We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area, hotel building and bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Louis C. Jacob
Ranked #13 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Very nice hotel. Excellent restaurant and Chef Martin. Cosy cigar bar with biggest collection of wines. Hotel staff was pleasent. Area is nice to walk. Building is old and conected with other part of hotel through tunel. Very elegant and stylish. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

this is a real gem of an hotel. stayed there for many years, great rooms, quiet, views over the river elbe, best restaurant in hamburg and a service level which is rarely matched. maybe a bit out of the center of town, but that is ok. difficult to fault.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side, not the across the road with tunnel annex (but very good rooms there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Excellent service and attention to details make the stay in this hotel a joy. The rooms are very spacious and the food is delicious, the soups and the breakfast are definitely worth a try. The hotel is not in the city centre but in a nice suburb next to the river Elba, it takes 15 minutes to get to the city centre by taxi or about half an hour by ferry.Ferries are frequent you get to see lots of the port if you take them. Will come back again if back in Hamburg!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We've been coming here for years, one of the very few places where we return to for not having been disappointed once. The service is impeccable, the food is great (don't think of missing the breakfast) and for us a long weekend here is equivalent (relaxation-wise) to two weeks elsewhere.
Yes, it's not exactly cheap, but while I regretted paying a lot elsewhere often, I never did here.

Room Tip: I never dared a room with an Elbe view - for the price I always chose a suite with less view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UltimateAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel´s location is unique, due to the fact that it faced the river Alster and you can watch ships glide by and Airbus ( right on the opposite site ) airplanes land and start - though off the main city center. We booked via LHW.com, since the place is a leading hotel associated member.

On arrival you enter a worn down entrance area with old rugs. The reception staff is very friendly, but due to the young age you would expect a more experienced service attire. Our maisonette suite was located in the "newer" building across the street. New means that the last main renovation was 15 years ago and even all facilities are cleaned and serviced you feel and see the years in service everywhere. The so called wellness area is not worth to mention and should be closed down immediately.

Breakfast and food in general is excellent and this is where the main revenue seems to be originated, since the restaurant seems to be fully booked for lunch and dinner ( mainly non-hotel guests ).

Continental breakfast can be included in the roommate, but that does not mean you are obliged to have the "Gourmet" breakfast ( which comes for an extra 12 EUR p.P charge )

WLAN is basically not working or where the connect is established - very slow

The overall experience was not at a leading hotel level - the restaurant can be recommended, but plan your stay overnight somewhere else.

The place needs urgently a renovation at all areas to not get kicked out from the leading hotel program.

Room Tip: ask for a Alsterview room if you love to me in the room for the whole day watching the ships come by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisjacob, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Louis C. Jacob at Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel location and the restaurant service provided by our staff. At the same time I am most concerned to hear that you were very disappointed on our hardware. Please be assured that we are currently working on our product and that we are renovating our rooms and suites regularly. Maybe you perceived the atmosphere as old fashioned because we have many antiques in our hotel.

Moreover I am also deeply sorry about the circumstance that you had problems with the W-Lan. In the meantime we were able to solve the technical fault and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Furthermore we have taken the necessary precautions to avoid such difficulties in future. Regarding the additional price for the gourmet breakfast please allow me to inform you that we offer a high quality of products, which justified the extra charge.

I would like to take this opportunity again to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.



Yours Sincerely


Jost Deitmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Friendly staff, nice rooms, excellent restaurant and well located at the Elbe.
The special offers for different occasions are nicely priced and the program offered is mostly very interesting.
City is easy to reach by public transport or shuttle provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldieCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

An excellent hotel in a fantastic location, overlooking the Elbe river (there is an Airbus factory on the other side, but still a great view). Rooms with Elbe view are few, though, so be sure to book early. But rooms in the annex across the street are excellent as well, and you can enjoy the huge airport-like corridor underground when walking towards them. Generally everything is very spacious and decorated in great taste.

The restaurant is excellent, again with Elbe views and a famous terrace - the "Lindenterasse" of Max Liebermann (a German painter) fame. Just sitting there with a drink and watching the ships going to and from Germany's busiest harbour is a treat. Fantastic for events as well!

Staff are attentive and helpful, only if you like to be left to your own devices it can appear a bit much at times.

The only drawback is the wellness area, which doesn't amount to much, only a small sauna and a tiny Jaccuzi. It would have been better to do without it altogether.

Overall highly recommended if you are looking for a luxury experience with individual flair in the high-end area of the beautiful town of Hamburg. Only wellness-lovers would be better off somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with river Elbe views - but book early and allocate a good chunk of your travel budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisjacob, Manager at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to welcoming you soon again!
Silke Einfeldt, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 321 in Hamburg
2,512 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#32 of 321 in Hamburg
1,516 reviews
Rotherbaum
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louis C. Jacob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Address: Elbchaussee 401 - 403, 22609 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £174 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Louis C. Jacob 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Louis C. Jacob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis c Jacob
Louis c Jacob Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing