We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Raphael mini-break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Ranked #70 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Woking, England
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“St Raphael mini-break”
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We stayed here for a few days whilst having a look at Hamburg & Bremen. The hotel is well placed for the station and bus station and on the edge of the town centre, on a busy road, but the room was quiet. The room was of a good size and it and the rest of the hotel were very clean, the staff were the real high spot, friendly, helpful and knowledgable about their city. An unusually high standard of service, they deserve every credit. We'd happily stay again. If you do go to Hamburg, try the two micro-breweries, one behind the Rathaus and the other on Willi Brandt Strasse; cheers.

  • Liked — friendly, helpful staff
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    223
    79
    19
    7
See reviews for
29
176
44
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MISSOULA,MONTANA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2006

small rooms but very nice,for a place to sleep and possible eat
very good -staff very freindly and helpfull I would stay at this hotel again and recommend to anyone who is looking for a place
to sleep while on holiday

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank GUNS0700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2006

I would stay here again. I was here for three nights during the World Cup, the St Raphael is in a great location about five to ten minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof (Central Station), which is connected to virtually every U-Bahn and S-Bahn line in the city.

Overall, whilst the room was on the small side, I liked this hotel. The service was responsive and attentive, but never overbearing. Nice bar, didn't eat in the restaurant nor did I use the sauna, so can't comment on these.

If you can get a good deal on price then the St Raphael is certainly worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2006

arriving Hamburg: very busy airport - the jasper shuttle to the mainstation has no luggage compartments, so busses are overcrowded. ride takes approx. 25 mins.
the city: wonderful city, harbour area, speicherstadt (spicemuseum), very large modelrailway exhibition worth seeing and off course Reberbahn (either you love it, or hate it). If you want party, stay in St.Pauli. Hamburg is a very laid back city compared to many other German cities. People are friendly and open.
Hotel: I was not lucky about the room. Shoeboxroom with tiny toilet/showerroom (1 x 1,5 meters) - I think this was smaller than the one in BW Alfa Aeropuerto Barcelona - washbasin at the entrance of the room. Not comfortable and a waiste of money. The hotel is located almost next to the mainstation and the etnic quarter of Hamburg. Service was friendly and efficient. You can hear/feel the metro which runs just under the hotel.
Loved Hamburg - hated the room.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2005

On a frequent business trip to Hamburg I also chose the St Raphael 3 nights based on previous reviews, choosing a standard room and paying via Expedia at 195GBP excl breakfast, with double room preference. The room although clean however was tiny, with a single bed at 1 side and a couch against the other, with little more then 1 m between them. A previous stay at Best Western Hamburg International was twice the size at less then 2/3 the price. Unfortunately being full there was not an opportunity to upgrade.
I would not recommend prepaying a room at St. Raphael.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKiwiOnOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 July 2005

This is a great little hotel. It is located just a few minutes walk from the bus station which is perfect for those flying with Ryanair to Lubeck and getting the bus into Hamburg. The hotel is clean with nice modern rooms. Staff are very helpful. Nice buffet breakfast and small but ample bar - the 'Captain's Corner'. Also has top floor jacuzzi/sauna etc.
Perfect for exploring the city. You can easily walk down to the Rathausmarkt without too much effort and train stations are littered everywhere with a fast, efficient and cheap service which will take you anywhere you like very quickly.
Harbour/canal tour from Langdusbrucken reccomended. Also visit the Reeberbahn - it is fun.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 June 2005

Based on the previous reviews, we chose this hotel.
Across from the bus station and a 2 minute walk from the train station, it's location proved to be ideal.
We flew into Lubeck airport (50Km north of Hamburg) and got the bus to almost the front door.
The hotel room had been booked as a "Superior Double" and we were very pleased. A bit more space than your average hotel room.
Our room was very clean and had a bath & shower with clean towels daily.
The food in the hotel was good (we took the buffet, a 5 Euro reduction for hotel guests) while the "a la carte" menu looked nice too.
But there are plenty of eating out places within a 5 minute walk.
We walked for miles enjoying the ambience of Hamburg and would not hesitate in recommending it as an ideal destination for a city break.
The German train network is fantastic, cheap to travel and VERY punctual.
So, go on, enjoy Hamburg using the Best Western Hotel St. Raphael as your base.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
ARCOTEL Rubin
#63 of 317 in Hamburg
697 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#47 of 317 in Hamburg
397 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel City House
Hotel City House
#113 of 317 in Hamburg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
STAY! Hotel Boardinghouse
#112 of 317 in Hamburg
97 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Address: Adenauerallee 41, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael is a luxury hotel right in the city centre, ideal for a business trip, city break or your family holiday. It is just a short walk to the main shopping district, many local attractions and the main train station. All 118 rooms feature unique and comfortable decor and timeless elegance. Savour a culinary experience in our restaurant "St. Raphael". And after a long day, enjoy a drink in our "Captain's Corner" bar, or unwind in our sauna high above Hamburg's rooftops. One conference room with plenty of natural daylight will hold up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Raphael
Best Western Hamburg
Hamburg Best Western
Best Western Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing