We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good no-frills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Ranked #185 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Good no-frills hotel”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in this hotel and was quite happy. I was in Hamburg on business so the room was more than adequate. I left early in the morning and came back mostly late in the evening. Did not have time to have breakfast in the hotel so I can't comment on this. If I were on vacation, I would have been less satisfied but really, you get what you pay for. As I was on business, I would not have had time to make use of any extra facilities had they been available.

My double room was small. I booked a double room although I was alone as I understand the single rooms are smaller and I wanted more space. Despite its small size, the room had everything you needed. Bathroom had hairdryer, shampoo/soap dispenser and a good sized shower. What I appreciated about the room was that there was an almost full-length mirror and hooks on the wall for your coats. The safe was chargeable but I guess, for the low room price, it is ok.

The room was renovated and most things looked new. Bathroom was definitely new. They could have done a better job with the wallpaper and curtain choice. Room did not look so inviting. I am sure they could have achieved more with the same amount they spent on the renovation.

I would say that this hotel would be suitable for business travellers on a budget and singles and couples on a budget. It is less ideal for families unless the kids are older and would sleep in their own room.

Also the area is not so nice for families. Being near the main train station, you have a different type of crowd. On my first evening, there was some loud singing in the evening. Depends on your luck. In the morning, the garbage men were eager to start working at 6:45. Can't say anything about the noise during the day as I was never in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    159
    121
    28
    27
See reviews for
62
123
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip to Hamburg and was very impressed with its location! A 5 minute walk from Hamburg main train station (including heavy bags!); central to various shops, restaurants and public transport. 10 minute drive to the Reeperbahn Red Light District and close to many other shopping areas.
Staff all spoke very good English and were very helpful. The only downside is the windows are not double glazed and thus you can hear every. single. noise. coming from outside! Good if you are a heavy sleeper but light sleepers beware -
Lots of noise coming from the greet all night long!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no windows if possible to enjoy a good nights sleep with no noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The room was somewhat small and the service and friendliness of staff was varied. The night porter was exceptional in the assistance he gave when we arrived late and one of us was sick.The breakfast was of a good standard with a good choice of food. The location of the hotel close to the train station made an early departure by train easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay here with my partner. We were on the 2nd floor. Room was a good size.Staff very helpful. And breakfast was ok - just what you expect from a buffet bed and breakfast! Only downfall was how noisy it can be because of the train station being so close. With the windows closed it wasnt too bad but when they were open it was hard to sleep! The wifi wasnt great either could only access it in the reception but other then that very happy with the hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. The room was small but nice. It is only a short walk (5 mins) from the Hauptbahnhof. The bathroom had a heated towel rail which helped dry clothes. The wifi was really fast. Overall, for the price I thought it was very good.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Umvoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I would definitely recommend Eleazar Novum Hotel. Great location, on a street opposite the central station. We were up on the 4th floor in a decent sized room. It was really quiet - we didn't hear any noise from the street outside. The room and bathroom were spotless and the shower was good and poweful.

Breakfast was great - lots of choice, from meat, cheese, eggs, toast, fruit, yoghurts etc etc. Staff were all friendly.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We were up on the 4th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torino
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

i understand the eleazar can't be blamed for that, but every night there were something goin on on the street below with noises and people shouting, making sleep impossible. otherwise average hotel with average services offered. room small but ok. fan available but no mini bar. quite close to central station.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hamburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Kronprinz Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center

Property: Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Address: Bremer Reihe 12-14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Eleazar is a modern hotel, was quiet in a side street, in the Bremer Reihe not far from Hamburg Central Station, area.The entire house is completely renovated and refurbished. After a busy day, we recommend a few hours in our sauna and the adjacent relaxation area. The Museum of Arts and Crafts, the Ohnsorg theater and cinema tradition in St. George can be reached in just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel you have a variety of venues and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleazar Novum Hotel
Eleazar Novum Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing