We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #11 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I very much enjoyed staying here. It's a big, modern hotel, which clearly caters to a lot of business people. Thus I would normally expect it to be rather clinical and lacking in character, but it's not. There is something very welcoming and friendly about the place; though modern it is decorated with style and taste. Everywhere the rooms are light and airy, both in the public and guest rooms, and there is original artwork on display. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The restaurant (bistro) was outstanding- I am used to good French bistro cuisine, and this matched it in quality, although quite expensive. The rooms were beautiful, light, airy and spotlessly clean. There was an excellent, large, pool and spa- beautifully maintained, but, North Americans and Brits, be aware that the sauna is mixed sex but that it is done proper Nordic style, as in naked (the locals will tell you off if you try to wear a swimsuit) Prudes beware! The bar was great, with fantastic, expertly made cocktails of a quality seldom found outside North America. All in all I loved it, found it very good value for money and would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank clhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    389
    99
    17
    10
See reviews for
189
446
93
585
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in a corner suite.
Apart from the room being extremely large it had lots of windows and therefore plenty of light and the windows opened so if you like fresh air it was wonderful.
A couple of Restaurants to choose from and they seemed satisfactory.(one meal)
I did like the fact that you could get a roll and coffee for breakfast in a cafe setting rather than going for a full breakfast.
Staff were excellent and the hotel does have a "Grand" appearance with all fittings in excellent condition.

Room Tip: Take a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip for 3 nights.
I enjoyed it a great deal. Rooms are specious, very nicely designed, big windows (possible to open).
A lot of light comes in and curtains cover it all at night. Breakfast was very good.
Free internet in the room and 2 big screen computers in the lobby.
I didn't use the spa equipment so I have no information about that.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is more of a business/convention center hotel than a hotel for tourists or city weekend trip visitors. One of the first questions they ask at check in is the name of your business. The location is somewhat central, but still 20 minutes away from the Rathaus area; you need to cross a few busy intersections and a large train station to get into town. My sense is that the majority of people here appreciate the amenities. The pool and sauna are free but are both rather small and fill up with people quickly. Another nice touch is free wifi. We were a little surprised that we couldn't order food after 11 pm from the many restaurants/cafes within the hotel. Also, the front desk couldn't produce a map of Hamburg for us -- they were nice but somewhat incompetent. I wouldn't recommend it for non-business travel -- not quite worth it in the end.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandbu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed just one night, but it was a wery good stay. Everything was on top of the scale !!
Nice rooms, good space and comfortable beds.

It is now doubt we will be back at this hotel some other time. (Next summer ? )

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne Chr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the grand elysee for a week in July for our first trip to hamburg.

The hotel was spacious and comfortable. 

Right at check-in the staff were pleasant and accommodating. We had a hiccup after booking through Hotel club and the staff were understanding. We were able to come to a compromise which was more than satisfactory. Our room overlooked the park with opening balcony door to let in fresh air. We had a lovely outlook across the park and would choose this side of the Hotel again.

The bathroom was large and bright which impressed my wife as most bathrooms do not have enough light. There was even a concealed power point which is a feature lacking in most hotels these days. 

We went to both restaurants and were also impressed by the quality of the food. In particular the lobsters shipped directly from Maine are a must! 

We used the sauna area daily and also booked treatments at the spa. There was an issue with my wife's treatment. We emailed the manager to advise the problem and it was rectified quickly.

As we are combining business with pleasure, the Internet is important and we found the signal to be very weak. We called reception and they had someone rectify it the next day. Our air con wasn't  working properly and this was also rectified the next day.

Whatever our issue it was attended to without question and solved. That's service!

Although it is a 20-30 min walk from the city, we walked most days as it is a pleasant, flat stroll. The hotel is walking distance to the shopping area and restaurants plus the botanical gardens which are beautiful.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and would stay the the grand elysee again during our next stay in hamburg.

Highly recommended 

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We loved our stay in this exquisite hotel. The rooms were lovely, spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. They had a complimentary bottle of water in our room, and haribo bear sweets at reception! (It's the small things!)

The pool area was lovely, and a welcome place to relax.

I will DEFINITELY stay here, the next time I am in Hamburg

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Property: Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Address: Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The specialhotel a lively hotel atmosphere with attentive service - 511 rooms and suites - 4 restaurants and bars at the boulevard - Ballroom with 30 function rooms - Award-winning hotel - 5 Sky channels and High-speed Wi-Fi for free - Elyseum Wellness & Spa to 1000 m² - Owner-managed private hotel - Central, conveniently located - Garage with 500 parking areas Located in the green heart of Hamburg, the Grand Elysee Hamburg is an informal meeting place for Hamburgers and visitors from all over the world. The largest five-star private hotel in Germany provides its guests with a welcoming atmosphere and attentive service. Through their commitment, the owner, Eugen Block, and his family have made a decisive contribution to the informal character of the building. What is unique here is the range of fine food on offer in three restaurants, a bar and a cafe. As an event location near the Hamburg Congress and Trade Fair Centre it offers facilities for all kinds and sizes of events in a total area of 4,200 m². A sense of ease and generosity permeates not just the 511 rooms and suites, it is also felt through the atmosphere of the entire hotel. Over and above that, the Grand Elysee Hamburg boasts a large art collection that lends a uniquely personal style to the premises. The location - in the middle of town yet surrounded by green Close to the centre yet overlooking green parkland - only a few hotels can offer this to their guests. The city centre can be reached on foot, with Dammtor station, and its ICE train connections, just a few steps away and with parks and green spaces in the immediate vicinity. This makes for great relaxation while attending conferences and staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Elysee Hamburg
Hotel Grand Elysee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing