We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but ............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #1 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excelent location
Excelent reception
Excelent staff
Excelent brekfast
Excellent restaurant
Fantastic room
Very bad internet connection
What a pity to be not able to say : Perfect
Anyway I Love Hamburg !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peppe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear "Virbonetto",
thank you so much for your nearly perfect review. We always try to be better and i just signed a contract for a new WiFi System coming in August this year. We realized that our current system is not strong enough if 300 guests use two devices at the same time. That`s why we are going to invest into a totally new system. We hope to be totally perfect for you then in September at the latest. Very best regards and a big thank you! Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
There are newer reviews for The Madison Hamburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

The staff was very nice as well as the breakfast. Internet in the lobby was free ( unfortunately not at the room)
I remember that my room was a bit noisy but with a good size. Nevertheless the standards were very good and I would recommend this hotel. Location of the hotel was very good since you can easily access by cab to basically every spot.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank José A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear "Jose O",
we are very happy about your nice review and the good recommendation. I have to say that WiFi is available free of charge in all our public areas as well as in all of our rooms. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Yours Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband booked this hotel, so I had no expectations. I was very impressed with downstairs reception and was very happy when informed we had received free upgrade to Junior Suite. We both walked into the room though and commented simultaneously - he, on the smell of stale beer and me on the smell of cigarettes. He rang Reception to check this was a no - smoking room (room 610); he was reassured it was and it was suggested that people smoke on a balcony and perhaps the smell had entered the room. Mmmh. Anyway person from Reception sent up to spray something and offer us two Lavazza coffee cups?

It does seem churlish to make this complaint but I think it a major flaw. When we went to bed the smell of cigarettes had permeated the pillows and bedding so almost felt like sleeping close to an open ashtray. This is a lovely hotel, but our experience has been spoiled by the apparent selfishness of previous guests. The smell of cigarettes is still with us despite open windows and air conditioner on all night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrJan3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear "DrJan3806",
i am very sorry for the inconveniences caused by the smell of cigarette smoke in your room. We changed all our rooms into non smoking rooms last year and unfortunately some guests do smoke anyhow. We try our best to prevent this issue and to counteract against the smell as good as we can. I hope you were satisfied with our compensation besides the coffee cups at the end of your stay. Nevertheless i want to thank you for your nice words about us and hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent experience that we will like to repeat. All pros and no conts. We enjoyed Hamburg even when was raining all our stay. The service was excellent, very professional and the attention with our daughter great and good facilities. Rooms are big and the price worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear "L M",
thank you very much for your positive review and your great conclusion. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay even it was raining all the time. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Staying here for a two month assignment. Great hotel, great staff, excellent diner and central location. I can see why this hotel is rated highly, it's brilliant. Both English and German widely spoken here and reception staff are knowledgeable and helpful.

Room Tip: Gym is only open between 6am-12 noon which is not good for working people. If you want to go gym in...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear "ShazR",
we are so happy about your great review and your praising words. Thank you so much for staying with us. I will hand over your beneficial comments to my team - what an additional motivation. It is good to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and felt yourself so comfortable. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really nice hotel-large and well laid out rooms. Very clean, many amenities, very comfy beds.. On a quiet street. Easy parking that leads up to the lobby (20 euros a day). The location is very good-close walk to Harbor, Miniature Wonderland, tram station.. The staff was kind and very helpful. The restaurant was quite good-great burgers. The breakfast was good but expensive. I would recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: We had a suite for 4 (not offered online but when I called to book 2 rooms-have 2 teens-they offered...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJBBMOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear "JJBBMOW",
thank you so much for your great recommendation. It is nice to see that you had such a good time in Hamburg and found the perfect base for your visit. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Fresh business hotel, with good facilities. Everything you might need for a business stay. Rooms are big, fresh and comfortable. Restaurant and bar are good. Smooth pick up point for taxis and the staff are very professional and competent. Good place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rune A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madisonhamburg, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear "Rune A",
we are very happy about your nice review and the praise about our staff. Thank you very much for your good valuation and hopefully we see you soon again. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 319 in Hamburg
1,466 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 319 in Hamburg
2,416 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#11 of 319 in Hamburg
729 reviews
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £123 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing