We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis alster centrum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum
Ranked #66 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    635
    242
    50
    22
See reviews for
175
518
119
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have been to this hotel on several occasions and in general, I am very satisified with the quality of the hotel for the price. The only critiicism is that there is no bar available when we return from work actitities (usually in the early hours). Other than that, still likely to use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear guest of ibis hamburg Alster,

thank you for your review. I am glad that you always enjoyed your stays in our hotel. Our hotel bar is closed from 1am till 7am. We have a vending machine that sells beer and several non alcoholic beverages.
Once more thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Bernd Noack
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much.The staff are nice and friendly. The room is equipped with the minimum needs, i did nt find a kettle as in Ibis of Vienna and Paris.but the overall rate is very good ,the location is excellent , near to the shopping center and to the bahn station as well. If i will visit Hamburg again, i will choose Ibis Alster .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doudi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, Geschäftsführer at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear guest of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay very much and that you would like to visit us again.
It would be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Best wishes and a lovely christmas time,

Bernd Noack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very central, with easy reach to Hauptbahnhof Central Station, Alster lakes, Rathaus and even not to far to walk to the harbour. The negative point is you can hear the trains as the hotel is so close to the train station, but personally it didn't bother me during the 3 nights we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsaMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, Geschäftsführer at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Guest of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for your review and comments about your s´tay with us. I was happy to read that your stay was to your satisfaction.
We would love to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes and a lovely christmas time,

Bernd Noack
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel is well located.
Close to the city center, close to a busy street for evening dinners, close to the main station...
The bedroom was clean and big enough.
The staff at the reception was really really bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They were not helpful, not friendly, never smiling...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betti2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear guests of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for your review. Any kind of feedback is welcome as it helps us find our weaknesses and strenghts. I am sorry that our reception staff seemed not very good to you. So far we have received mostly really good feedback about our staff. Very few of our staff speak french, most only speak english as well as german, so it might have been a misunderstanding. However as I wrote before, I am sorry that our staff did not meet with your expectations and did not seem friendly to you. Our front office staff will be informed about your review and I am sure that they will strive to do better.

Kind regards,

Bernd Noack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
183 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Best to say about this hotel is the great location next to Alster, Old Town and Lange Reihe restaurant area. Inside the ordinary IBIS budget standard. Lobby, corridors and breakfast room look basic and absolutely without charm. Especially corridors on the floors are wornout, not particularly clean and with shabby carpets, broken signs etc. Seriously needs updating!

The room was a pleasant surprise: Modernised, simple but OK interior, fair size, high ceiling, nice bathroom, large desk with space for accessories etc. Got a room facing the street (with a glimpse of Alster) but not much noise during night. Very comfy new beds! Front desk efficient and professional. Extra charges for WiFi in rooms as usual in Germany. Breakfast in the ugly breakfast room was below average. OK selection of cold cuts but only one hot dish which was stiff scrambled eggs without taste.

Taking the low rates into account (especially compared to Hamburg average) you get value for money if you can bear with the feeling of cheapness and lack of aesthetics

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisAlster, General Manager at Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear guest of ibis Hamburg Alster,

thank you for writing a review about your trip to our hotel.
We regret that the decor of the public areas was not to your liking and it looked worn and charmless to you. We are constantly working on maintaining our inventory by replacing worn carpet or painting walls or repairing signs, but, as we try to do this without inconveniencing our guests, it takes some time.
We are glad that the room and the new beds were a pleasant surprise for you.
The breakfast is a standard for all ibis Hotels in Germany. As you said, at the time we only offer scrambled eggs as a hot dish. To meet every guests dietary needs, the scrambled eggs are not yet seasoned. Salt and pepper grinders are available on ervery table and there are sliced tomatoes and chives right next to the eggs to add to the eggs as each guest wants.
Once more thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Bernd Noack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ibis Hamburg City
#39 of 318 in Hamburg
644 reviews
Ibis budget Hamburg City
#49 of 318 in Hamburg
591 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamburg-Altstadt
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum

Property: Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum
Address: Holzdamm 4-12 & 16, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#75 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 m from the railway station and 12 km from Hamburg airport, the Ibis Hamburg Alster hotel offers 165 airconditioned rooms with free WiFi Internet access, including 2 with facilities for persons with limited mobility, the bar with snacks served 24 hours. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms. WiFi in the lobby and bar are free of charge. The City, the Alster and its lake and the Alsterarkaden are very close by. The Operettenhaus theatre, the musicals, the harbor and the Hamburger Staatsoper opera house are just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing