We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will never recommend this hotel to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Ranked #109 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The service is horrible, the front desk lady was very rude and unhelpful. In the room you have ertain information and the they change it without notice. The rates they change tbe day they want you have to pay before hand so if for some reason you have to leave you lose your money. Service in the breakfast is bad. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrlanditoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Orlandito ,


Thank you for your review and your honest words, regarding you stay in our Hotel Graf Moltke.
Of course, we have passed the criticized points to the responsible departments.
We would like to apologize very much for the resulting inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Graf Moltke Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Booked two rooms directly with the hotel back in September for a three night stay in December.

On the day of travel, due to adverse weather British Airways cancelled our flight. I called the hotel and advised our arrival would be delayed by 24 hours.

The following evening we arrived and were allocated the tiniest, most pokey room I have ever seen, located next to the elevator, for a room rate of EUR 289 per night. When I requested a different room Mr Stefano Heinz who was on duty (and to whom I had spoken 24 hours prior) informed me that had we arrived earlier in the day we would have been allocated a better room.

I was more than taken aback by this ignorant comment as he was fully informed of our new arrival time. Maybe selective memory lapse? I found the response unhelpful, unprofessional and, quite frankly, totally unacceptable. There was most certainly no language problem as I am a fluent German speaker. We were to have checked in 24 hours ealier so I was very interested to find out what happened to that room? At a wild guess it was resold and despite having books months ago were allocated the dregs.

As we had arrived late we did not pay on arrival (now, from my fairly extensive travel experience the norm is for room invoices to be settled on departure) so were rather amused the next day (bearing in mind all our possessions were in the room) to be told we had to pay for our stay before we would be handed back our room key. We then idley wondered whether the hotel was selling rooms by the hour as during my extensive travels (please see my other reviews) I have not been asked to pay upfront.

The breakfast was quite poor - on Sunday the bread rolls were hard and stale. The hot water in the flasks was warm rather than hot and on requesting hot boiling water eyes were rolled. The staff clearly did not want to be on duty in the breakfast room. Can't say in all honesty that I blame then.

My recommendation for this hotel: avoid.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The mixed reviews concerned me, but this hotel was perfect for our 5 day family stay in Hamburg.
We had a large, clean room with spotless bathroom with shower & bath.
The staff were always very friendly.
The breakfast was always fresh and plentiful.
Not a bad word to say about this centrally located hotel.
Interesting nightlife if you walk down Steindamm, but never felt uncomfortable/concerned/worried even with the three young children.
Fabulous public transport network right on the doorstep & we were able to walk to many places too.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Graf Moltke Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Graf Moltke Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we made the reservation the hotel website warned - Very small room with queen size bed. So we were not going to deception. When we got there the room was in fact small but I have been in smaller rooms without warning . And though it was small we manage to live there with two bags ( one of them quite large) open on the floor just the way I like it . The room, and the small bathroom are newly remodeled , everything new and immaculately clean . In an old building, with white ceiling plaster work , carved walls , very nice environment. Good shower, the bathroom although small had enough space and was well organized .
Buffet Breakfast was varied and of good quality.
Perfect location - 5mn walk from the main station , walking distance from the center , the metro right outside.
If we add the fact that we paid 40 euros per night for a double room including breakfast, I’ve never been in any hotel with best quality / price ratio.
If you want to get a reasonably good place to stay in Hamburg and spend very few money , this is your choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Graf Moltke Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees and directors.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Graf Moltke Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here from 24th jan to jan 25th 2014 to go to a concert at the o2.We choose this hotel as its near everything but quite a long haul to the o2.We had a twin room on the 2nd floor near the back which was just what we needed but we had no outside view only of the kitchen down below.On both nights we were both woken up at around 4am with shouting and then the following night with somebody knocking the door a few up and calling out so that spoilt it as we woke up late on both days and missed breakfast but other than that i think its a nice hotel in a nice spot. Theres lots of shops up the Steindamm road and around and the bigger shops in a short walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Second visit to this hotel, and it was just as good as last year. A good, value hotel that does exactly what it says on the tin. Just over the road from the main Hamburg railway station. Breakfast very good, lots of choice. Rooms very clean, and small, but you do have the option of a bigger room when booking, but we knew this, so no problem. Only minor criticism, the breakfast staff on a morning, congregating around the kitchen entrance, where people need to walk past. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are small, but you can pay for a larger and I suppose more luxurious room. We just use t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestRiding1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

this is a great option if you appreciate being close to Central Train Station and airport (from Train Station one train ride away). Hamburg´s heart is all around you within a walking distance- museums, shops, malls, Churches, Channels, docks & lakes etc. You have U-Bahn, S-Bahn, Intercity Trains, International lines all within a few blocks!

The Hotel evidently had a more glamorous past. But it gives you an overall safe, klean and tidy appearance. The elevator is old (yet perfectly functional- a tribute to German Engineering!)and small. Breakfast is included and it seamed reasonable in variety and quality, considering it is complimentary.

In a nutshell, it is a great choice if you need fast access to transportation while in Hamburg (more so if you are traveling with big, much or heavy baggage), but still appreciate being close to everything. It is functional, is quiet and safe, and kept some the charm of Old times. Well appreciated is the free WiFi and breakfast- luggage storage and very friendly front desk personnel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marklaseve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Terminus Hamburg
#131 of 319 in Hamburg
130 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#45 of 319 in Hamburg
405 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
#40 of 319 in Hamburg
754 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg

Address: Steindamm 1, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly TOP)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Graf Moltke is located in a prime location between the Alster lake and the city center and close to the main train station. The hotel is characterized by a beautiful white exterior and a bright, welcoming entryway. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel you have a variety of venues and bars. To visit the maritime atmosphere of the harbor, the St. Michaelis church (Michel) or the jetties, it is only a few minutes ride by public transport, take off directly at the main station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graf Moltke Top Hotel
Top Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing