We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Ranked #44 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Hamburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The hotel is big, yet feels personal thanks to friendly and competent staff and it's somewhat intricate geography, as it is a combination of several adjacent older and newer buildings. I stayed there several times from about 2005. It is located across the main railway station in Hamburg, Hauptbahnhof, which provides rail service to all of Europe, fast trains to the Hamburg Airport and easy access to the city's S-Bahn, U-Bahn and city busses. The rooms are very comfortable and reasonably priced for a big city hotel, the bar is friendly, the breakfast is great with some of the best coffee ever and there is a very nice restaurant in the hotel that serves great German food - and great German beer. The hotel also has it's own indoor spa and water park. The parking is limited and should definitely be booked in advance, but so much is within a short walk from the hotel - the Alster lakes, the city hall, great shopping. It is a very comfortable place to stay in a great city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaraldAamodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    326
    76
    24
    13
See reviews for
89
226
72
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Just stayed a couple of nights in this hotel - the room was big (although a little bit cold) and was very quiet. The pool/spa etc. was a nice place to relax after a day with shopping intensely. The breakfast buffet was great and the piano man who played evenings in the bar was very entertaining. Also the hotel has a private indoor parking which is nice in the middle of Hamburg and to a very reasonable price 16 Euro. The hotel is right next to the train station and a 5 minute walk from the beginning of the shopping streets :-). We visited an Italian and a spanish restaurant during our visit - the food was great. I will definitely go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room no. 324 and it was very quiet. The view was into a courtyard and other rooms I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I liked this hotel. It wasn't fancy, but it has what you needed. It couldn't have been more conveniently located, being across the street from the main train station. Plus, the hotel provided a free train pass for your stay. I thought the room had ample space, good wifi. It could get a bit noisy during the day if you left your window open, but it was quiet at night. My room was kept clean. They had a decent spa/pool area. It was an octagonal shaped pool--so, your couldn't exactly swim laps, but good enough to stretch your legs. I was disappointed in two things: they didn't open up the spa's saunas til 3pm--so that was useless to me. They floors in the shower/locker room area were always dirty which was kind of gross. Downstairs was a nice bar where you could have a drink and listen to a pianist. The downside was that you are also near the smokers' lounge which was just dreadful to smell. Overall however, good place. I recommend it. Oh...as everyone has mentioned...the breakfast buffet was outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I just spent a single night at this hotel which I liked very much. The lobby area brings back memories of the 80's (in the good way). The room (407) was recently refurbished and really nice, but unfortunately, it was too warm and on top of that the dovet was also too warm and 'uncooperative'. Great breakfast.. Visited the Sonnenterrasse which was great, but service was a bit slow.
The hotel is situated directly across the street from the railway station and close to everything. I would definately stay here again.
Private garage, which should be prebooked. The garage team offered a really great service and even took the time to clean my windscreen before I left :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We enjoyed a short break at this hotel which is in a great location for shopping, restaurants etc. On arrival, we were given an upgrade. This gave us a good sized room with safe, minibar etc. The room was very quiet so there must be excellent soundproofing. Breakfast is included in the rate and is a well stocked buffet. The egg station offers omelettes and other egg types cooked to order. Not the cheapest hotel but the location means I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Spent 4 nights in April. Good central location with bright modern rooms everything spotlessly clean. Our first room had shower only, which would have been ok but every time we used it the bathroom flooded, even though the cubicle doors were closed. The water did not drain away and was still there the next morning, not good for visiting the bathroom in the night, other reviewers have said bathroom and wc was separate but not in this room. To be fair to the hotel when we complained the next morning we were given another room with no quibble, and this was a much better room with bath and shower. We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food, as there are many good restaurants within a few yards of the hotel. Garage parking is a fairly steep 16 euros per day.The Eurotherm is excellent with big pool and whirlpool, very relaxing. We would definitely stay here if visiting Hamburg again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castlecroftuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had 3 nights in march. 4th floor room was renovated and nice, what I really liked - separate WC and bath. Bed was maybe too soft (for me), but pillow and duvet super.
Eurotherms - nice touch, only for hotel quests - really nice and what most important not rovercrowded. Really relaxing after business or shopping day and before night in Hamburg.
Overall - good, but not very good and this isnt probably the goal of this hotel. Quality You get for euro - very good.
And one more thing - if You´re smoker, they have separate nice lounge for You too (and beer price is very competitive).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lufternurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Property: Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Address: Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europaeischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in comfortable, timelessly decorated rooms. Enjoy your breakfast at the stylish Hanseatenraum decorated with lots chrome, warm colours, dark panels and elaborate objects with Swarovski crystals. Or breathe Hanseatic tradition in the Hamburger Restaurant. Eat at the rustic and yet elegant restaurant Paulaner´s offering typical German and international dishes. Feel like James Bond at the Flaggen-Bar and its fifties look. Let the chandeliers in the staircases remind you of the seventies. The Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg proves that good design is never out of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing