We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Madison Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #4 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Spent only one night in this hotel but can recommend it as one of the best hotels in the city of Hamburg. Very large room with desk, sofa and comfy chairs. Bathroom very clean and with a tub large enough for two. Flatscreen, stereo and very nicely decorated. Only 5 minutes walk form all the action at the docks. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the direct vicinity and about 15 minutes walk (which felt very safe by the way) to the nightlife at the Reeperbahn.
Parking provided by the hotel in an underground garage (paid). Very friendly and helpful staff. Slept very well in the king size bed. Room was equipped with a pantry, safe and ample wardrobe space. Would absolutely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchBlokeEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    219
    26
    7
    0
See reviews for
142
347
50
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I stayed in Hamburg after visiting Amsterdam for a few days and before going to Berlin for a few days to end our vacation. Madison Hotel was one of those sorts of hotels where you say "if only we'd stayed in this city longer!" The staff was incredible and helped me mail something back to our previous hotel in Amsterdam, the room was fantastic, the beds comfortable and warm, and the hotel was modern.

Our main draw to Hamburg was Miniatur Wunderland, which is only minutes away by foot. The next time we visit Hamburg, we'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berniecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Check In was very efficient and welcoming.
Nice, well designed reception, bar, lounge and restaurant areas.
Great bedroom, very spacious, with kichenette area, desk, large bed, large TV, hifi, tea making and mini bar. Some rooms can be a little public if facing a near by office block.
Bathroom large with bath and shower.
Had a few drinks at happy hour in the bar, the service and choice was excellent, the cocktails were very professional!
We used the restuarant and the quality of food and service was again excellent.
Had to leave early so never tried the breakfast which was a shame....... I will have to try it next time.

Its a little pricey but a great place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Madison deserves all the good reviews it gets on Trip Advisor. My wife and I went with friends for a three day visit to the Christmas markets and found the Madison very convenient. There is a U-Bahn station five minutes walk away in one direction; an S-Bahn station (from the airport) about six minutes walk the other way. We bought a three day Hamburg ticket for five at the airport for 34 euros and happily travelled from the hotel in and out of the city centre (six minutes on the train) during our stay. Good markets in the city centre and there is one only a few minutes from the hotel near the S-Bahn station which was pleasant in the evening. Hotel was very comfortable, our room had all we could ask for. Very little noise from the well carpeted corridors, good night's sleep. Breakfast very good including smoked salmon! Staff very pleasant and helpful. And for smokers, the hotel does have smoking rooms and they even heat an area outside the hotel main entrance while you wait for a taxi! Well worth its recommendation. Indeed I would like to return in the summer when the weather might be more inviting to explore the local waterways.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merseychris050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
471 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The hotel is situated quit a bit from down town Hamburg, but its new and the room is very nice. Our view was of the sundeck, where people were taking sunbaths naked? Not one but a lot of guests did this and I must say, this is not something I like to pay money for. To see middel aged people naked. Perhaps this wouldnt be a major factor in my evaluation of the hotel, if we had stayed in a room without this view. But unfortunally we did stay in a room with full view of this.
Ok breakfast and service somewhat neutral, but correct.
I am sure we wouldnt stay at this hotel again, location wasnt good and as mentioned, the vue not either :-(

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend away. The room was nice and clean and even though the bathroom was a little dated. The shower pressure was better than most hotels I've stayed in. There was no shower cap supplied! There is a little kitchenette in the room. The room was nice and quiet and you could open the window for fresh air. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the next train station and a short stroll to the city centre. The staff were friendly on arrival and departure and there was no problem with parking. The breakfast staff were super efficient and they had the coffee at the table right when you were there. without even having to ask. The breafast buffet was good by German standards. We were pleased that they could offer us food very late in the hotel restaurant. I would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

This hotel was a good deal nicer than I expected, even after having read the reviews. We opted for a 2-bdrm suite because of the children. Modern wood furniture in maple, white walls, dark grey velveteen drapes, dark carpeting, lots of closets and storage space, nice mini kitchenette, large bathroom with tub, shower, bidet (!), and toilet in a connecting room with second access through foyer. Living area was very large, bed was king with plush linens. Windows were those cool German window/door things that open two ways (turn the handle 90 degrees, and it opens like a door; turn it 180, and it opens like a transom). Easy walking distance to major attractions.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtsnSciences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing