We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveller rating
275
675
283
65
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
675
283
65
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main train stationair concity centreminute walkfree wifiatlantic kempinskibreakfast areaexcellent locationrecommend this hotelstreet sidemain shoppingclean roomsyour luggagestayed two nightsdouble bednice breakfastshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very central, with easy reach to Hauptbahnhof Central Station, Alster lakes, Rathaus and even not to far to walk to the harbour. The negative point is you can hear the trains as the hotel is so close to the train station, but personally it didn't bother me during the 3 nights we stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, Geschäftsführer at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Guest of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for your review and comments about your s´tay with us. I was happy to read that your stay was to your satisfaction.
We would love to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes and a lovely christmas time,

Bernd Noack
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is well located.
Close to the city center, close to a busy street for evening dinners, close to the main station...
The bedroom was clean and big enough.
The staff at the reception was really really bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They were not helpful, not friendly, never smiling...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betti2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear guests of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for your review. Any kind of feedback is welcome as it helps us find our weaknesses and strenghts. I am sorry that our reception staff seemed not very good to you. So far we have received mostly really good feedback about our staff. Very few of our staff speak french, most only speak english as well as german, so it might have been a misunderstanding. However as I wrote before, I am sorry that our staff did not meet with your expectations and did not seem friendly to you. Our front office staff will be informed about your review and I am sure that they will strive to do better.

Kind regards,

Bernd Noack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Best to say about this hotel is the great location next to Alster, Old Town and Lange Reihe restaurant area. Inside the ordinary IBIS budget standard. Lobby, corridors and breakfast room look basic and absolutely without charm. Especially corridors on the floors are wornout, not particularly clean and with shabby carpets, broken signs etc. Seriously needs updating!

The room was a pleasant surprise: Modernised, simple but OK interior, fair size, high ceiling, nice bathroom, large desk with space for accessories etc. Got a room facing the street (with a glimpse of Alster) but not much noise during night. Very comfy new beds! Front desk efficient and professional. Extra charges for WiFi in rooms as usual in Germany. Breakfast in the ugly breakfast room was below average. OK selection of cold cuts but only one hot dish which was stiff scrambled eggs without taste.

Taking the low rates into account (especially compared to Hamburg average) you get value for money if you can bear with the feeling of cheapness and lack of aesthetics

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear guest of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for writing a review about your trip to our hotel.
We regret that the decor of the public areas was not to your liking and it looked worn and charmless to you. We are constantly working on maintaining our inventory by replacing worn carpet or painting walls or repairing signs, but, as we try to do this without inconveniencing our guests, it takes some time.
We are glad that the room and the new beds were a pleasant surprise for you.
The breakfast is a standard for all ibis Hotels in Germany. As you said, at the time we only offer scrambled eggs as a hot dish. To meet every guests dietary needs, the scrambled eggs are not yet seasoned. Salt and pepper grinders are available on ervery table and there are sliced tomatoes and chives right next to the eggs to add to the eggs as each guest wants.
Once more thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Bernd Noack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews