We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in very conenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum
Ranked #85 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located. It is on a quiet street but is just a short distance from the main train station. The city centre is also very accessible from the hotel. The hotel was well maintained and the staff friendly and efficient. The rooms are like those in all other Ibis hotels and our room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room was kept clean and tidy. I would have no difficuly in recommending this hotel for anybody planning a short visit to Hamburg and wanting a good hotel in a very good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This Ibis Hotel is in a very convenient position, just a few minutes' walk from the Central Station, the Kunsthalle, the city centre and the Alster Lakes. Everything about the hotel is typically and satisfactorily Ibis. One of the previous reviewers commented that there was no food service, except for the breakfast service. I think what she meant was that there was no food service available when she arrived at midnight. In fact, this hotel has a very attractive restaurant, in which I dined on two of my four nights' stay. The service was courteous and attentive and the food was fine. Beware, however; if there is a group of some kind dining in the restaurant, you will be excluded and invited to dine in the bar, which was not for me. It wasn't a great problem, as there are many restaurants in the streets around the hotel. I would stay again but for excluding a hotel guest from the restaurant, I rate it Very Good instead of Excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_D1096378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 26.10 to 29.10.2013. The Alster lake is in 1 minute walking distance and the central train station is 3 minutes away. So it's nıt a big deal if you arrive from the airport by train and drag your luggage to the Hotel.
Considering that distances in European cities are very easy to cover by foot we preferred this hotel.

Yes you hear the trains going by at night but that's a good thing because when we were in Hamburg there was a hurricane that swept through UK and northern Germany and there was a disruption in service. So when we heard the trains go by we understood that the trains were working again. I must say that It is a very quiet city.

The room was clean and vey basic with no fridge. View was OK. Not much to expect actually considering the offer for the price.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel.
There is wi-fi in the room and at the lobby.
I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a cheap price and perfect setting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week. the location was great, close to the central train station. The breakfast was OK. Menu doesn't change everyday. The staffs were very helpful. They prepared for my breakfast package because I had to catch a flight in the very early morning. worth the money to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyLife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Good VFM, Good location - close to all the touristy places of Hamburg - Hafen City and the infamous street. One thing horrible about the experience was there are no food services (except for a basic breakfast service). I had to order food from outside and since the menu was completely in German I just went with the suggestion. At 12 in the night I had no choice at all but to survive on whatever spaghetti I had ordered. The vending machine in the lobby also didnt have too many options. Overall, comfortable experience and a good location but I wish they included paid room service at least.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoraTheExplorerHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fitzcaraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is in a very good place, in a side street near Hamburg Central Station. As usual with the Ibis chain, it provides modest but satisfactory rooms. Its small street ends near the beautiful landscape of the Alster Lake. A wide range of public transportation is available at the nearby Central Station. There a City Tour bus stop in front of the hotel, but, at least in the tour I took, the tour narration was in German only.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ibis Hamburg City
#41 of 322 in Hamburg
792 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Ibis Budget Hamburg City
Ibis Budget Hamburg City
#55 of 322 in Hamburg
732 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 322 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum

Address: Holzdamm 4-12 & 16, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#75 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £74 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 m from the railway station and 12 km from Hamburg airport, the Ibis Hamburg Alster hotel offers 165 airconditioned rooms with free WiFi Internet access, including 2 with facilities for persons with limited mobility, the bar with snacks served 24 hours. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms. WiFi in the lobby and bar are free of charge. The City, the Alster and its lake and the Alsterarkaden are very close by. The Operettenhaus theatre, the musicals, the harbor and the Hamburger Staatsoper opera house are just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing