We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel overlooking the Elbe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Louis C. Jacob
Ranked #11 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel overlooking the Elbe”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had the wonderful experience of staying at the Louis C Jacob after a cruise on the QM2 in May of 2011. The staff were very helpful and very friendly, especially when I tried my tourbook German! The breakfast spread is something to behold, with just about anything you can imagine on offer. The buffet was very artfully done. For our first visit to Germany, we could not have done better.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    64
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
56
219
33
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

All we could say at the end of our stay here was "wow". From the very first moment, we were well taken care of. We had a junior suite and it felt like a home away from home. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, offering sightseeing tips, morning housekeeping and evening room "turndown" service (folding clothes and getting room ready for the evening/night), breakfast room service, etc. They were all very polite and spoke several languages. The breakfast buffet was just amazing and we ordered from the breakfast menu as well - fresh scrambled or fried eggs, omelette, crepes, etc. One morning we opted for breakfast room service and it was perfect as well. For what we were looking for - a romantic and relaxing weekend getaway - it met and went above our expectations. We also dined in their "Jacob's Restaurant" (fancy and romantic) and their "Kleines Jacob" (rustic and tasty).

All that being said, there are probably 2 things that might be an inconvenience to others. It's a 20 min bus ride into the city center (bus stop is right outside the door basically). The spa is also pretty minimal - sauna, jacuzzi and a few lounge chairs and option to book massage, etc. So don't expect a huge "hydrotherapy" spa with several pools, jets, hammams, saunas, etc.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was superb and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Its a great full service 5 star hotel in a fashionble area. Service and staff were excellent. Breakfast also very good. 50% of the rooms are located across the quite heavily trafficed Elbchausse which is a small drawback.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Louis C. jacobs is a high standard botique style hotel cloned with an international modern hotel. Wether it comes to the restaurants, wine or facilities you will enjoy it. The large terrace area with view over the river Elbe is fantastic on a sunny day, and in relation to this you find a cosy bar, the 2 star gourmet michelin restaurant (not open all weekdays!) and some relaxing spots where you can settle down and spoil yourselves. Be prepared this can be an expensive adventure as you are tempted by good taste fantastic selection and professional service.

You will find all you need here to spoil yourselves, so no need to leave the hotel area. If you are not into a gourmet dining experience you can eat at the cottage house restaurant (mainly serves German+Austrian wines), this is a coasy place, in a seperate small building.

One hick-up to the service, I made a reservation for a specific table at the c. Jacobs restaurant in the hotel reception, however as this aparently was taken at our arrival, we were seated at the least attractive table (the only table available)....to this I must add that the waiter took good care of us.

The hotel area is split in 2 parts. one "historical" part which is overlooking the elb, and a new modern part which is reached through the cellar area a or by crossing the small road. Be aware of this when you make your booking so that you make the selection right for your purpose.
We stayed in the new part, with access to a small garden area (it is fenced and you are allowed to bring your dog). Everything is fresh and modern. If you want riverview you will stay in the "old" building.
The surrondings are nice as the hotel is situated in the most attractive part of Hamburg. If you are travelling by car, there is a descrete parking lot under the building with direct access to the hotel
Stayed here in connection with in-cosmetics and the hotel is an attractive alternative to Park Hyatt in the city center, which I stayed at last year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Louis_C_Jacob, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us while staying at the Louis C. Jacob on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you were entirely satisfied with the quality of service provided by our staff and that we are able to meet your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.


Sincerely yours

Jost Deitmar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It’s a new property, clean and sparkling. Great rooms, cozy beds, sofa, a study table and all modern amenities including large HD televisions on the walls and some great service. The staffs happen to be very well behaved and professional. They helped us with a quick checking in and provided us with a welcome drink. Every room offers some great view of the river Elbe. I and my wife spent hours every evening just staring into the river side and sipping on red wine. It was a magical stay. Breakfast was elaborate and in large variety. Though my usual intake is limited, I did like the variety.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRRice213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have just stayed here for two nights and it is a very nice hotel. I had a "deluxe" bedroom, with a large separate sitting room, with a writing desk, sofa and table and of course own bathroom. All toiletries (with the exception of anything I could identify as shampoo) were also supplied, with ample towels and bathrobes. My room was across the street from reception and at times this was a risky crossing due to the heavy traffic. Also, during the evening, traffic noise was noticeable.
I did not have the breakfast as I thought 32 Euros very steep (no matter where you are), but it must be something to be seen - more expensive the evening meals available in the bar.
Access into Hamburg is easy; there is a bus stop only 10 meters from the hotel towards Altona and the S-Bahn metro (at Hochkampf) is about a 15-20 minute casual walk. So, you could reach the Hotel for 3 Euro from the airport. But note that I did not see any taxis at this station.

I had a very pleasant stay and will use the "Jacob" again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Beautiful hotel with wonderful views of Elbe river, amazing breakfast spread, the most friendly service! Understated elegance. A bit quirky: many rooms are across the street so it's a bit of a hassle crossing the road (in the rain, if you've forgotten an umbrella) and you need the key to enter the building. (Or you take the underground tunnel.) Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Any room away from the main street (because of traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TikiTolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,372 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Hamburg
#27 of 317 in Hamburg
1,452 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louis C. Jacob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Property: Hotel Louis C. Jacob
Address: Elbchaussee 401 - 403, 22609 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#15 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#29 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Louis C. Jacob 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Louis C. Jacob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis c Jacob
Louis c Jacob Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing