We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really up to CP standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Ranked #46 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Northern England
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not really up to CP standard”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel has small rooms, and ordinary double beds are very small--king size is essential in my view. Luckily our request for one was honoured (I have Platinum status with IHG). We slept well, the WiFi worked well, the room was quiet and clean. Yet it wasn't a cheerful room and felt in need of refurbishment. The location was great for us, as we like to be able to walk everywhere, and there were many good restaurants within a ten minute walk. Breakfast in the hotel was OK, but unchanging through the week, except for cut backs on the weekend. For some reason they felt it too much trouble to provide dried fruits and nuts for cereal on the weekend (why?!) and there was no chef on duty for fried eggs or omelettes. When requested, some raisins and prunes were provided, but a special request shouldn't be necessary. So an adequate hotel, but not one likely to convert you to the Crown Plaza brand.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leisure-traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important because it assists us in continually improving the service we offer to our guests.
We are very sorry that we could not meet all your expectations regarding the hotel condition and facilities. Therefore we would be pleased to welcome you again as our guest and to convince you of our high standards.

Yours sincerely

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    481
    208
    38
    16
See reviews for
105
345
80
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had the pleasure of coming back to the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Hamburg. As usual, the welcome was very warm and friendly, the staff at the reception quite fast and knowledgable.
As a gold member, the upgraded me to on ehigher level of rooms. Opening the rooms, i thought that this is simply not in line with a 4 star standard. The room as the charming feeling of a late 80´s room. Carpet was completey done and I even did not walk with my socks on it. Paint and other un-defined marks at the wall which I did not want to know.....
To summarize it - the given room is definately not worth any recommendation and a renovation if urgently needed.
Good to report - breakast selection is great, everything you need to have (or not), staff is friendly and helpful. Bar staff is slow (I guess due to worlcup on TV) and partially overwhelmed.

So, will I go there again - yes, in a few months to see what progress the hotel made and whenever the staff is having the same information available for me.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms 520 to 530
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sputzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sputzis

Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important because it assists us in continually improving the service we offer to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast selection at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster and we appreciate your kind words about our freindly staff.
With regards to the room conditions we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Hence, we like to thank you, that you will give us the chance to welcome you again as our guest and to convince you of our high standards.

Yours sincerely

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and well situated near plenty of restaurants and bars. The pool whilst is in the basement is very well maintained and presents very well. Quite a nice and comfortable hotel. Nice hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Pete R.,

Thank you very much for providing us with your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the fitness area. Your feedback is very important because it assists us in continually improving the service we offer to our guests.
We appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel before and after going on a cruise, we asked for early check in and the hotel was very helpful and managed to organise with no problem. Staff were very nice and helpful, rooms clean and good size?. The hotel is just 5 minutes from the area of st George which has plenty of bars and restaurants plus only 10 minutes walk from the central station. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear SteveKoe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Hamburg. Furthermore, we are pleased to hear that you are really satisfied with our staff and the location of our hotel. Hence, we appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location is very nice and close to the big lake, I liked their breakfast.
i was expect better quality for the room furnishing from brand name as crown plaza.
if i have another trip to Hamburq i will try another one.

Room Tip: some rooms have avery nice view to the lake, like mine "610"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0hammad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear m0hammad86,

Thank you for leaving a review of our property. I am glad to know that you our location and breakfast selection worked for you. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for the room condition was a let down and fell below your expectation. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is located in a very pleasant residential area close to the lake, and Lange Reihe with an abundance of restaurants and shops. The common areas of the hotel were very nice, and the staff seemed pleasant and helpful. The elevator might as well have been a time-machine as I got the impression that I had gone back in time, about twenty years, when I opened the door to my room. It was in a desperate need of a makeover. Old unattractive furniture, impractical bathroom, and generally a depressing place to spend any amount of time. While I was there it was very warm outside and the air-condition didn't work and the windows were bolted shut. The breakfast was OK. They would need to refurbish the rooms before I would be willing to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Gtdane,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located literally a few meters from the lake Alster and a walking distance to the center. Nice and green area. Breakfast was ok, but no egg&bacon :) Service was good, rooms were very clean. Quiet even though close to the road.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHamburgCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jelena P.,

Thank you very much for providing us with your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay the Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster. Furthermore we are pleased to hear that you especially enjoyed the location and the green surrounding.
Regarding the breakfast we have a show cook who takes care of the guest’s wishes and prepares egg dishes as well as bacon a la minute. Moreover we are looking forward to welcome you again.


Yours sincerely,

Hannes Dreher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 317 in Hamburg
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 317 in Hamburg
2,102 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
1,452 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#15 of 317 in Hamburg
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster

Property: Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster
Address: Graumannsweg 10, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#58 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamburg - City Alster Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing