We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty ok but space for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #8 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spend a couple of nights at the Elysee Hamburg in May 2014 while visiting the city. The Hotel is nicely located, close to a major train station and also close to the center. A big parking garage will take care of your car. On checking a professional team will help you with it. The rooms are about 300 sq. ft .which I think is not too big for a 5* hotel. Decoration is pretty traditional. The mattress was pretty hard but ok. Unfortunately our room had no balcony which would have been nice because of the wonderful weather we had. However there is a nice restaurant located at ground floor (brasserie) that has a nice patio and where you can sit in the street for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A nice feature is the spa area of the hotel. 2 saunas, a nice swimming pool and lots of wellness offers you can find there. On hot days, all doors will be opened which give a nice breeze through the whole area. And of course you can sit with your lie outside in the sunshine. The breakfast is great, lots of choices, it’s a true German breakfast and even better, you can sit outside – it can’t get better. I just want to mention, that in Hamburg at this location you don’t need a car. The train station with underground is just max. 5 minutes away. From here you can go easily everywhere in town. Just grab a day ticket and you don’t have to think about it anymore. Trains leave every few minutes, so you almost never have to rush or to wait. And you day ticket is also valid for the ferries in the harbor. You can make a free boat tour there with your day ticket! I also like to mention the concierge who was very helpful in advising and booking. You may wonder why I only gave 4 dots and not 5. The reason is that in relation to the price the value is small. The spa area is not opened late (can’t remember, but I think it was 9 pm), the restaurant does not take a reservation even though, later on it was almost found empty (and food was delicious) and the rooms don’t look 5*. Would I go there again: probably yes if I find a good rate but I would check choices also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DoktorCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
There are newer reviews for Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Location is very nice but you do have to walk a bit to get to the center of the city. The hotel has many facilities and is very spacious. The rooms are nice, elegant and with a very good size and a lot of light. The hotel has an excellent buffet breakfast, delicious. The food at the hotel's french restaurant was very good. Friendly service. Concierge staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Get one with view to the street rather than to the inner garden. All rooms are quiet but the view to...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived only to be told the hotel was full and the non smoking room with large bed that we booked only that morning was now no available so we could have either a twin room or a large bed in a smoking room. After standing our ground we were given an 'upgrade'. The room was unbelievably hot and when an engineer was sent to address our complaint he told us we were in the older part of the hotel and it was impossible to adjust the air conditioners, and that our was a common complaint. Food at breakfast was good beds in room probably good I really do not know as I was unable to sleep due to heat. Location was about 20 minutes brisk walk to city. 5 minutes walk to train. Room large and clean and very modern bathroom. Pool quite odd for us Aussies, small indoor, quaint. Still did not stop people doing 10 meter laps.would never come back in summer . Apart from heat we may have enjoyed this hotel but if too hot for us Aussies from north Qld , it has gotta be too hot for most everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marellalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Grand Elysee is one of those hotels who deserves to have the word Grand in it.

It`s a big and busy hotel, but it does not feel stressful in any way. The staff is consistently very good at their jobs and are very helpful and well spoken. We stayed in a spotless and comfortable room on the sixth floor. The wifi-connection was very good, and they also have access to international papers which is a big plus in my book. Good location and excellent breakfast. We would absolutely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingvild775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very spacious and relaxed hotel despite being busy. In a perfect position for the city and just five minutes from a railway station. Good pool and gym facilities and restaurant/café options.
Good breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is everything a hotel should be. Large, open, friendly, efficient and responsive. We've stayed here before and it is always a pleasure. The breakfast buffet can't be beat. Proximity to the Dammtorbahnhof is a real plus for us. Easy walking distance.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite and it was very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spacious rooms, perfect service, close to the city center and main railway station. Lake is also very close as well as the most tourist attractions. Equally meets business and tourist needs. Staff is very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorana1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,416 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
1,044 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 319 in Hamburg
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Address: Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £176 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The specialhotel a lively hotel atmosphere with attentive service - 511 rooms and suites - 4 restaurants and bars at the boulevard - Ballroom with 30 function rooms - Award-winning hotel - 5 Sky channels and High-speed Wi-Fi for free - Elyseum Wellness & Spa to 1000 m² - Owner-managed private hotel - Central, conveniently located - Garage with 500 parking areas Located in the green heart of Hamburg, the Grand Elysee Hamburg is an informal meeting place for Hamburgers and visitors from all over the world. The largest five-star private hotel in Germany provides its guests with a welcoming atmosphere and attentive service. Through their commitment, the owner, Eugen Block, and his family have made a decisive contribution to the informal character of the building. What is unique here is the range of fine food on offer in three restaurants, a bar and a cafe. As an event location near the Hamburg Congress and Trade Fair Centre it offers facilities for all kinds and sizes of events in a total area of 4,200 m². A sense of ease and generosity permeates not just the 511 rooms and suites, it is also felt through the atmosphere of the entire hotel. Over and above that, the Grand Elysee Hamburg boasts a large art collection that lends a uniquely personal style to the premises. The location - in the middle of town yet surrounded by green Close to the centre yet overlooking green parkland - only a few hotels can offer this to their guests. The city centre can be reached on foot, with Dammtor station, and its ICE train connections, just a few steps away and with parks and green spaces in the immediate vicinity. This makes for great relaxation while attending conferences and staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Elysee Hamburg
Hotel Grand Elysee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing