We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
Ranked #42 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Chose this hotel for its location on Kirchenallee opposite main rail station so all we needed to do on arrival was roll our luggage over the road. It's actually a nice area (dodgy parts of Hamburg are elsewhere) with decent restaurants and only a short walk (or 1 stop by U-bahn) to Alster lakes and Rathaus. U3 will take you to the Landungsbrucken, S21 and S31 to Dammtor (1 stop) for Park Planten und Bloemen and bus no. 6 (stops right across the road) goes to Speicherstadt for Miniatur Wunderland and Maritime Museum.

We had room 407 on 4th floor, looking across a quiet side street to the neo-baroque Schauspielhaus. Good size, nicely furnished, with desk, armchairs, mini bar (beer, soft drinks, no spirits) and nice bathroom (shower, no tub). Beds a little soft by our standards (we like rock hard). No facilities for tea/ coffee. Heard a few revellers over at the station in the early hours but not really a problem.

Buffet breakfast (included) was superb and served from 6.30 am till 12 noon at weekends, till 11 am in the week. Everything you could think of - cold meats and fish, cheeses, salads, fruits, cereals, yoghurts, juices, breads, cakes, preserves, hot buffet including eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, also eggs and omelettes cooked to order.

Staff on the front desk really helpful. We made good use of our free 3-day local transport pass (includes U-bahn, S-bahn, buses and ferries) and as we arrived too late to make use of it on our first day they renewed it for us later so our whole stay was covered. (Tip; ferry no. 62 from the Landungsbrucken is effectively a free harbour tour - consider hopping off at Ovelgonne.)

Didn't have time to try the pool and spa but liked the piano bar. Dined once at in-house Paulaner's Miraculum (gastro-pub) - OK, but there are plenty of other restaurants on Kirchenallee; my top recommendation would be Schiffeborse right next door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Ok. This hotel will not knock your socks off. It does have a central location right across from the train station. The hotel is fine and the room was comfortable. I still don't get those heavy keys that weight 5 pounds. I can work out in the gym if I want to develop my biceps. However, there were several plusses. The staff was great, strong free wifi and there was a good, free breakfast buffet which is getting rarer and rarer these days. They also allow you to use the hotel card for free transit anywhere in town. It was nice to hop on and off any bus or train I wanted to when I discovered this beautiful city. Those advantages made me like this hotel very much .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night during a business trip and found the room to be fine but boring.
The car parking is convenient but a bit overpriced, the breakfast a nice selection with fresh bread, eggs, meats, cheeses, some fruit, etc.

I would not go out of my way to recommend this hotel but if the price is right for you and you're not looking for anything special this is a good place to stay and explore Hamburg from. They give you a ticket that you can use on all public transportation around town which is nice and you're also at walking distance from the center of town, right across the main railway station.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was a short break and a visit to Wunderland Miniature World. Stayed at the hotel with friends we all found it to be very high standard accommodation. Breakfast was amazing the selection of food available is immense high quality and freshly cooked eggs a sensation. All in all an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and the rear of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nymphfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located in front of the central station (at 20 minutes direct metro-trip from the airport), this hotel is very convenient.
Rooms are spacious and confortable, not so modern but well equipped (large italian shower, huge Mirror).
The breakfast is fantactic whatever you prefer for beginning the day (English-style, French-style, East-European style, muesly, home-made jam...). In addition, spa facilities are impressive and easy to get (just sign at the receiption desk and you will be granted bathrobe, towels and a free access to swimming pool, steam baths, sauna, jacuzzi). Up to 10:00 pm which is great for business travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblchristel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This 4-star hotel is located directly opposite Hamburg Hbf,centrally located that by all mean of public transport. The room key card entitled 3 days free public transport even I only stay in for one day.
Friendly greeted by the receptionist,was given free upgrade room and was able to check in before 1300hrs.
Distance to the lift is really arduous! No wonder the is always a bellboy standby at the lobby to help customers to carry luggages as well as finding the exact location of the lift and rooms.
Assigned room 154 was clean and spacious but a bit of outdated furniture. There is a lots of storage compartments for clothing, 2 single seated sofa with a small table,fast internet connection for both Wifi and LAN. Mini bar provided but without any free bottles of water,no coffee/tea facilities. No city or any other view but only room to room and the waterslide for the swimming pool.Felt endangered to open up the windows(no aircon) especially during the night as it located on the ground of the waterslide.
Even the bathroom was spacious but without bathtub and basic amenities were provided.
Lavish breakfast buffet was served and end at 1100 or 1200.Pastries were freshly baked from oven,Cooks were there for your order from different choice of omelet to pancakes or even waffle. Highly recommended their freshly baked croissant.Coffee is served in a isulated pot but I still prefer to have coffee machine where customers can help themselves with espresso or latte etc.
Still enjoy my stays with Europaischer Hof Hamburg although there were still pro and con. Definitely will stay again if visit Hamburg even though is slightly costly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morinaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hotels like Europeischer Hof cannot be disliked: feeling of 50's brought to today's technics just works and gives different mood for the stay. Excellent WIFI at the room, superb breakfast, excellent location and - last but not the least - three days free metro ticket with the key card. Only minus I can comment is cigarette smell at the alleys. Honestly one of the best stays for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkoIsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Reichshof Hamburg, Curio Collection by Hilton
St. Georg
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
Hotel Fuerst Bismarck
#56 of 321 in Hamburg
426 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,512 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Address: Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#55 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £124 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europaeischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in comfortable, timelessly decorated rooms. Enjoy your breakfast at the stylish Hanseatenraum decorated with lots chrome, warm colours, dark panels and elaborate objects with Swarovski crystals. Or breathe Hanseatic tradition in the Hamburger Restaurant. Eat at the rustic and yet elegant restaurant Paulaner´s offering typical German and international dishes. Feel like James Bond at the Flaggen-Bar and its fifties look. Let the chandeliers in the staircases remind you of the seventies. The Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg proves that good design is never out of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing