neighborhood and then just have a 5 minute walk back home to your warm bed is not to be underestimated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peerkbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stay in Hamburg every year to visit the CeBIT Messe. To my surprise the Atlantik Kempinski was already fully reserved in October, so after some searching (I want to be close to the station so I can easily commute to the Messe), I booked this hotel already last October.

Is is 8 minutes walking from the hotel door to the spot on the platform where I board the train to access my reserved seat, so satisfactory for the commute requirement.
The chamber was a bit old fashioned but definitely comfortable, with lots of room and an excellent bathroom.

I also liked the extensive choice at breakfast. The only downside was that I had requested a quiet room and was given one, as it overlooked a parking lot and there definitely was no traffic noise.

Unfortunately I woke up every morning at around 7 am as I could hear the (admittedly muted) sound of subway trains passing below street level on the line which turns out to run alongside the Adenauerallee where the hotel is located.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room and they will give you one
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siegfried V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel location is very good if you are visiting Hamburg for a business trip. Very close (in a walking distance( to the train central station. It is a cosy hotel with a nice breakfast and a very friendly staff. Internet was provided for free (although not working all the time). The room decoration was rather outdated and the biggest problem was the water. They probably have installed those quick water heaters which need maintenance. As a result I could not easily get warm water at the desired temperature in the shower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkarase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Upon check in, I was on the second floor which stunk of smoke. I went straight back down and asked for a non-smoking room (which I had booked).

These rooms are very small and the bed were two singles put together into a twin.

The TV was rather poor with limited channels.

In the area, you are very close to the main station for food and transport. A block behind is a little dodgy with many sex shops. You are only a couple of blocks from the main shopping area.

The hotel had rather expensive food and it didn't look very nice. I went to restaurants nearby. The front desk was helpful and spoke good English when needed.

Room Tip: Not a smoking room. They smell a lot.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews