We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Commodore
Ranked #179 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, it was a single room with 2 single beds pushed together. location was v good, near (but not too near) the reeperbahn and train stations etc

Rooms were basic, clean, no air conditioning, i felt the towels in the bathroom were too small and very thin, the toiletries in the room were the type you just press the button and some green stuff comes out, same as any public loo really, thought it could had have a more personal touch for the toiletries, no bath but there was a shower but it was one with no glass wall, just consisted of a sheet hanging off a rail, which really was annoying. The main room then had cream walls which were definetely in need of a good painting. Breakfast was included in the room and there was plenty on offer, except for when there were no cups or knives available, the staff were helpful and did get us one though, they should be keepingin an eye on it really.

overall it was basic, clean, v good location, I dont think I got full value for money but it was fine for 2 nights

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2006

We have rated the commadore hotel terrible but thats really too good for it! The first room we were put in was dirty and the smell of stale tobacco smoke made me wretch. The staff were very reluctant to change the room, even though they had others available. The hotel is very run down. only one lift in a big hotel, we had to wait endlessly every time. The hotel didnt appear to be cleaned regularly, we stayed 2 nights and the same food debri was on the dinning room floor the whole time of our stay. Very limited breakfast, little choice left if you were not early. The staff very unhelpfull and arrogant. The rooms we were in were not cleaned during our stay and the towels were not change. Would not recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
1
Reviewed 18 June 2006

On booking I explained that there were eight peoplewho needed to stay for two nights, but there might be more to add later. They said no problem, they had family rooms with space to put in two extra beds in each if needed and we could let them know on arrival. Hence why the rate per room was high.

I booked four double/family rooms for two nights from the uk, they sent me a booking form for one night. I explained the error in emails and I asked them to resend the booking, they said dont worry they would write on the form it was for two nights and that was actually what the booking had been made for on their records.

I was concerned but after a lot (and I do mean a lot) of phone calls and emails they assured me we had the rooms for two nights etc.

On checking in they confirmed the rooms were booked for two nights. The family rooms had twin beds wedged into the smallest space possible, no exagerattion there wasn't even space to stand up anywhere in the rooms without being pinned by the ankles by the bed. With no floor space for cases. Everyone in our group was so polite that we couldn't be bothered to cause a fuss and check in at another hotel.

They actually had us booked in for one night (we fortunatley found rooms in 5 star plaza thanks to Amex) but waited until the next day to tell us so they could get money for the first night and we didn't check in elsewhere from the start.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2005

We were a group of lads on a stag do and thought we would be booked somewhere of a lower standard. We were hugely impressed by this place. Rooms were really nice though some very small. They were very clean and despite our best efforts the cleaners did a great job to clean up after us. Located within walking distance of Reeperbahn. Near St Pauli stadium for football fans. I would recommend this place to anyone.
PS if in Hamburg you have to try wakeboarding/ water skiing at the Wasserski park it was brilliant fun.

5  Thank runnerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mein Zimmer , war auf der Straßenseite & war nicht laut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alitaseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Carola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank achi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
St. Pauli
Centro Hotel Keese
Centro Hotel Keese
#123 of 321 in Hamburg
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Neustadt
Novum Hotel Holstenwall Hamburg Neustadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore

Address: Budapester Strasse 20, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing