We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, modern well-designed rooms, quality breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #3 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, modern well-designed rooms, quality breakfast”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and hope to return.
The staff were faultless: always polite, friendly and well-informed.
The rooms are well-designed with good facilities, ample provision of water and other drinks included in the room rate and high quality tea and coffee.
A wide range of options is provided for breakfast.
Most important of all, The Madison has the warmth and personality of a family business rather than a corporate unit.
Overall, it was a good base to ensure everything went smoothly with my various business commitments in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear "SPBray",
thank you very much for your great review and the fantastic praise about THE MADISON. We are very happy that you felt yourself so comfortable and enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much and hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    221
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
149
351
51
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Staff were extremely helpful, room was spacious and comfortable, location was fantastic. Only drawback was that room service is not delivered to the room. We have to collect the food ourselves from the restaurant downstairs. But the food was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear "RCDragon",
thank you very much for your great feedback and the nice praise about our staff and the food. The good news is that we now also deliver the food to the room and offer room service to our guests. Hope to welcome you back soon. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a great hotel in the Portuguese district of Hamburg. Perfect for business trips. Rooms are large and bright. Staff are friendly and are happy to give you suggestions for meals and things to do in your free time.

They could do better with getting a few more English TV channels, but as the hotel has wifi, you could watch what you like on your tablet or laptop so no big deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodgoorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear "Foodgoorou",
thank you very much for your nice review and the good hint with the english TV Channels. I will check with my technical department if we can install some more channels. Nevertheless we are very happy that you felt so comfortable with us and enjoyed your stay. Best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Excellent hotel - that has a unique feel separating it from the usual chains. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the restaurant in the hotel offers good food and breakfast. Reception staff are also always welcoming and polite. Have stayed now many times at this hotel on business trips and never had any reason to complain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikelondon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear "Mikelondon08",
thank you very much for your great feedback based on so many stays at THE MADISON! We are very happy that you always enjoy your time with us and we were able to satisfy you. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We chose this hotel based on reviews on tripadvisor, particularly from reviewers visiting Minatur Wunderland. It was an excellent base for us to meet up with family and friends from Germany, London and Australia. Our family of five stayed in a suite with two bedrooms, very large living/dining room, spacious bathroom and kitchen facilities. Other members of our family had smaller rooms, but all equally well appointed. We had a number of excellent meals in the restaurant and enjoyed drinks in the bar. Staff were helpful and pleasant without exception and the hotel is modern, stylish and welcoming. There was parking adjacent to the hotel, but the hotel is close to many tourist sites and also very close to public transport. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MyFamily512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear "MyFamiliy512",
we are very happy about your fantastic review and the great praise about our staff and location. Thank you very much for staying with us and hopefully we see you soon again. Best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 times in this hotel for my work in the Speicherstadt. The rooms are large and comfortable with big desk and a good sofa. Lodgers were allowed into the spa next to the hotel but only in certain hours weekdays and unrestricted during the weekend. Be aware that the pool allows naked people in and you are expected to be nude to use the hot tubs and the sauna. As non-German I felt a little unease when a family of four came into the hot tub, but when in Rome...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear "Carlos A.",
thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stays with us. We are very happy that you felt yourself so comfortable at the MADISON and are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Sorry for the german nude sauna tradition - but as the Spa does not belong to us, they want to hold on to this tradition. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was one of the best hotels we've stayed in! The reception staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was superb, very spacious with a small kitchenette which we used to make our own breakfast. The room had a large tv and very good stereo system with build in speakers in the bedroom and the bathroom. The hotel is in a very good location in walking distance from the major visitors attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear "Runold",
thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and the great praise. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed all our amenities. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#7 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Pauli
Hotel St. Annen
Hotel St. Annen
#1 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Property: The Madison Hamburg
Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing