We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow check in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Ranked #126 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Slow check in!”
Reviewed 9 May 2007

InterCity hotels are normally good and this one probably was as well. We tried it on spec. on Easter Monday. Big mistake. Although the one guy on the desk eventually tried to help us, he kept on trying to serve other guests who arrived later than us as well, with the result that we made no progress. Not what one expects from this chain, now part of the Steigenberger group.
So we left him to it and found another, less busy hotel instead. It was probably more expensive, but at least we could get in quickly and without feeling like fools.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    110
    61
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
70
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

stayed at the inter city hotel for 2 nights from 18th august, booked a twin room. Our check in was extremely efficient, room was very nice and found hotel clean throughout.
Our room overlooked the main train station which is at the back of the hotel, this could be noisy for some people but my friend and i had no problem.
we walked to the famous reeperbahn both evenings which was about 10 to 15 minutes leisurly strole.
i would definitely recommend this hotel, being cheap, cheerful and central.

Helpful?
4 Thank ronmag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 July 2005

Conveniently located hotel in Hamburg in a nice area. Rooms well equipped and functional, but without air conditioning. Watch out in the middle weeks of the summer. The room was extremely hot, and with the window open, extremely noisy. Apparently not many places in Hamburg have air conditioning, since the summer is very short... The hotel key acts as a ticket for the public transportation system during your stay, which is very convenient and a great added value, especially with the buses and S bahn trains right outside the door.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2005

We stayed there for two nights. The intercity is a good, clean, no frills hotel. Our room was clean and bright and overlooked platform 12. Only the lightest sleeper would be disturbed as the sound proofing was very effective. To make sure I would ask for an inward facing room. Breakfast was excellent and served until 11. We stepped out of the hotel lobby onto the train to Berlin - many intercity trains start at Altona. There is a frequent S bahn service to most of Hamburg.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rod002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 May 2003

Good location meaning right in the train station of Altona with next door access to the subway. I didn't notice the noise at all (sound-insulated rooms). Breakfast was great and filled with German food. Stayed there for 1 night and would definitely stay there again if I went back to Hamburg. Room and bathroom was clean. The room door was a little hard to open though. They have small weird door knobs that you need to turn all the way with the key inserted. Overall, a good stay.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Pauli
IntercityHotel Hamburg Dammtor Messe
Hamburg-Altstadt
IntercityHotel Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Baseler Hof
Baseler Hof
#55 of 319 in Hamburg
337 reviews
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#49 of 319 in Hamburg
877 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona

Property: IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona
Address: Paul-Nevermann-Platz 17, 22765 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Hamburg-Altona is located next to the ICE station of the same name, Hamburg Altona, in the very heart of the city. The Hamburg city centre is only 4 km away and can be easily reached by the S-Bahn (city railway). The exhibition grounds are located only 3.5 Km away from the hotel. Positioned between the theatre, musical stages, the exhibition grounds and the harbour, the InterCityHotel provides the ideal starting point for business, scene and culture. Experience Hamburg's city mix of state opera, shopping paradise, museums and variety theatres. With the FreeCityTicket we offer our guests the possibility of using local public transport in Hamburg and the HADAG Elbe ferries free of extra charge. In your overnight stay in Hamburg-Altona you will find 133 comfortable air-conditioned rooms with a pleasant ambience for a relaxed period of time. In addition, there are 4 air-conditioned conference rooms with daylight illumination and modern multimedia conference technology. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your IntercityHotel Hamburg-Altona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercity Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing