We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Madison Hamburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #3 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This hotel was fantastic. Everyone was extremely friendly, spoke perfect English, and was very helpful. The hotel room itself was amazing...I've never stayed in such a large room. The surround sound system was great, all the SKY HD Movie channels were free, and we felt right at home all 4 nights.

What really made them stand out was after we checked out. I was on the train back to Stuttgart, and realized I'd left my Bose Noise Cancelling Headphones in my room. I called them up, and they said they'd look for it and call back. The next morning they called, said they'd found it, and it'd been shipped back to my house. They saved me a lot of money having to replace it, and went well above & beyond. If I'm ever in Hamburg again, I won't even consider staying at another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear "Bnort",thank you very much for your great feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time in Hamburg. Nice to hear that you received your headphones back. Hope to see you soon again at The MADISON. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    219
    26
    7
    0
See reviews for
142
347
50
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

The madison gives you everything you need when you far away from home. A large room and a large bathroom. the bath accsories are of the best choice.
Yes, if you suffer from the candle like lighting in many hotel rooms, this is the place for you. the room, the bathroom are very well lighted.
THe hotel didn't spare any effort to facilitate your stay, begin with Sony hi end audio system which fill the space with soft music end with the well equipped mini kichen.
the staff are very friendly and efficient. Take it it's a wonderfull hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eitanivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Dear "Eitanivan",
thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities in our room and that you had a great time with us. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel has been my home for many years, my first time must have been somewhere around 1995 and ever since that time whenevr I was in Hamburg I tried to stay here.

From this hotel you can easily walk to the 'Landesbrucken' and enjoy the view over the river Elbe with all the vessel passing by, the ferry services and the passenger boats showing you all the interesting parts from Hamburg from the waterfront.

On the other hand the shopping centre is a 5 minutes walk away only, so this hotel is really central positioned with good rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CockMolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Two of us spent 4 nights recently at the Madison and having nothing but praise for this hotel. Our studio room was more than generous in size, the facilities were great, the staff were helpful and the location was perfect for exploring Hamburg. The in room kitchen facilities were more than adequate for breakfasts.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Stephen G,

thank you so much for your great response which means a lot to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at THE MADISON as well as in Hamburg. Hope to welcome you back again. Best regards
Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

What a fantastic hotel . I am a global business traveller and I have to say the Maddison has everything you need in a hotel. You will not be disappointed with anything in the hotel from helpful receptionists to great people in the bar and the restaurant.

Room Tip: Just ask the reception desk they will guide you through everything you need . There are so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Nick W.,

we are very pleased about your positive feedback - especially about our staff at the reception, bar and restaurant. Thank you very much. Very best regards
Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I don't believe I have ever stayed in a better hotel. The Madison was perfect. I was there for one night to attend a Cirque du Soleil performance. The weekend rate was attractive, reception was efficient, and the room was perfect. Soft music playging when you entered, a cooktop, refirgerator, and totally outstanding furnishings. Not extravagent, but outstanding. The room was quiet and so sparkling clean it looked as if it had been renovated just for me. When I needed a taxi one appeared within 3 minutes when called by the desk - it is an 8 or 9 minute ride (7-9 euro) to the central station. Breakfast was excellent, but a bit too expensive. All in all, a terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear "Mike D",
i am really happy to see your very good review. Thank you very much for your great praise. It is very nice to see that you are so satisfied with our rooms and services. Hopefully we have the possibility to welcome you back at The MADISON soon. Very best regards
Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Three of us shared a twin room and a foldable bed was provided. The room and bathroom were both a very good size, and lots of complementary extras such as a small bottle of wine and snacks were provided, as well as a large TV and iPhone / iPod dock.

The real highlight though was the service, both at the reception desk and in the restaurant (which served great food at surprisingly reasonable prices). All staff were very friendly indeed and went out of their way to help us with local information and specific needs. Would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikemybike2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear "ilikemybike2",

thank you so much for your great response regarding your stay at The MADISON. I appreciate your positive feedback about our friendly staff at the reception and restaurant and i am really happy that you enjoyed your time in Hamburg. Hope to see you soon again at The MADISON.
Best regards
Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing