We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it - Location and Service Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Madison Hamburg
Ranked #1 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This Madison has a high-end business look to it but was booked by my beautiful (and generous!) girlfriend for me as a Birthday romantic treat. It was perfect - she had selected a room called the 'Hampton Loft' which was certainly large, and included a small kitchen area for cooking meals if you wanted to eat in. Other facilities in the room included Espresso pod machine / kettle / ipod doc / TV / Hi-Fi tuner with bathroom speakers / safe / Very quiet Aircon / loads of storage areas and wardrobe space / and a brilliant bathroom.
The location of the hotel is about as good as you could get. You can get a train directly from the Airport on the S1 line to Stadthausbrücke and walk South to the hotel (10 mins). For travel around the city on the U-Bahn the closest tube station is Baumwall - just a stones throw away. You can walk directly to attractions such as 'Miniatur Wunderland'.
Breakfast was very good and we also ended up eating 2 evening meal at the hotel restaurant as well. Although Hamburg has loads of restaurants we enjoyed the Madison meal on one occasion so much, we went again.
The service and friendliness is faultless and you get the feeling that they can't do too much for you. We would certainly stay here again. They do have a Spa that we didn't use, partly because it has a 'no bathing suits' whirlpool and sauna, and we didn't fancy sitting next to a naked businessman in the water.
We found out it is expected that you take home the plastic duck in the bathroom, so don't feel too guilty if it ends up in your suitcase!
All in all a great experience and a really welcoming clean & stylish hotel to come back to after a long day doing the Hamburg sites. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete69W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear "Pete69W"
thank you so much for your great and detailed feedback. We are so happy that you had such a wonderful and romantic birthday experience with us and thanks a lot to your girlfriend for choosing the MADISON. We are glad that you were so satisfied with the service and friendliness of our staff and had a pleasant stay! Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pros:
-Good location, easy to find when arriving by car
-Very spacious room
-Nice bar staff at the hotel bar which is open pretty late (otherwise the bar kinda sucks)
-Close to the south-american district of hamburg where you can find nice restaurants and bars
-Pretty close to the docks where you can go with the ferries
-Great WiFi

Cons:
-No personal service really, you will get the 'formula-hotel-feeling'
-Pretty bad breakfast overall, not what you would expect from a hotel with this good reviews
-Very bad conciere service (It was probably just the front desk staff that recommended us where to eat, but anyway, their recommendation was terrible)

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the street just outside the hotel, to the right of the entrance. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear "CEDahl", thank you very much for your review and the Pros & Cons of your stay. I am very sorry that we didn't met your expectations and you had the impression of a formula hotel feeling. Our staff always tries its very best to fulfill all our guests wishes and expectations in their most friendly and personal way. Sorry that you were not satisfied. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very good hotel , 250 meter from the ancient paternoster (still in operation). Not cheap but very good value - I enjoyed 4 nights here and will be back.
next door - and free for hotel guest in the mornings - is one of Hamburgs better sport clubs and spa. There is even washing machines and dryers in the hotel.
The hotel is good - and nothing to complaint about. Can't help commenting. This is managed by a female manager - and I felt I was in a family operated hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room here and you get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Henrik_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear "Henrik_BA",
we are very happy about your kind review and your praising words about the MADISON. Good to see that you felt as in a family operated hotel - that's what we are as we are privately owned. Hope to welcome you back for another great time in Hamburg. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times and it is always a good experience. Staff are good and the hotel is in a good location and is well looked after. Food is nice but expensive, especially the breakfast. Would stay here again without a problem if needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear "Guy M",
we are very happy about your great review and your praising words about our staff and your good experiences with us. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon again. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We needed a place to stop enroute north. In the end the traffic meant we only stayed here for about 9 hours - arriving late and leaving early. Nice place with pleasant staff and clean. Studio room had a small kitchen area and a decent sized bathroom. Good buffet breakfast. Only downside was the price - room cost €173 even though bought 9 months in advance and parking and breakfast added a further €60. If you have the time to spend in Hamburg then stay here, but if you are just passing through then find a place closer to the motorway that's cheaper and easier to reach from the main road.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear "GDM70",
thank you very much for your positive feedback and the nice review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Sorry that it was too short to make use of all our facilities and especially to enjoy Hamburg as well. Hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time. Best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

High quality hotel in a very pleasant city. Great service from very friendly staff, and a very relaxing environment.

Rooms were very spacious and cool (despite very hot outdoor temperatures), and all facilities for modern business travel.

Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank JMR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear "JMR1974",
thank you so much for your great review and the nice recommendation. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a satisfying experience. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very hip and creative hotel! Very very cool decoration and very clean! Loved the food and breakfast though expensive. This hotel has really friendly staff and friendly waiters, extremely professional, the food was delicious, the decor magnificent. I really enjoyed every minute of it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMadisonHotel, General Manager at The Madison Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear "Sammy S",
thank you so much for your great review and your praising words. We are very happy that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back soon again. Very best regards - Thomas Kleinertz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#5 of 321 in Hamburg
2,453 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#6 of 321 in Hamburg
1,495 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
AMERON Hotel Speicherstadt
#10 of 321 in Hamburg
752 reviews
Neustadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Hamburg Michel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Hamburg

Address: Schaarsteinweg 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £126 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madison Hotel Hamburg with its 166 rooms is ideally situated between the Elbphilharmonie, the Speicherstadt and the city, just below the town's emblem - the Michel. From our hotel, you can reach all places of interest on foot and explore Hamburg. We provide excellent transport connections to the highways as well as to the public transport. All of our rooms and suites are at least 35 m² large and offer, amongst other things, a spacious working area with state-of-the-art technology and a large and comfortable bed with a high-quality mattress. A spacious bathroom and a fully equipped kitchenette with refrigerator await you in your air-conditioned room. Our Marleys restaurant presents a wide range of Euro-Asian and international dishes. The breakfast buffet is served from 06:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. and on Sundays even until noon. Directly in the house, there is the 3,500 m² Meridian Spa fitness and wellness oasis. Our guests can use the Meridian Spa until noon free of charge and afterwards after paying a reduced daily price. The spacious thermal bath area and the nice massages with aroma oils promise you peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Madison Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Madison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing