We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“intercity altona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Ranked #113 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“intercity altona”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked this hotel through the web for a night as I was travelling to Westerlnd, Sylt.
Arrived late on that night. The receptionist was very polite and helpful. Check in was smooth. I had requested a smoking room which was allocated. Room was quite small, but very clean. It had a sat tv and mini bar which was handy taking into considaration the late evening after a long flight. The price was fare as this overnight was begining the middle of August. I can say that I was happy with the Intercity.

Room Tip: Room away from the railways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusVassili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    108
    59
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
69
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
186 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

In short : Location is very convenient literally meters away from the Altona station. Otherwise, it's a very average hotel. Rooms could use an upgrade but are fine for a night or two.

What I really disliked is that they charge for wifi a ridiculous price (5€ for 30 minutes??). I think I am going to boycott hotels which have such policy.

The breakfast is 15€. I did not take it but I saw the buffet. Certainly did not look worth that much money. My only positive surprise was that they give a day ticker for public transportation valid for the whole stay.
The staff was friendly but otherwise it was a pretty unimpressive experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrNeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel was convenient for us as we were visiting family in Ottensen so only had a 15 min walk along quiet streets to get to them. Our room was clean, quiet and the air conditioner kept it cool in the hot weather! It was big enough so we didn't feel cramped, with a functional shower room and storage for clothes. The bed was firm but comfortable but we could have done with thicker pillows. It was tided and cleaned every day. The staff that we met were very friendly and helpful and as we were staying a week the free transport tickets where a bonus. Even though the hotel is next to the train station it always seemed calm and quiet inside and you can while away some time watching the cars and motorbikes load on to the trains in the evenings. We only had breakfast on two mornings and though there is good choice of food at 15 euro it seems expensive. However there are other places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Best view on the tracks of Hamburg Altona train station.

Here is the deal:
The rooms are oldfashioned. Renovation is overdue.
Short stop at the breakfast buffet is okay.
Service staff is friendly and helpfull.
Rooms directing to the trainstation are extremely loud. Engines starting, braking, announcements - every noise seems to be just for you. If you are trying to full asleep.

Room Tip: Away from the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollkragen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Brief overnight stay whilst on business May 2012. Good choice of restaraunts & more within the area.
Staff were very pleasant & made us feel welcolme.
Room were nice & ideal for a brief stay.
The hotel provided us with a 2 day free gratis public transport ticked which we didnt use; however a longer stay & this would hsve been good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This hotel was about a 35 minute ride on the train from the airport and is situated right next to the main line station. Despite this, we found it very quiet, although we had requested a quiet room not overlooking the station. We stayed 4 nights and were there for the marathon. The room was very clean and tidy each day, with adequate storage space for clothes. No toiletries other than soap, but spotless bathroom - shower only. Staff were very helpful at the bar and reception and spoke English. Only had breakfast on one day -bit pricey at 15euros each but a good variety of food to be had. Plenty of places to get a coffee and a pastry within the station complex. Only a few places to eat a main meal in the vicinity and they were more of the cafe style not restaurants. Included in the room rate was a transport ticket so we made good use of that on the trains. It also got us back to the airport. It was around 8 minutes on the train to get into the centre of the city. Also close to a new shopping centre just the other side if the station whre there was a lovely food market - plenty of choices for lighter eating and coffees. A bit pricey but a good location. Interesting experience to sit in the bar and watch cars driving on to a transporter train!

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the station. Unless you have to have a big breakfast, eat out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambagirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Located right at Altona train station, ideal to visit lively Ottensen / Altona, and just minutes away by train from Hamburg old town centre. Rooms are good value for money - standard Ibis-type rooms and facilities, clean, friendly staff. Their extra value: you get tickets for free public transport for your entire stay - a big savings! What they need to improve - the Wifi isn't free which it really should be; breakfast and parking are expensive, but you can easily eat at the hundreds of cafes and restos nearby. Overall a very good standardized hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
IntercityHotel Hamburg Dammtor Messe
Hamburg-Altstadt
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottensen
Hotel Hamburg Altona
Hotel Hamburg Altona
#220 of 318 in Hamburg
41 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 318 in Hamburg
870 reviews
Ottensen
Hotel Commerz
Hotel Commerz
#215 of 318 in Hamburg
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona

Property: IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Address: Paul-Nevermann-Platz 17, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Hamburg-Altona is located next to the ICE station of the same name, Hamburg Altona, in the very heart of the city. The Hamburg city centre is only 4 km away and can be easily reached by the S-Bahn (city railway). The exhibition grounds are located only 3.5 Km away from the hotel. Positioned between the theatre, musical stages, the exhibition grounds and the harbour, the InterCityHotel provides the ideal starting point for business, scene and culture. Experience Hamburg's city mix of state opera, shopping paradise, museums and variety theatres. With the FreeCityTicket we offer our guests the possibility of using local public transport in Hamburg and the HADAG Elbe ferries free of extra charge. In your overnight stay in Hamburg-Altona you will find 133 comfortable air-conditioned rooms with a pleasant ambience for a relaxed period of time. In addition, there are 4 air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight illumination and modern multimedia conference technology. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing