We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice staff, nice hotel --> Will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #3 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
“Great service, nice staff, nice hotel --> Will be back”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The service was very good, the staff was very helpfull with questions and favours I had to ask them ... They made you feel welcome, rather than only a random guest ... Additional great service: Washing machine and dryer free of charge

Room very nice, big, and equipped with a basic kittchen ...

Will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    222
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
151
358
51
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel.
On both ocassions, reservations were managed by our local office as we get a corporate rate.
The rooms are big and nicely appointed. Big bedroom/living room and a big, clean and confortable bathroom. It has a flat tv, mini-fridge and a very nice stereo yoiu can use anytime.
Attention to details in the common areas and the rooms show. Since the weather was nice we made good use of the open-air sidewalk restaurant by the hotel whicj is also very nice.
The staff is very efficient and always a smile on their face.
Very recommendable for short or long stays in Hamburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbdflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights for business and found it to be a great option for both business or leisure travel. The rooms are large with nice amenities (like a kitchenette) and the meeting spaces worked well. It is a short walk to many good restaurants - though we only tried the hotel's restaurant for breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all - a great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I've stayed at several hotels in Hamburg and the Madison is by far the best. My wonderful weekend started with check-in at 11:45 am on Friday afternoon. I had planned to check my bag and then come back later to check in at 3:00 pm, but the very nice man at reception told me that my room was already ready. Then to my extreme delight, I found that instead of the regular loft room that I had reserved, they had given me the Hampton Loft with a four-poster bed! Since my partner was joining me the next day for a romantic weekend, it was a wonderful surprise! The room was very spacious, and spotlessly clean. The kitchenette had an espresso maker (Nespresso) and an electric kettle (can also get a coffee machine from Housekeeping, but we were happy with the espresso machine. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but did have breakfast. Very, very good - including made-to-order pancakes and excellent fresh fruit salad and quite reasonable at €15.50 per person. Every single staff peron that we came in contact with was extremely friendly, polite and helpful. I cannot say one negative thing about this hotel and I will never stay anywhere else in Hamburg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marathongirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Simply outstanding!

My wife and I spent the weekend in Hamburg during the harbour festival, an extremely busy week in Hamburg. Despite most of the hotels hiking their prices the Madison remained affordable, probably a bit more than usual but the cheapest room in Hamburg the day I booked.

Despite this the standard was extraordinary. The rooms are huge, really well designed and everything was spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent and really looked after us despite it being such a busy weekend.

Location is excellent. Only 5 mind walk to the Elbe and about 10 to the town centre.

Prices in the hotel were reasonable and we didn't feel ripped off in the bar or restaurant, both of which were good.

In summary an excellent hotel. Book it now!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnjeff73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed just one night of many stays in Hamburg, but definitely the best around! Large and very comfortable rooms complete with kitchenette and fridge as well as a balcony. Very well appointed bathroom, large and clean. Highly recommend if staying in Hamburg!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Spent only one night in this hotel but can recommend it as one of the best hotels in the city of Hamburg. Very large room with desk, sofa and comfy chairs. Bathroom very clean and with a tub large enough for two. Flatscreen, stereo and very nicely decorated. Only 5 minutes walk form all the action at the docks. Plenty of restaurants and bars in the direct vicinity and about 15 minutes walk (which felt very safe by the way) to the nightlife at the Reeperbahn.
Parking provided by the hotel in an underground garage (paid). Very friendly and helpful staff. Slept very well in the king size bed. Room was equipped with a pantry, safe and ample wardrobe space. Would absolutely book this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchBlokeEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 317 in Hamburg
1,387 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 317 in Hamburg
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing