We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Quality refurbished Hotel in the centre of Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Ranked #79 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Quality refurbished Hotel in the centre of Hamburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This Best Western hotel was highlighted as recently been refurbished. The hotel is 10 minutes from the central station. The bedroom was at the front and was beautifully presented. With extra pillows and a larger duvet things were just perfect. The free wifi was excellent except in our bedroom which was at end of the second floor corridor.
The area around the hotel is a Turkish sector with all the clubs etc. A Libyan protest against Nato was taken place which we had to walk past to get to the hotel.
The breakfast was excellent with catered for all tastes . The evening meal was cancelled in favour of a buffet as a tour party was in the hotel. The buffet was over priced .

The staff at the Hotel were excellent and professional , from front of house to housekeeper.

Car parking is available but the close proximity to the central railway and bus station is a big plus

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernIreland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    208
    72
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
156
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augustenborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice, hotel, friendly staff, big rooms and a splendid breakfast. The location i St. Georg is a little noisy, -not possible to sleep with open windows. Private parking area behind the hotel. Only a few hundred meter to the main train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jørn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I was there for just one night and this was fine, nothing exceptional. Clean, practical but small rooms.
I had dinner, big quantity and looked like good quality ingredients, just strange arrangements and pretty heavy...
Otherwise, receptionists were enthusiast and did their best to find their way through their new IT system ... With smile... If it happens, be patient... Can happen anywhere.
Bed wascomfortable and there was not so much noise even if the location is a pretty noisy one.
Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed four nights at this hotel while in Hamburg on business. Travelling alone so smallish room was not an issue. Flat screen tv and walk in wardrobe with a shelf for a suitcase. Safe in the room.

Good location in essence although as other reviewers observe, an issue is that there can be people hanging around on the street between the hotel and the station. This can be unnerving - one young man did attempt to speak to me but backed off immediately following a polite "no, I'm not interested".

I didn't go for the breakfast as €15 is a bit steep in my view. Other than that the hotel is standard Best Western style with a nice small fitness room on the top floor. No issues whatsoever with the hotel itself; it did what I needed it to do.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situation in a great location with a very good choice of small restaraunts near by. Public transport links appeared to be very good.
Hotel staff were very pleasant & welcolming.
Very impressed with the cleansiness.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

After a long haul flight from Australia we were grateful for reception staff allowing us to access our room well before the usual time. Ah, thanks so much for the hot shower and comfortable bed!
The room was snug but contained all the usual amenities and we were perfectly comfortable. I did note the absence of a kettle and have now read from a previous review that room service will bring free cups to your room which would have been helpful to know about.
The restaurant was very empty on the night we dined there but that is not an indication of the food quality as we found it very tasty with prompt service. We were glad to eat early and take our jet lagged bodies to sleep again.
Breakfast the next morning was a delight. Every good food was on offer and table service was efficiently polite.
The location for us was quite good as we arrived by train and walked the 400m from central station.
There are many hotels in this city and we may choose another if we have different requirements next time but there is certainly nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is centrally located in Hamburg, a few hundred meters from the Central Railway Station, but like in so many other cities the area around the station is also a place where porn-shops, beggars, drunks and prostitutes are part of the scene. I could well imagine that single ladies and prudish people would be uncomfortable here - especially at night.

Others, however, will enjoy the proximity to the shopping areas, the many good restaurants, etc. There are also several well-known gay bars in the area.

The people in the reception are friendly and efficient in the way that Germans are well-known for.

The hotel itself is anonymous and business-like type. Corridors that look like a million other hotels.

Our room was spacious. In fact very, very large. Furnished with a king-size double bed, two tables, four chairs, several closets, bedside tables and more items it seemed to lack charm. I can't really put my finger on it, but for the first time in a hotel I would have liked my room to be a bit smaller - or maybe furniture with more color to avoid the feeling of being in a very beige place - if you get my drift.

I was surprised that the TV was relatively small and not a flat-screen but an old-fashioned TV from last century in the shape of a garage, but it did work. Typically for most hotels in Europe the channels were a couple of dozen local (German speaking) channels and BBC World and CNN + the inevitable pay-TV channels with a few new Hollywood-movies and some straight porn.

The bathroom features a tub which you have to climb into if you want a shower. Not necessarily an easy task if you are an elderly person, but I liked it very much. Like the rest of the property the bath room was clean and inviting.

We were surprised at the lack of an electric kettle or a coffee-machine, but plesantly surprised when we discovered in the guide-book provided by the management that you can call room service 24 hours a day and they will bring you coffee or tea FREE OF CHARGE within a few minutes. We tried it several times and it worked!

Imagine our surprise then when we were asked to accept credit card charges for this service when we checked out.

We were told that we have not ordered our coffee in the right way, but the friendly receptionist was unable to explain what "the right way" of ordering coffee is. We protested the charges and in all fairness I must say that they were deleted from our bill without argument, but the episode left us slightly bewildered. Not the best way to leave the place.

On the plus side I must remember to mention that this hotel provides a really good WiFi-connection free of charge. They also have a parking lot where you can park your car for the price of € 8 per day which is a bargain in a city where parking spaces are few and parking enforcement officers many.

Will we be coming back? We just might. But not necessarily. There a hundreds of hotels in Hamburg, some of which have a lot more style and charm than the Hotel St. Raphael. On the other hand the rates here are generally very reasonable and the feeling of being able to spend an evening on the town in a lively neighborhood and then just have a 5 minute walk back home to your warm bed is not to be underestimated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peerkbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#113 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
St. Georg
City House
City House
#101 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
ARCOTEL Rubin
#65 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#62 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Address: Adenauerallee 41, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#64 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael is a luxury hotel right in the city centre, ideal for a business trip, city break or your family holiday. It is just a short walk to the main shopping district, many local attractions and the main train station. All 112 rooms feature unique and comfortable decor and timeless elegance. Savour a culinary experience in our restaurant. And after a long day, enjoy a drink in our "Captain's Corner" bar, or unwind in our sauna high above Hamburg's rooftops. One conference room with plenty of natural daylight will hold up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Raphael
Best Western Hamburg
Hamburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing