We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on most measures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Ranked #47 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Location of this hotel is a bit out of the way, a good 20-30 minute walk into the centre (20 mins to the Hauptbahnhof and then the rest to to the Markt), but it's not a bad walk and is also close to Uhlandstrasse U-Bahn station.

Rooms were quite small but quiet and comfortably furnished; bathroom standard chain hotel fare but again perfectly adequate. I stayed for a two-night break; I think if I stayed much longer the smallness of the room would have got to me a bit more.

Breakfast was superb. A wonderful selection, sweet and savoury, meats and cereals. And excellent tea. Certainly no chance to go hungry. Front desk service was excellent - very helpful.

Whilst the location was not ideal, for the cost it was excellent value all round. For a similar price I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear unspecifi ... ,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6-8th Dec 20 mins from the airport as it was the day after the storm we decided on a taxi as it was freeeeezing!! €22 one way.
Hotel is about a 10-15 min walk to the town ctr come out of the hotel turn left keep walking you will pass some food places and supermarkets then you will see the main train station walk through the station which was very pretty to the other side and there's the town. It has c&a Lego store clothes stores shopping malls etc etc.
We ate at the Xmas market which was very busy on Saturday night the police were out in force in riot gear no trouble though!
If you turn right when leaving the hotel and keep walking about 10 mins you come to a shopping mall called hamburger mall has tk maxx c&a and lots of other shops and a food court.
The hotel was very clean the staff friendly and happy to help.
The breakfast was a buffet and a good variety it was busy but no problem getting a table.
The rooms were quite small but clean and the beds comfortable.
The TV is small only 1 English Channel CNN.
There's an iron ironing board and hair dryer. We forgot the adapter plug but got one from reception.
There's 1 small bottle of complimentary water per room.
They have a lovely lavender sleep spray in the room and it did work.
Check in and out was easy no problems at all.
I joined the rewards club but found out points can only be added if booked via the hotel group as I work for an airline and booked through my company I wasn't entitled which us a shame as the Hilton allow me points.
I would stay here again as the location is good but be prepared to walk if you're doing the Xmas markets we walked 7 miles on our first night as the markets are scattered everywhere.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toptotty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Toptotty 66,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here two nights for the Christmas market. booked a half board deal and wished we hadn't.
Room - cramped and the air-conditioning didn't work. Although it was winter, we had to have the window open on the second night to be cool enough.
Service - Check in was ok, but when we tried to phone that night about the aircon not working the reception phone was never answered and we gave up. The following morning we asked some general questions about transport and the market and had single word answers grunted at us by an obviously fed up agent. Arrived for dinner the first night and stood watching waitresses and waiters running around ignoring us. Had to go down to reception and ask them to ring the dining room to get them to stop and show us to a table.
Food - breakfast buffet was fine but space is an issue. The dinner food was awful; first night was a buffet because a tour was in and the trays were not refilled and the quality dreadful; second night was a three course "choice" of two mains, we picked the pork and it was like a school dinner.
Cleanliness - fine.
Location - very good. The No 6. bus stops nearly outside which is great to get in to town. Note that the fast bus (37 ?)has the same route but does not stop at the hotel stop as we found out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryceM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear BryceM61,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the level of service provided during your stay that did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I want to assure that the issues you have raised will definitely be addressed and appropriate actions will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services we offer to our guests.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

20 minutes walk from Jungfernstieg, Alter/Neuer Wall. Very pleasant area. Taxi 6 euro to Rathhausplatz. Nice standard room with new bathrooms, Breakfast very good. Looks better from the inside than outside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Lunau,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. Furthermore we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg-City Alster and we am looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with pool a pleasant 20 min walk into city centre. We used this hotel at the end of a short cruise from Southampton, we arrived early at around 11am, the hotel prioritised a room for us over others as we had a 2 year old. They also upgraded us to a club room which was very nice. We used the pool which is nice and I also used the steam room and sauna.


Although a 20 min walk from the main square there is a very nice area of bars, restaurants and shops around a two min walk. We found this area very pleasant and not touristy. We ate at a recommendation from the hotel a local German bier hall, Frau muller, very good value and highly recommended.

Another option to walk into the city centre is via the path along the lake side, a good option for a nice day.


Breakfast was included in the rate and was a.good selection of standard breakfast fare.


Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Tonewar,

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This I the third Crowne Plaza hotel my husband and I have stayed in (Malaga, I Spain and Kobe, Japan the others) and now choose Crowne Plaza when we can to feel sure of a very enjoyable experience.

What a great welcome here in this Hamburg hotel to find a corner with a display of some 100 tins of different loose tea choices in the reception area. Already a smile on our faces as we chose a tea to help us unwind before retiring to our room.
Our room so comfortable and well appointed. The bed and linen wonderful. A great touch to find the 'sleep essence' to spray on our pillows.
The reception staff so very pleasant . After spending a time in taxis going to and from the centre, one very helpful young receptionist advised on travel by train. Wished we had spoken to him earlier. A 10 minute walk to Urhlander (or something like that) station meant we could travel around the city at a very reasonable cost and with great ease.
Would like to return to Hamburg to experience this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear HertfordshireKatie,

Thank you very much for providing us with your lovely review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are more than glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a comfortable stay
Was charged for the wifi
They have a very good selection of leaf teas in the lobby
The location is very good and you can take a walk around the lake and is close to the main railway station and reasonably close to the airport
While checking in was told you are not charged taxes if you are on business

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pragnaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear pragnalndia

Thank you very much for providing us with your review. We highly appreciate your review because we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction and to fulfill our guest’s needs, wishes, and wants. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg City Alster and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#16 of 319 in Hamburg
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,468 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,166 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#29 of 319 in Hamburg
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Address: Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#59 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £75 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing