We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great loacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Ranked #130 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great loacation”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent five nights in this hotel and I was very happy with the quality of the hotel. Helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast was excellent. I would have no hesitation returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    118
    72
    12
    11
See reviews for
40
105
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed here for one night exploring Hamburg. The room was perfect for our purpose. Hotel is clean and nice and the staff is very helpful and service oriented. The breakfast is very standard and the beds are a bit hard, but these are the only things that subtracts from an otherwise good score. I recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

the receptionist mr. struck is a pearl in all belongings. the room was pleasant
and always tidy. the breakfast was the sunshine of the day.
a very good location of the hotel. and the the personell always friendly
and helpful. we will come again. congratulations.
heinz+karin kallenda

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Heinz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Novum Hotel Holstenwall.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Holstenwall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as a family (adults and two teenage children) for a long weekend. We cannot fault it - nice room, good location, friendly staff and a good breakfast all at a good price. The hotel seemed to be full but we weren't woken by other guests. Not much in the way of restaurants in the immediate area but there are cheap Vietnamese places in St Pauli which are within walking distance. Recommend that visitors buy a Hamburg visitor pass.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sherpa925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again in one of our Novum Hotels.

Faithfully Yours

Holstenwall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,Staffs
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We are giving full marks because of the value for money that we got,not because we think its a 5 star hotel. Excellent,friendly reception service, nice ,clean,warm rooms alongside plentiful breakfast in a large comfortable,dining area. Good location and easily found via s-bahn 1 from the airport. All for £25 a night.. Superb.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms at the back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our
Hotel am Holstenwall Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Holstenwall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had 3 days with my wife in Hamburg. We Wanted a plain hotel located centrally
This hotel was just what we were looking for and we were fully satisfied
Super location, small but fine room and good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bjarne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel am Holstenwall Novum.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Holstenwall Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here in December for 4 nights and the room was awful. It was a corner room and you seriously couldn't move in there. For €100 a night I would have expected a lot more, not even tea facilities in room. When we complained we were told that there is no manager on site and was given his number so we could ring ourselves and no doubt be charged using their phone! The professional pictures with this hotel are a laugh, maybe the place looked like that when it was first opened but they did not represent how it looks now. The breakfast room does not look like the pictures shown. The only good thing was the breakfast buffet although nothing new came on the tables in 4 days so gets a bit boring. Very central location but not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa1976_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
Neustadt
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#79 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Lindner Hotel Am Michel
#22 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt

Property: Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Address: Holstenwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Select Hotel am Holstenwall)
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Holstenwall is centrally located in Hamburg, close to the jetties, harbor and town center. The hotel is characterized by a beautiful facade that is a listed building. Go exploring in the Portuguese quarter and discover the maritime atmosphere of the harbor. The park planet and Blomen opens in the summer light water games. Near the hotel is the Bismarck Memorial, St. Michaelis Church, the Reeperbahn, Grosse Freiheit and the Hamburg Cathedral, which attracts a large audience each year. The musical Phantom of the Opera, which is currently in Hamburg, ensures the best evening entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Select Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing