We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
Ranked #189 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is 'just an ok hotel' to sleap and have a very nice breakfast. Don't expect anything else. If you want to visit Hamburg and think a hotel is not so important, this is a very good choice, it is clean, 2 minutes away from Hamburg Hbf and cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review on.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Hamburg.
We would be glad to welcome you again in one of our Novum Hotels.

Faithfully Yours

Eleazar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a small room through booking.com very cheap(35€ a night b&b)with a queen bed.location is in s.george next to the station which is not the best place because of prostitutes and drank people on the road,but it s quite safe and very practical because of trains and metro just 50m away.the room at 5th floor was really small but clean and new.the bathroom is with a big shower,warm,with hair dryer and a window.the only noise we heard they didn't t come from the street but from the corridor and the other rooms.the flat tv is mini,really.there is a wardrobe and a small table but no place to move around.the great problem was the bed.it s fine that it s 1.40 m and for two people is hard to sleep anyway but the great no go was the mattress :unbelievable hard that I couldn't sleep well and had backache .you have just one small pillow and if you are in need to watch tv (it rained a lot..) you lie totally uncomfortable .it s a hotel for travellers on low budget or business men that come back just to sleep a few hours,define tell not for more then 3 days.we slept 2 and honestly I was happy to leave.and that because of the bed.the breakfast is great:a huge choise of ham,cheese,jams.it tasted wonderful and the staff was really friendly and quick .i recommend it for the price but I m not sure if those uncomfortable beds are everywhere or just in this mini room.there is not properly a lounge:take it if you plan to stay out all day(like we did but unfortunately was hardly raining and we had to spend more time in the room).they have a garage for €12 a night which is highly recommend it because of the people running around.consider that in your badget.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zyrylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Boudewijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is the 3rd time using this hotel but the last time we were disappointed with the room offered as it was at the back of the hotel and the double bed was a large single with one side against the wall. The hotel only offered us an upgrade which we had to pay for.Make sure you are getting what you want before booking. Otherwise this is for the money a super hotel and the breakfast is brilliant.Check out the COTTON CLUB if you like jazz its great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ted c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel in December 2013. Having read the other reviews I was unsure what to expect. My expectations were far exceeded. The hotel is right opposite the train station, about 100m into St Georg. Very easy to find. The location is good as the proximity to the station means travel to any location in the city is easy, even for a very poor German speaker like myself.

When I stayed at the hotel, it was very full with lots of families and retired people. The breakfast was very acceptable given it was included in the price.

I was in a single room on the 5th floor, in the new part of the hotel. The room was adequately sized and spotlessly clean. The bath room was small but well decorated and also very clean. The room had a flat screen tv and comfortable bed. My room was opposite the lift the other reviews mention, but I could hardly hear anything.

The staff all spoke English and ranged from mostly helpful to extremely helpful.

It is true that round the corner at Steindamm the area is pretty grubby and there are working girls, but if you stay in this hotel you dont have to go down there. I only went there looking for a mobile phone shop. The hotel can be easily used as a base only, which is what I did. Even closer than Steindamm are decent restaurants etc.

In my opinion, this hotel is perfect for those wanting to stay somewhere that does not cost the earth and have reasonable expectations.

Overall very satisfied for the price and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jd_bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

stayed here for 3 nights last month, hotel is beside central station which was very good. freindly staff and very clean, good breakfeast for free, area was,nt great but safe and quiet anyway, would stay again if in hamburg,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnkavanagh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is about 100 metres from the central rail station in Hamburg and thus provides a nice easy and cheap route from the airport rather than paying taxi fare. 1.95 euros each, a bargain compared to what I usually pay! Hamburg is a really nice city. The part that the hotel is in is not the most pretty, it's close top the railway station and no matter where you go in the world that usually means it attracts a few beggars and working ladies. Having said that there was no real noise outside and I did not feel threatened once and I think generally Hamburg is a very safe place to be. The room was small, the shower room/ WC very small and the lift even smaller. It was spotlessly clean however and well maintained. Breakfast was good, 95% continental but with scrambled eggs every day (plain or with ham). Staff were very helpful - if you want to find somewhere they'll give you a map and mark on where you need to go (i.e. rail station). The location (nightlife aside) was good, about half a mile to the Rathaus and the other Christmas markets, good shops bars and cafes. A good trip and on balance the shortcomings of the hotel and area are evened out by the accessible distance from the attractions.

Room Tip: Get a room above the "comfort" level; I'm sure that will be much bigger
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluntyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Graf Moltke Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Norddeutscher Hof Hamburg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Continental Hamburg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terminus Hamburg
#128 of 319 in Hamburg
130 reviews
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Alster Hamburg St. Georg
St. Georg
Novum Hotel Hamburg Stadtzentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center

Address: Bremer Reihe 12-14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: £60 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Eleazar is a modern hotel, was quiet in a side street, in the Bremer Reihe not far from Hamburg Central Station, area.The entire house is completely renovated and refurbished. After a busy day, we recommend a few hours in our sauna and the adjacent relaxation area. The Museum of Arts and Crafts, the Ohnsorg theater and cinema tradition in St. George can be reached in just a few minutes' walk from the hotel. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel you have a variety of venues and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Eleazar Hamburg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleazar Novum Hotel
Eleazar Novum Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing