We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I know, it's only rock and roll, but you'll love it..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg
Ranked #171 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is a real bargain. Situated 250 meters from the Hamburg Central Station, it's very easy to get to and is a real rock and roll hotel. Don't worry about the tattered carpets or the stairs (there is no elevator). This hotel is perfect for those who don't want to spend too much and are on a budget. We ended up here because the Harbour Festival basically booked out the entire city. One previous reviewer called it a 'gem' and that's what it is. High ceilings in the rooms, solid internet service and breakfast were included in our rate and the shower was good. Solid IKEA style beds that did the trick and a TV that at least had CNN International on it. This is not a five star hotel, but gives you what you need. The front desk staff are very nice, accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for Rm 308. It was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaptwo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

Just returned from 2 nights at this hotel,once we found it,tip here,only two blocks from Hauptbahnhoff,come out the entrance of the bahnhoff that has the tourist information office outside of it,face the office,with back to station and go left along the main road,you cross over two minor roads,then come to a major road junction with crossing lights,go across and keep along the same road,you will pass a model train shop,the road ends and there is a church to your right,go left here and the signpost says,st.georg str,go to end of short road,it is an einbahn str(one way street),at the end on the right is the hotel.It really only takes 5-10 min to walk.The staff where nice,breakfast more than adequate,scrambled eggs,boiled,meats,cheese,cereals,breads,toast,jam,tea &coffee.Rooms are on the smaller side,but clean,towels changed each day,would let you leave your suitcases if flights home later.There is no lift and for some this will be a problem,the stairs are steep and there are 4 floors. Plenty of hot water and the heating was good in our rooms,though we did hear other people say their rooms where drafty.We went for the Xmas Markets and we could walk to 4 of them easily,buses go from train station,so not far to walk.Cannot recommend city tour bus,not very interesting at all.Can Recommend if you stuck for where to eat,go to the main train staion,yes the train station,there are food courts with everything from sushi to mcdonalds,even atleast two bars.You could eat something different every day and it is clean and warm.Not anything like a british train stationLook around for the best rate for the hotel,quite abig difference in prices that people had paid.It is an ideal city hotelat a good price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunnitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I booked this hotel through Booking.com. It is two short blocks from the Hamburg Hauptbahnhof, and a 10-15 minute walk to the Rathaus in the Old City. The service was very friendly and helpful...my train was leaving late at night after checkout, so the staff was very helpful in storing my luggage while I went sightseeing in the city during the day. The room was quite small, just one twin bed (no room for an extra one), but for one person it is very adequate and for 40 euros a night, there wasn't anything better. An additional huge perk is the free internet...most hotels require guests to pay, and that can be at least 10-15 extra euros a day, so having free wifi was an excellent bonus.

The only negative is that there is no elevator and the stairs are a bit narrow...if staying here, ask for a room on a lower floor if your suitcase is heavy :)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlani13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I booked this hotel via Booking.com.
We were looking for a middleclass hotel for a short stay (citytrip and football game)
We arrived late on wednesday, but that wasn't a problem. The staff was friendly and efficient after a long trip to hamburg.
The room was located on the 4th floor and their wasn't an elevator, wich was a shame because climming some stairs with suitcases is never fun.
The room was not very big, but it was ok for a short stay and we only needed the room to shower and sleep.
the TV was small, but than again we didn't use it.
The bathroom itself was clean and fresh towls were given every day (even when we were planning to reuse the old ones) The shower did some time to find out how you could find a good mixture between pressure and temperature.

Breakfast at the Hotel was great, there was a lot of choice between cereals, sandwiches and toast. Coffee, hot choco and tea were also present.

When staying in Hamburg i would consider this hotel for a short stay with friends to visit the city or a football game.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This was a big ,big,big disappointment !!!
Rooms were extreemly small ,even a prison cel is bigger !
Bathroom was strangly build,toilet was to low and crooked.

Nothing seems liked the pictures promised and that for 64 euro's as a special offer instead of 78 euro's.....robbery !!!

Nowhere was also mentioned that the church bells sounded every 15 minutes !!! until 18.00 hours,so a quick afternoon nap is out of the question...

We also asked upfront if there was a parkingplace for otherwise we would choose another hotel....No answer,....and as you can guess,...no parking !!!! We've had to park somewere 200 meters further on at a public parking place.

We'ved booked 2 seperate rooms and for both of us it was the worsed experiance ever !!! Aspecially because at the hotel website it look likes everything is OK but the rooms are not the rooms at the pictures,not even close !!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sheba_inuKust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Arriving at night in a hotel near a main Train Station can be trying but the staff at reception was really friendly.
Small rooms that do look like dorm rooms, but they are very functional and more importantly, spotless. The beds are comfortable.
The location is very good, especially considering the price! It's a 3min walk to the station (from there you can take the S Bahn or the U Bahn to nearly anywhere in the city), and less than 10 to several museums, main shopping area and Alster.
Overall, the service made a real difference, and the value for money is good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank bigtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2005

The good: In a charming older building, and conveniently located near one of Hamburg's main train stations and also near an interesting street full of international restaurants and markets. Reasonably clean, and includes a small breakfast.
The bad: The furniture was what one might expect to see in someone's dorm room-- very basic, with seemingly no attempt to make the place visually appealing. No alarm clock. Our bathroom also had a very institutional look, and was very cramped. It seemed designed so that one could brush one's teeth at the sink while seated on the toilet. Parts of the building had a nice, older look, but the whole looked very tired and was in need of renovation. The reception spoke some English, but was quite brusque and unfriendly. Overall, we felt this was an OK place to stay for 2 nights, but seemed overpriced for what we received.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank buttery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Hotel Terminus
#126 of 321 in Hamburg
133 reviews
St. Georg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
Hotel Polo Hamburg
#266 of 321 in Hamburg
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg

Address: St. Georgstr. 10, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Aachener Hof)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £56 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home - the Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg - in the most exciting and oldest part of the Hanseatic city scene at Pure Life. The central location between the main station and the Alster allows both to achieve the business and the leisure traveler all the targets in Hamburg quickly and easily. The Novum Alster Hotel St. Georg is comfortable and contemporary in design, functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed Hotel after its opening in April 2014. Just steps away are found in the "Long line" numerous shops and restaurants for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aachener Hof Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing