We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hyatt Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel St. Annen(Hamburg)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Madison Hamburg(Hamburg)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
307
386
103
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
386
103
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationfree public transportsquash courtfree passswimming poolbreakfast buffetgreat poollocal transportno air consingle roomlounge barexcellent locationsteam roomroom cardmain shoppinglarge hotelspa area
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Supergreat hotel, next to the main central station. 4 star but worth more. Very nice staff, great room, and above all do visit the bubblebath! When staying there you get bathrobe and towel so just bring your swimming suit.
You can even get massages though we did not try that.
The hotel is so close to central Hamburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We got of the S-bahn from the airport at the main railway station and five minutes later were putting our feet up in our very comfortable room. Staff were always helpful. Breakfast (included in the price we paid) was plentiful and served late enough to make it a holiday. On the Sunday, we had time to go to the Fishmarkt at Altona (starts early but not to be missed) and still have breakfast when we got back. We dined in the Pauliner's bar and the food was good. Cocktails, while listening to the piano in the lounge bar, made a very restful interlude before dinner and after a day spent doing museums and shopping. The christmas markets and main shopping areas start just a couple of hundred metres away on the other side of the main station. Even the old docks area, with the excellent maritime musuem, are only 15-20 minutes walk away. Our room cards gave us free travel on buses and the S- and U-bahns, too - very useful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here with husband in November. Ideal location right opposite railway station. Excellent breakfasts: something for everyone (cooked meats, cheeses, fish, yogurts, pastries, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages, waffles). Yum!! And sparkling wine on Sunday mornings... Comfortable beds. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CarolineLanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I city-hopped along the Western coast of Europe by train. Typically, we'd arrive in a new city in the early afternoon, wheel our bags across the street to a hotel, check into the room, and then go back to the train station to use mass transit to explore the city. Europaeischer Hof fit the bill perfectly for this type of travel. They're located right across the street from Hamburg Hbf, which also serves as a hub for the subway system. Check in was easy, although getting to the room through the hotel's maze of hallways was a bit of a trek. The room key also doubles as a metro pass.

We found the rooms to be spacious and clean and the service at the front desk helpful. The halls and carpet are a bit dated. Breakfast, which was included, was excellent. They didn't skimp on anything, and the sausages, cheeses, cold cuts and scrambled eggs were delicious. Service was a little curt, but nothing complaint-worthy.

We also spent an afternoon at the spa. The entry fee is included with a hotel room, and we were allowed in even though we had already checked out. There's a pool, a hot tub, racquetball courts, a suntanning deck and workout equipment. There's also a variety of massage and facial services that my wife enjoyed (the services, of course, are extra but not outrageously priced). The juice bar had prices so low that even in Euros, the price was lower than here in New York.

There's also... a water slide. Yep, sprialing down the center courtyard of the hotel is a surprisingly lengthy slide that was worth going on several times. You can get enough speed to ride pretty high up the walls during the turns.

All in all, we loved Europaeischer Hotel. It offered a host of amenities, clean rooms, free public transportation and a hearty meal, at a competitive price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piyopiyo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I staid 3 nights at this hotel and I can recommend it, even though some minor let downs.

I got a room in the fifth floor and it was refurbished with a nice view over the train station.
The room was spacious with two single beds pushed together, although the reservation stated one double bed, I did not mentioned it to the staff since it was not that important. In my opinion the bed was good to sleep in, but the pillows were more or less empty so I need to have two, although I usually sleeps with only one.


The cleanliness of the room was very good. The hotel has free wifi and it worked really good, even though I staid in the top floor and in a corner, a location that usually suffers froom poor reception at other hotels.

The breakfast is one of the better ones I have had in Germany, with a lot of variety and fresh products. One let down was when the three of us asked for more coffe, and the waitress said "you already have coffe" in an unpleasant tone, and we said that it was empty and would like some more. Then she went for more coffe, and more or less threw the coffe thermos on the table and said something we could not hear in German. But this waitress was an exception, all the other staff was really helpful and service minded.

One member of the staff that is worth mentioning is on of the guys in the bar. He was funny, glad and interested in the well being of his customers and also made faboulous drinks.

All in all, this hotel is a recommendation if you stay in Hamburg. This especially due to service, location and the included three day pass to Hamburg public transportation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brathlaxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews