We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet charming hotel close to city and Alster”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #167 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Ceret, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Quiet charming hotel close to city and Alster”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a small double room on my own, for the price of a single room, situated on the high ground floor (hohes Erdgeschoss) with small terrace over the garden very quiet and cool, during my stay it was very hot and sunny in Hamburg, the hotel is very well situated in a quiet street in the beautiful Alster district, easy walk to te shops and restaurants

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siulenroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
15
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on my own, in a single room. and the room really was a single. It was minute. I had difficulty working (on my knee on my bed!). Oddly staff were unable to equip me with any hangers for my clothes either. The hotel is quite a walk from the main areas of Hamburg but in a pretty, safe area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and I really enjoyed my stay. I had a room on the ground floor and it was very quiet- I didn't even hear my other neighbours. The area of the hotel is near a canal and is within walking distance to a U-bahn station and several bus lines. I could walk to/from the hauptbahnhof in 20-25 minutes.

The staff speak english, one member of staff spoke particularly good english. They were always helpful and efficient. I don't generally stay in chain hotels- I like places like this because they have character and other guests/staff have time to chat with you about their life and adventures and so I don't miss the trappings of the bigger hotel chains. The room was quiet and comfortable, the staff were friendly and wanted you to enjoy your stay in their city and the breakfast was nice (including boiled eggs) and I found everything that I needed. WIFI is available for a modest charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Hotel location very good,nearby shoping road,good for tourist who want to spend some houers after buisness/tours.Many restarants nearby,on main road,no problem to get taxi any hour,staf do not speak english,the building is an old building so room size are big,but...room carpet is very durty and give very bad filing ,even if the room is cleaned every day.simply disgusing!!!.nearby are many other hotels.
We booked via e-long,and there was revew from this site which were not real revew but mor "orderd revew".
Advise: do not book this hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yosi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2006

The hotel advertises itself a a ' little taste of England in the heart of Hamburg'- certainly the owners are charming and helpful English people but the room we were in had a distinct 'colonial' feel with rattan furniture and bamboo 4 poster beds- so not sure if this is the type of England we would want, having been a citizen from a previous British colony ourselves! The room we were in was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was the most basic of the 5 small hotels/guesthouses we stayed in during our 10 day tour of Germany, the breakfast had little choice. Perhaps a good hearty English breakfast might have made the hotel's description of a little taste of England more accurate! This is a B & B rather than a hotel. However for the price and centrality, it is probably suitable for most people. There are rooms on the ground floor- useful for people with mobility access but then do ask for a shower cubicle or you would still need to climb into a bath!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScottishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 December 2002

Very friendly family-run hotel close to the east bank of the Outer Alster. Rooms vary in size and decor, but very tasteful and comfortable nonetheless. Super breakfast buffet, but no ham and eggs due to peculiar German regulations. Public transport connections ideal for exploring the whole of Hamburg. Tip: ask the proprietor (he serves breakfast for you!) for special information about how to get where.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2002

Stayed at this hotel on my lasy visit to Hamburg.

It is somewhat small as are the rooms. My room only had a shower and no bath (I prefer to have both). The breakfasts are limited in range.

The location is not too bad being close to the outer Alster and a bus stop within a few minutes walk.

It is a art nouveau style building which is quite nice and a bit different to the modern, could be anywhere, type of hotel.

Overall a little too small and basic for my tastes but I'm sure those who like this type of accommodation would be quite happy here.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hotel Mare
#176 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Hotel Alsterblick
Hotel Alsterblick
#149 of 318 in Hamburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Uhlenhorst
Eilenau Hotel
Eilenau Hotel
#87 of 318 in Hamburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
relexa hotel Bellevue
relexa hotel Bellevue
#94 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
St. Georg
Junges Hotel Hamburg
Junges Hotel Hamburg
#90 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Rotherbaum
Vorbach Hotel
Vorbach Hotel
#93 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: Armgartstr. 20, 22087 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing