We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Mare(Hamburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Room Service
Hotel Miramar(Hamburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Impala Hotel(Hamburg)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (1,149)
    Filter reviews
    1,149 results
    Traveller rating
    331
    530
    226
    45
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    331
    530
    226
    45
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsclub roomking georgeihg memberpriority clublounge accessnice hotelresidential areaminute walkbusiness hotelmini barthe air conditioningbus stopbusiness tripreception staffquiet locationstandard roomnice stay
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    314 - 319 of 1,149 reviews
    Reviewed 24 October 2013

    Although not in the centre of Hamburg, the closest metro is only 500m from the hotel that allow access to the whole city with German precision. I found the hotel clean, well maintained but need modernization overall. As part of business trip, I missed news in English (only one channel - BBC news) - all other channels were German. WiFi was extremely expensive with no "free" option anywhere in the hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly, breakfast extensive for a European hotel.

    Room Tip: I had room 642 - corner room - that overlook the lake.
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank VlamJohannesburg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

    Dear VlamJohannesburg,

    Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


    Yours sincerely,

    Hannes Dreher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 October 2013

    While attending the CCH for a week, we elected to stay at the Crown Plaza. Our stay was comfortable, priced well, and the service was really good all around. We generally took a taxi to the CCH for about $8-9 EU each way and walked after hours to pubs, resturants, etc.
    Breakfast was busy, but well laid out with a good variety of breakfast choices. The bar was nice and busy as well during the week and the beer, cold. Other than rain all week, our stay was pleasant, quiet and comfortable with great service and smile! I would stay here again.

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JAreg2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

    Dear JAreg2013,

    Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


    Yours sincerely,

    Hannes Dreher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 October 2013

    Location - excellent - walking distance to town, with great food choices in town. Particularly liked the Portugese food (Vasco da Gama), Thai (Thai & Sushi) and Cox (German food).

    Groceries - there is a big grocery store, further up the street where, you can quality german stuffs. If u r shopping for german stuff to bring home, shop here. The chocolates r like 30-50% cheaper than at the airport.

    Rooms - clean and comfiortable.

    Hotel food - limited choices at bfast and lunch. For dinner, u can try the King George is not bad, but u will tire out easily. U r better off walkign down the street the check out the food there.

    Room Tip: Try higher floors. My room was at the 2nd floor, facing the car park, so I can hear the buses or lugage rolling on the pavement, all the time. I could close the window, but then I will not get the great autumn air..
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AhWah
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

    Dear Ahwah,

    Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


    Yours sincerely,

    Hannes Dreher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

    Located a block off the main street, the Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood. With easy access to the walking and bike paths that can take you to the downtown shopping district, you must walk about a mile for really good shopping and restaurants. Of course taxis are also available, but not cheap.
    The hotel is clean and mort of the staff is helpful and courteous. Occasionally, there is a strong attitude leaving you feeling unwelcome.
    Be ready to walk to the action and come back tired.

    Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank misteroos
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

    Dear misteroos,

    Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I want to assure the issues you have raised concerning the service will definitely be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the service we offer to our guests.

    Yours sincerely,

    Hannes Dreher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 October 2013

    I was at this hotel for a conference in the city. It was booked by the company but it was a great choice. Very close to the convention center and also to the city center. Very nice walk nearby. The breakfest buffet was amazing and the attendants were very helpful. The parking was a little bit expensive as the entire germany, arround € 20/day.

    Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    Thank FMPENHA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza R Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

    Dear FMPENHA,

    Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


    Yours sincerely,

    Hannes Dreher
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews