We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Wedina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wedina
Ranked #70 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We only stayed here one night and wish it could have been longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful - we had taken the overnight train from Paris to Hamburg and were able to drop our bags off early in the morning and sit and have a coffee before going out to investigate the area. Excellent location and a very easy walk from the station. The garden is lovely and a restful place to have breakfast etc. The room we had was huge and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Wedina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

I chose there because of a recommendation. . . and staying there for a long weekend turned out as an excellent choice - the location is perferct, since close to the central station, the Binnenalster and the Kunsthalle, there's a lot of cafes, bars and restaurants in St.Georg's main street Lange Reihe and a lot of small shops, too. Despite the weather it was a pleasant experience and sure, in summer when the backyard garden is open it'll be perfect.
I was travelling on my own and first was disappointed about the room - got impression that once again worst rooms are reserved for single travellers but it turned out to be ok. . . - it was a double room with view into the garden, but is was almost ground floor, ie. on tanding place in the first turn of the stairs, aacing the breakfast room and when the breakfast was prepared in the morning, it didn't go unnoticed. . . - but it was a quite room, not much space though besides for the bed. Thanksfully, the cupboard was in a kind of entrance that had an extra door - unfortunately, there were hardly any shelves in it - just one actually and this was quite high up, plenty of space though for hangers. It was clean and tidy but I got the impression that it was a bit old and quite used - one of the bedsheats was torn and it surprised me that it was 'displayed' so openly. . . - the room service may have noticed hthat too so the next day, it had disappeared, maybe just by having turned it to proper side?! The bathroom was spacious with the shower in the bath tube, white and clean and enough space for toilette items.
Staff are friendly and helpful - at the reception and while serving breakfast - a pleasant athmosphere prevailed and it was great to find a computer / free internet access for guests at the entrance, too.
The breakfast offered a lot of choices of beverages and food and both mornings I was lucky to find a free table in the back of the breakfast room which is a kind of wintergarden facing the terrasse and gardern - there's a couple of newspapers available, too - so breakfast can turn into a brunch easily (however, breakfast is served until 11h).

Room Tip: facing the backyard, preferably upper floors
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were travelling with a teenager so wanted to give them space and privacy. We booked a 'studio triple' on the top floor of the 'Green House'. This was very modern, light, airy and tranquil and perfect for us. Each area of the apartment is on a different level - kitchen, a living room with balcony, a bathroom and a double bedroom so it creates a sense of privacy. Our teenager was on the sofabed in the living room. We love very modern interior design so it was a plus for us to have polished concrete walls and a minimalist design but it you like a more traditional approach this hotel has other houses on the same street which have a different theme and a completely different feel. Just to say we are fit and did not mind having to take the stairs to the top floor. I am not sure there is a lift. As other guests have noted the buffet breakfasts at the Wedina are among the very best you will ever get in a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top-floor apartment in the ultra-modern Green House
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zepherine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

First, the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the Binnenalster, a 5 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof (Take S1 from the airport; do NOT waste money on a taxi), and is in the St. Georg area which is very bio & eco friendly & therefore a little "bohemian", and judging from the amount of renovation construction happening, is only going to get nicer.

The floor plan of the rooms is wonderful, not just a box -- this (along with favorable reviews) was the major reason we chose Wedina. Our room was in the Blue House had a sleeping loft upstairs and a sitting area, office, and kitchen downstairs. I wake up early and putter, which causes major problems with other family members in traditional single-box rooms; this room was the PERFECT layout for us. The windows are HUGE and can open all the way; ours looked upon several mature trees in a small garden and was very green with lots of birds. In addition to a two-"burner" inductive stovetop and refrigerator, there was a Nespresso coffee machine that made the most excellent coffee, with more pods available at the front desk, for less than they cost in stores (a huge Nespresso store is on Neuwallstraße) .

The breakfasts were delicious, with a wide variety of choices, including pickled herring, smoked trout, four different cheeses, ten different kinds of bread, cherry tomatoes, fresh fruit, jams, honey, corn flakes, muesli (with seven different fruits, nuts, seeds to add to your bowl), yogurt, sliced deli meats, and several different kinds of espresso coffees (macchiatto has the most shots and there is also a simple pot of brewed coffee available for minimalists). The teas are special blends, the Assam is highly reviewed (but is not my cup of tea), but the house green tea and the Earl Gray were superb. Finally, boiled eggs are available, but must be requested, since they don't have any way to keep them warm. If you like a harder egg, let them know, or let it set for a few minutes before breaking the shell.

In the non-food department, Wedina has a beautiful communal garden with tables & chairs (get there early if you want to sit outside for breakfast), many bookshelves with books in several languages, and for all age ranges.

There also a dozen well-maintained bicycles for guest use (Hamburg is a BIG bicycling city). If you are new to Hamburg, when walking, stay off the (usually red) bike lanes (sometimes running near the middle of the sidewalk) and definitely look both ways before crossing one of them -- it may just be me, but I was more concerned with getting whacked by a bicycle than a car. It felt a little like being in the UK, where I had to consciously chant, "look right, then left" when crossing a street.

The only thing that was not perfect about Hotel Wedina was that unless you book a room for a month, the stovetop and cooking utensils are not made available, so remember to bring a corkscrew, (although the front desk will happily loan you anything you need, including cutlery, plates, etc.) This, in addition to no microwave, made it difficult to warm milk for use with the wonderful Nespresso coffee machine.

When we booked we planned to cook some meals in the room to save money, as we had never been to Hamburg and our dining experiences in Brussels and Iceland were brutally expensive. We were very pleasantly surprised to find how relatively inexpensive it is to eat out in Hamburg. There is a great local eatery called "Frau Möller", a 30 second walk from the Red House (go right when you exit). It has a simple menu and the goulash is some of the best i have ever tasted. The locals eat here and it is always busy, which tells you a lot. The Frikadellen mit Spiegelei ü Bratkartoffeln appears to be the most popular meal choice; it will definitely fill you up without breaking the bank.

Although the dollar is weak and the room rate is relatively high, we will definitely be returning to Wedina in the future, to visit our child who is now studying in Hamburg for a year abroad.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zincb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes walk from the main station (Hauptbahnhof) in the St Georg district. Just down the road is the Binnenalster lake. The street is quiet.

Reception was efficient and friendly. There was a book-lined sitting area, cafe bar and the breakfast room.

I stayed in the Red House (where the reception and breakfast room/ cafe are). The room was small - I had single occupancy of a double room and the twin bed used up pretty well all of the floorspace. Decor was dull, a bit dowdy. Modern lights, OK for reading and working. Thick curtains, but too small to keep out the light. Small television, selection of German channels, one in English (CNN). Shower room was small, even drying oneself was awkward, good lighting in the shower, so-so over the basin. Liquid soap and shower gel, OK. All clean.

From the website, the other buildings have more interesting rooms, but are more expensive.

What did it for me was breakfast. While most of the breakfast room is just an ordinary room, the far end is a conservatory, bright, big windows and looks out over the garden. In better weather one can sit outside. Breakfast itself was a decent but not especially large selection, but high quality cheese bread &c, nicely laid out. Later in the day the breakfast room turned into a lively cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

we loved the location in a very interesting section of hamburg, a few steps from the alster. clean spacious rooms, breakfast galore, lovely garden, good accessibility (bus stop a few steps from hotel), lots of restaurants, maybe not the fanciest but large variety from four corners of the world. if you prefer it very straight this is not for you, but if you enjoy things out of common you cannot find better in hamburg.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rome-weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I spent six nights at the Wedina Hotel with my husband and we find the hotel impeccable. The room was big and cosy, the breakfast was always tasty and fresh, with a good selection of breads, cheeses, fruits, yoghurt and cereals. If the weather is fine, you can eat in a beautiful garden. The location is also very good, in a quiet street and within walking distance to downtown, the Hauptbahnhof and the most interesting sites. The staff was very kind, friendly and helpful. As we had a very early flight and won´t be able to have breakfast, they made us delicious sandwiches the night before. A very special place. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianagazolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#31 of 319 in Hamburg
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The George Hotel
#39 of 319 in Hamburg
582 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#45 of 319 in Hamburg
405 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 319 in Hamburg
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wedina

Address: Gurlittstr. 23, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#26 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £124 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wedina 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedina Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing