We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good standardized value in central Altona” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Ranked #120 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good standardized value in central Altona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Located right at Altona train station, ideal to visit lively Ottensen / Altona, and just minutes away by train from Hamburg old town centre. Rooms are good value for money - standard Ibis-type rooms and facilities, clean, friendly staff. Their extra value: you get tickets for free public transport for your entire stay - a big savings! What they need to improve - the Wifi isn't free which it really should be; breakfast and parking are expensive, but you can easily eat at the hundreds of cafes and restos nearby. Overall a very good standardized hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    104
    57
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
68
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A modern hotel with an Ibis appearance but at a higher price. Located within the Altona station complex, it has excellent transport connections - and guests get to travel on Hamburg's trains, buses, Ubahn and ferries for the price of the room. (Even available on check out day to get you to the airport, for example.) We chose not to eat in but made use of the many eating establishments within the station or within a short walk in the delightful suburb of Altona. Only some rooms have AC - ours did not - and in hot weather the only recourse is to sleep with the windows open - not good if you are a light sleeper.

It met our needs and I would be happy to return here on another visit.

Room Tip: You have trains on one side or the street on the other. Depends on your likes or dislikes as to whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolloongabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

It is central with a free ticket for public transport during your stay, which saved us heaps. We stayed one night to try it out, and liked it enough to come back for another three nights. Decent breakfast buffet, spacious lifts and corridors, rooms have all the essentials and vital nooks and crannies to store your stuff. We asked for a quiet room, and we received it.
Staff is friendly and helpful (mostly), and I can't help the impression that they are all in training for the 'real' Steigenberger. Yes, the shower can get very hot when someone else its starting their shower, and it is a few years old, and you have to pay for WiFi (even the staff don't like it), but they got the basics right. Suggest they get their rates sorted, there is a funny 7-Day advance booking system, which made us pay three different prices for consecutive nights.
However, would stay there again, anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the upper floors, and you will be facing away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daretobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have stayed here on business when I could not get into the Intercity Hotel in Hamburg City Centre, it was well priced for a reasonable hotel in Hamburg, also what I found useful was the hotel provide a train ticket throughout your stay so that you can get about on public transport whilst staying, as I needed to be in the city centre and thus needed to use the SBahn this was good for me.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

The rooms were just about adequate where I stayed felt like it needed a revamp, it looked tired and sad, the intercity in the city centre is far more fresh and modern but then this Altona one is much cheaper, however the room was clean and was not uncomfortable.

The location is handy especially for those travelling on the train as the hotel is literally at the end of the platforms, however I found the train noise in my room to be a pain and was woken a numebr of times through the week due to this, I have read others saying the noise is not a problem so I guess it depends what room you are in mine overlooked the platform so was an issue for me.

Altona train station also has lots of places to eat and drink and to buy snacks/fruit/drinks so you will not go hungry, due to these facilities I did not eat in the hotel, I noticed the bar/restaurant was located in the reception area it looked Ok but no idea on quality.

Good for those wanting a reasonable and comfortable room for business or access to train station.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We were traveling by train. So for us the location right next to the main railway station and the junction of various underground lines ws very important. The hotel offers extremely quiet and clean rooms. The staff is excellent. A request from us for the room service was done smoothly and in no time. The buffet breakfast is an experience in itself. We also enjoyed the free ticket for the entire train and bus system during the stay. Any time again, Intercity hotels!

Room Tip: Free local train and bus in Hamburg included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigF_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This hotel is perfectly located right over the road from the main train station, and in the heart of the city's cultural and tourist centre. The rooms are well furnished, comfortable, and the breakfasts are very good. Only problem is that internet at the hotel is ridiculously expensive, which makes conducting business difficult. They need to fix this, as this is is supposed to be a business friendly hotel. But other than that, really enjoyed it. Very good!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel 11th December. Husband has used this hotel before so happy to return. The hotel is located at the station - our room overlooked the platform. Thought this might be an issue but we slept well on both nights. The room was quite small and compact which served the purpose given we spent very little time in it. The bed was very comfortable - I did worry about the thin looking duvet but again - this was not an issue we were as warm as toast. A welcome addition was a kettle and cups etc. There was an odd mixture of staff - we asked for more pillows and two were delivered immediatly arranged by the friendly reception staff. Other requests were met with the same cheerful happy to please attitude. In comparison we found the bar and restaurant staff less cheerful. You do get free rail and boat travel when you stay at this hotel and given its location (on the station) this really is a bonus. Good shopping in the immediate area and we found plenty of nice bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Now for my one moan - the breakfast was really expensive at £14 per person - it was not clearly advertised so we did get a shock when it came to booking out. The breakfast was fine and plenty of it but you can get breakfast on the station for a fraction of the price - it is something to keep in mind if you are here on a budget. If you like to have breakfast in the hotel its worth trying to get a good price for bed and breakfast rather than paying on the day. So all in all I would recommend this hotel and personally I really loved the location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJay11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ottensen
Hotel Commerz
Hotel Commerz
#228 of 318 in Hamburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hotel Central
#203 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
Hotel Stephan
Hotel Stephan
#163 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
InterCityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#53 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona

Property: IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Address: Paul-Nevermann-Platz 17, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Hamburg-Altona is located next to the ICE station of the same name, Hamburg Altona, in the very heart of the city. The Hamburg city centre is only 4 km away and can be easily reached by the S-Bahn (city railway). The exhibition grounds are located only 3.5 Km away from the hotel. Positioned between the theatre, musical stages, the exhibition grounds and the harbour, the InterCityHotel provides the ideal starting point for business, scene and culture. Experience Hamburg's city mix of state opera, shopping paradise, museums and variety theatres. With the FreeCityTicket we offer our guests the possibility of using local public transport in Hamburg and the HADAG Elbe ferries free of extra charge. In your overnight stay in Hamburg-Altona you will find 133 comfortable air-conditioned rooms with a pleasant ambience for a relaxed period of time. In addition, there are 4 air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight illumination and modern multimedia conference technology. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing