We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Louis C. Jacob
Ranked #12 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We recently stayed two nights in a junior suite overlooking the river, and we loved it. It was our 3rd visit and it didn't disappoint. The room itself has a nice size with two chairs in front of the windows and a nice bed, and you have a great view of the river from almost every angle. Only complaint is that the walk-in closet is somewhat small. Every member of the staff is very kind and smiling and helpful, and you feel almost like being in a private home. It is simply one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    63
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
208
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Been visiting Hamburg on business. I enjoyed staying in this very comfortable hotel with all modern amenities and yet very classy. On a beautiful week like the beginning of August 2013, while there were nice warm evenings, it was possible to have dinner in the garden terrace. The view of the river was full of all kind of boats. Ideal place for ship watching. The food is magnificently fresh well cooked and the service superb. The staff are very polite and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. Wifi in the room makes working on the desk very pleasant experience. The walking wardrobe was simply fantastic. Very roomy and comfortable. Walking from the ferry to the hotel was also a very relaxing experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I have been in three different rooms and they are are all fine. There are also rooms with a view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangelos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very nice hotel, staff excellent, service is what you would expect from a top hotel, a bit far out from the city centre but great for the Airbus site across the water, food vgood, rooms vgood, general feel of hotel excellent, good for a few nights stop over, but you may want to try somewhere nearer the city centre if on holiday although transport is vgood in the area.

Room Tip: best overlook the river, still good on the town side though, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robo220713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is a very gracious hotel--the accommodations are supremely comfortable. The staff were attentive and helpful. While located well out of central Hamburg it was easy to reach via bus or taxi from the center of town. While we never ate dinner in the main restaurant (there were so many restaurants in Hamburg to choose from) the breakfast served every day was fantastic. It is located on a beautiful stretch of the Elbe River (take the ferry into town!). We look forward to coming back here to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connahs Quay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Lovely to look at. Staff seem nice enough.

Constant noise from staff moving furniture until 1am, reception informed and took no action. Shame really, as a good sleep would have made it ok. Instead I wish I went to a holiday inn.

Couldn't recommend,

Room Tip: Make sure it no where near any of the public areas, you'll hear staff cleaning etc all night lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisjacob, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest to the Jacob,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review on your stay at the Hotel Louis C. Jacob – you thereby help us to constantly review our quality benchmarks.

I am happy to see you were satisfied with the service we provided. However, I deeply regret that your sleep was disturbed by the loud noise of furniture being moved around. I would like to stress explicitly that these circumstances were out of the ordinary and I would like to offer my formal apology with the benefit of hindsight. Please be assured that we have taken all measures so that such an incident will not happen again.

Nevertheless I hope that your journey will lead you again to the Elbchaussee and that we will then be able to demonstrate that the incident mentioned above was a one-off.

Yours sincerely.


HOTEL LOUIS C. JACOB
Jost Deitmar
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Very nice hotel. Excellent restaurant and Chef Martin. Cosy cigar bar with biggest collection of wines. Hotel staff was pleasent. Area is nice to walk. Building is old and conected with other part of hotel through tunel. Very elegant and stylish. We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

this is a real gem of an hotel. stayed there for many years, great rooms, quiet, views over the river elbe, best restaurant in hamburg and a service level which is rarely matched. maybe a bit out of the center of town, but that is ok. difficult to fault.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side, not the across the road with tunnel annex (but very good rooms there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
997 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 317 in Hamburg
1,385 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 317 in Hamburg
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louis C. Jacob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Property: Hotel Louis C. Jacob
Address: Elbchaussee 401 - 403, 22609 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#16 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Louis C. Jacob 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Louis C. Jacob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis c Jacob
Louis c Jacob Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing