We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Panoptikum

Panoptikum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.75*
and up
Hamburg Wax Museum and Small-Group City Walking Tour
Ranked #51 of 306 things to do in Hamburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Likeness is no coincidence.these are works of art.Whether glamorous, stunningly beautiful or scary,meticulous attention to detail is evident in every figure.Lifelike, at close quarters. Historical figures, artistsand politicians, celebrities and megastars. Athletesand popular contemporaries.Hamburg’s PANOPTIKUM looks back on over 130years of history. It is the oldest waxworks in Germany.A family business in which tradition is upheld withdevotion and care. In keeping with our slogan: Greatentertainment for young and old alike.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Another good attraction. The waxworks didn't look much like the stars they portrayed but there were a good array of statues to marvel at. There was also a corner with waxwork pieces which demonstrated how the statues were put together. A good visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    91
    69
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool, if you have nothing better to do”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Fun to visit if you don't have anything better to do. Not overwhelming good quality but some are very lifelike.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidismette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“aweful!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Don't go, the dolls are ugly and in no sense life-like. it's a waste of money and outdated as well! Go to madame tussauds in Berlin instead! still not worth the money, but at least high quality wax preparations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bekasi, Indonesia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Not everything can be touched”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We visited our relatives who lives in Hamburg and they brought us to visit this place. We have visited Madame Tussauds museum in London, Amsterdam, Hong Kong and Shanghai and we wanted to compare them with this place. The figures is less than Madame Tussauds. But we still can find some famous figures like Angela Merkel, Schumacher, Harry Potter, The Beatles, etc. The quality of wax figures is still a little bit under Madame Tussauds, not really looks alive. But, not like in Madame Tussauds, not all of figures can be touched. Even, some of them was placed in area that we can not enter and the alarm will ring if we cross the line. Anyway, the admission price is much cheaper than Madame Tussauds and overall we still can enjoy our visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuelpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great if you don't compare to Madame Tussards...”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I left with mixed feelings about this visit. We were certainly not greeted by the elderly cashier lady who had to finish her sandwich and put on her glasses before she served us. When I spoke German to her and gave her the money and Hamburg card (only gets you one euro off), she got herself confused and proceeded to speak in complicated German when it was completely obvious that I didn't understand. When we eventually got in, we were 'greeted' by a nice man and another grumpy picky old woman who couldn't speak english or speak slow enough for me to understand her German. The exhibition itself was ok - but don't compare it to Madame Tussards as it is a smaller version but good if you know your famous German characters! I appreciate the skill it takes to make a wax model but it would be much better if they weren't behind ropes and some comedy photographs could be taken!! It is worth a visit but don't have too high expectations and the staff need to work on their customer service skills!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panoptikum also viewed

 

Been to Panoptikum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing