We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #7 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not the Best”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

It was a suprise to find a pool and spa in a hotel in the city of Hamburg. Nice job! The food was always great and the room exceeded my expectations. The service was good. The location in the center of the city is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    430
    106
    20
    10
See reviews for
242
508
100
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyncote, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here for a professional conference and it was nicely located close to Dammtor station and the center of Hamburg. Given that it is a pretty expensive hotel, I was expecting a bit more than what I experienced. The room was on the small side, WiFi was a mixed bag and often quite slow unless one bought higher bandwidth, which then was passable. As it was, I had to log back in every time my iPhone's lock screen engaged, which was a problem.

The mattress, interestingly, was very hard. Every morning, I woke up with a pretty painful back, which isn't the norm for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gynmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel surprised us. The staff was outstanding, pleasant, courteous, happy, and most helpful, i.e., their attitude was excellent. The rooms exceeded our expectations - clean, well designed, comfortable and efficient. We considered it an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have just returned from a 5-day stay at the Grand Elysee and was delighted with the standard of our accommodation. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way; everything about it was first rate and was excellent value for money. The helpfulness of the staff and quality of the food deserve a special mention. The hotel is in an excellent position, near Dammtor and Stephenplatz stations. It is also within easy reach of the airport, which is a 21 euros taxi ride away. We were blessed with excellent weather on our trip and so ate outdoors in the Elysee Terrace restaurant most lunchtimes and evenings. The asparagus dishes served there are fantastic - most original and imaginative. We would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel to anyone and would love to return before too long.

Room Tip: Our standard room was on the front side, facing away from Dammtor Station. It was on the fourth flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Hamburg's character as a Northern German Hansasatadt is very well reflected in the Grand Elysees Hotel. Both are beautiful and work very successfully. But neither is filled with opulence and frills so you won't find that at the Grand Elysees. Somewhat expanded recently it is a little more modern than we expected and a little larger than we like. It is centrally located with an easy walk to the heart of down (cut through the Dammtor Bahnhof).
The service at the hotel was very nice and efficient (maybe slightly cool but remember where you are). We had to change our room because we were directly over the smoking balcony and this was handled very well. The clerk at the front desk came herself to see that the move was handled well. The health club, pool and other facilities were wonderful. The breakfast was one of the best we ever experienced. All included so we thought it was a good value as well. Hamburg is a great city and worth visiting and we heartily recommend the Grand Elysees.

Room Tip: Balconies over park in junior suite lovely, just not direcly over smoking balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael10301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Often we have stayed in five star hotels and been disappointed with some aspect of our stay. This hotel is the exception and met or exceeded our every expectation. Their attention to the smallest detail is evident from the moment you check in. Every single staff person we came into contact with was smiling and very helpful.

The room was marvelous. It was large, had a beautiful balcony overlooking a park, elegantly furnished and extremely comfortable.

The hotel has several restaurants and they are wonderful. We were fortunate enough to be there when the white asparagus was in season and enjoyed soup, salad and entre with aspargus worked into them. It was outstanding. Their breakfast buffet is the best I've had in Europe. Eggs cooked to order and everything you can imagine is at your disposal.

We were very comfortable in this hotel from the moment we arrived. To say we would stay here again is understating the facts. We would likely make another stop in Hamburg just SO we could stay here again. I don't give out many Excellent ratings on hotels but this one was easy.

Room Tip: Pay the small difference and get a room with a balcony and a view of the park. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just back from a weekend in Hamburg and a lovely stay at this hotel

Very central location within walking distance to the city centre and the shopping areas.
The hop on hop off bus also stops just outside the hotel so very handy if you are doing one of the many routes on the bus tour

Nice spacious rooms with free wifi access throughout the hotel and nice (but expensive!) breakfast

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,296 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
995 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Property: Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Address: Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The specialhotel a lively hotel atmosphere with attentive service - 511 rooms and suites - 4 restaurants and bars at the boulevard - Ballroom with 30 function rooms - Award-winning hotel - 5 Sky channels and High-speed Wi-Fi for free - Elyseum Wellness & Spa to 1000 m² - Owner-managed private hotel - Central, conveniently located - Garage with 500 parking areas Located in the green heart of Hamburg, the Grand Elysee Hamburg is an informal meeting place for Hamburgers and visitors from all over the world. The largest five-star private hotel in Germany provides its guests with a welcoming atmosphere and attentive service. Through their commitment, the owner, Eugen Block, and his family have made a decisive contribution to the informal character of the building. What is unique here is the range of fine food on offer in three restaurants, a bar and a cafe. As an event location near the Hamburg Congress and Trade Fair Centre it offers facilities for all kinds and sizes of events in a total area of 4,200 m². A sense of ease and generosity permeates not just the 511 rooms and suites, it is also felt through the atmosphere of the entire hotel. Over and above that, the Grand Elysee Hamburg boasts a large art collection that lends a uniquely personal style to the premises. The location - in the middle of town yet surrounded by green Close to the centre yet overlooking green parkland - only a few hotels can offer this to their guests. The city centre can be reached on foot, with Dammtor station, and its ICE train connections, just a few steps away and with parks and green spaces in the immediate vicinity. This makes for great relaxation while attending conferences and staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Elysee Hamburg
Hotel Grand Elysee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing