We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Hotel Wedina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Wedina
Ranked #75 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I spent six nights at the Wedina Hotel with my husband and we find the hotel impeccable. The room was big and cosy, the breakfast was always tasty and fresh, with a good selection of breads, cheeses, fruits, yoghurt and cereals. If the weather is fine, you can eat in a beautiful garden. The location is also very good, in a quiet street and within walking distance to downtown, the Hauptbahnhof and the most interesting sites. The staff was very kind, friendly and helpful. As we had a very early flight and won´t be able to have breakfast, they made us delicious sandwiches the night before. A very special place. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianagazolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

Hotel Wedina is centrally located, in the boho-chic St Georg district near the Hauptbahnhof and within walking distance of the lake, theatres, museums, the magnificent collections of the Kunsthalle, the University, the gardens of Planten un Blomen, Speicherstadt (old Hamburg office and warehouse district), and city shopping. Public transport will take you further afield. In a compound of four different (and differently coloured) buildings, the hotel offers a variety of rooms and interior styles. I like the minimalist comfort of the Blue House: it's light, clean, uncluttered, with the added aura of the rooms being dedicated to different literary figures and their work is on the bookshelf: you can choose to spend time in the presence of Vladmir Nabakov, Michael Oondatje, or Robert Musil, among others. The beds are perfect, the lighting is excellent, the TV is small but adequate, the bathrooms are well-designed. Across the street in the Red House you'll find the Reception and the breakfast room, which opens out to the surprising oasis of a small garden: flowers, shrubs, trees, statuary, squirrels, birds, a generous deck for sitting in the sun. Breakfast at Wedina is something to wake up for: mine was fruit and yoghurt, a cup of Assam tea, a soft-boiled egg, a fresh bread roll, but there's a wide choice for all tastes, fresh and delicious. Have I mentioned the hotel's association with the nearby Literaturhaus? The library of books by writers who have been Wedina guests? The amazing shoe-polishing machine in the basement? The friendly and intelligent staff? Bicycles? If there's anything to improve, it would be to have tea-making facilities in each room, for those of us who need several cups a day and at odd hours, but that's a minor detail, as refreshments seem to be available around the clock in the Red House. In the world of small hotels, and in Hamburg in particular, Hotel Wedina is a special place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissusMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

Very well located and chic ... the joys of good design ... some rooms are bigger and better than others (the apartments are sublime!) ... what a nice place to live in fact ... the only little trouble was my own fault ... breakfast in the charming courtyard turned into a bee attack, and I refused to let the bees win, when in fact, I should have had my breakfast indoors.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sephuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

I went there for the weekend, the room was very good, clean, big, well heated and fully functional with tv and phone and toilet inside.
They seem to have an interesting characteristic ... literature everywhere, I hoped I had more time to browse along the book shelves they have.
The organic breakfast buffet is very good in European standards.

Overall the service, room, cleanliness and breakfast is way above average.
I recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cavernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

We picked this hotel for the location which within walking distance to most downtown sites. After a long flight, our miniscule room was very hip but downright claustrophobic--barely large enough for two twin beds and two suitcase. The breakfast room and garden in the main building are a lovely counterpoint to the rooms, and the guests were varied and interesting. The hotel tries hard to please and it has a lot going for it, but once was enough for us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mahadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Not your typical hotel, but in three houses. We stayed in the Yellow house had a huge suite, separate bedroom area, large dining and living room (couch used as sofa bed for our son) and kitchen, large bath. Great water pressure, immaculate, minimalist decor, breakfast is included and is yummy and extensive! Price is excellent for size of room, breakfast and location. Plenty of neighborhood restaurants, we felt very safe in general in Hamburg. This is in the St. Georg neighborhood very artsy, but convenient to everything. Many writers have stayed here and they have a lobby filled with many signed first editions. 10 minute walk to the train station, easy to roll your suitcases to. Highly recommend it and would return.
Caution, no elevators (property only two or three floors) - but staff will accomodate and carry bags if requested. When in Hamburg, do try to take a 1/2 hour train trip to Lubbeck, magical medieval Unesco town. The puppet theatre there is unique and well worth the visit. The spirals throughout are amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank PortiaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

Situated in a quiet one-way street but within walking distance of the main museums and sites. Our bedroom was small but comfortable and stylishly furnished with excellent modern bathroom. Best of all are the Swiss breakfasts - simply wonderful. Friendly and helpful service with good English spoken. Good restaurants nearby, including the excellent vegetarian Cafe Koppel just around the corner.

Stayed: January 2007
14  Thank 452Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
The George Hotel
#43 of 321 in Hamburg
604 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,517 reviews
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#48 of 321 in Hamburg
1,127 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#25 of 321 in Hamburg
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wedina

Address: Gurlittstr. 23, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £126 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wedina 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Wedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedina Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing