We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with only one big fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg
Ranked #32 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The overall feel of the hotel was great. Everything was clean and modern, the staff was helpful and professional and the breakfast buffet was great. The only big flaw was that that the Wi-Fi in our room was so terrible that we had to go to the lobby to use the internet, something that should not be a problem on this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Hans Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words! It’s a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are terribly sorry that you experienced challenges with the internet throughout your stay and would like to inform you that we have forwarded your feedback to our technical department for them to review.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay better.

Best regards from sunny Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

For the location this hotel is ideal. It's clean and the rooms are lovely. It's actually a very nice hotel but be prepared to be charged well over the odds. The Radisson is next to the conference centre so they milk you for every penny they can get out if you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. We are glad that you enjoyed our central located and comfortable rooms.

We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Best regards from Sunny Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is centrally located, close to underground and railway station. Our room was comfortable, the beds very cosy. The service is competent, particularly check-in and check-out were flexible and forthcoming. Breakfast choice was very good. Ideal for business trips and city visits. We enjoyed the view from the 27th floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your TERRIFIC five star review! It’s a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our centrally located hotel, the view from the 27th floor and our varied breakfast buffet in filini restaurant. We are glad that you appreciated our comfortable and cozy beds and that our staff left you with a positive impression.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Best regards from sunny Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located next to a nice Botanical garden and within 15 mins walk to the city center. It has nice breakfast, nice crowded bar and friendly staff.

The bathroom has a window that is shared with the bedroom which is realky weird and uncomfortable.Also the bathroom door does not have a lock and it is icy glass. So if you are sharing the room with another person, you better be careful when you are in the toilet. Especially at night, even though bathroom window has a curtain you can close, the light of the bathroom makes the whole room like daylight. This bathroom,as a whole, is realky a bad design and makes you feel very uncomfortable.

In addition to these, every morning there is furniture movement noises coming from the room above. It is like when you do cleaning or repair in the room. The problem is it starts at 8:30am which wakes you up if you are staying for leisure.

In general we enjoyed the hotel but this room and bathroom makes it a problem in your life. This needs to be rated somewhere between 3 and 4 out of a 5 scale.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. It’s a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our central location and close proximity to the botanical garden.

We are deeply sorry that you did not feel comfortable in your room. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we always do our utmost to offer our guests an alternative whenever possible.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we can be your perfect host in Hamburg. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay better.

Best regards from sunny Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel has fantastic views across the whole of Hamburg from the upper floor. The breakfast is great - everything you could want from hot food to fruit and the beds are very comfortable. It is next to a lovely park the Planten Blumen which is a lovely walk.

The room however lacks anywhere to store your clothes, other than the wardrobe. Our room had 'business class' on the door, so wether this was because it was just intended for overnight business guests I don't know
but there were no drawers so we had to live out of a suitacase. The mirror on the wall above the desk/dressing table was just too high, obviously intended for 6ft 2 inch men and not ladies. All I could see was the top of my head. No good for doing hair or makeup.

The bathrooms fitting and shower are nice but are ridiculous in that they have a window inbetween the bathroom and the bedroom. Why?? stupid idea, who wants to see the person they are sharing with, sat on the toilet?. The bathroom door is also frosted glass so you can't see directly in but you can see the person moving around in there. There is a blind that you can pull down but if anyone uses the bathroom in the night - the light floods through the blind into the bedroom and wakes the other person. Do not book a room here unless you are VERY close to the person you are sharing with - or you are alone.

There is a coffee machine but see if you can find where they hide the coffee (I won't spoil the fun). We had to have a maid show us. Having said that we then couldn't operate the coffee machine - the lights were on, but no coffee came out, so we couldn't have a coffee. And both of us and the german friends we were visiting tried to operate it and failed so it wasn't just us.

And finally, talking of maids we got fed up with staff who would just knock once and then walk in. We didn't even had enough time to get to the door!. We had a maid walk in asking to check our mini bar, then a women asking if our room needed cleaning, (it had been done already) then another woman asking if our room was clean enough. We could have been standing there getting dressed! we felt it was very rude of them. By the second day we had also had two people knocking on the door - this time they didn't walk in, but they had a basket on their arm, said something in german and then english, we still couldn't tell what they wanted. They then gave us two biscuits and walked away. (odd). By the second day we had had enough of sharing our room with the hotel staff and put the do not disturb sign on the door!.

We wouldn't stay there again for these reasons.

Room Tip: High up to avoid noise from train station next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Abts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you so much for having chosen to stay with us during your trip to Hamburg. We appreciate your detailed review, which will be carefully reviewed by our executive team in order to improve our services for our valued guests. We are deeply sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay and would like to stress that your experience unfortunately does not reflect our normal standard.

We regret that you were not completely satisfied with your room, in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly, as we always do our utmost to offer our guests an alternative whenever possible. Your feedback regarding the housekeeping personnel has been forwarded to our housekeeping manager, so that this will not become an issue for future guests.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we can be your perfect host in Hamburg and convince you of our “Yes I Can!” service philosophy.

Best regards,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very close to Congress Center Hamburg and also in walking distance to the center. Tall building, ask for a room at the Top, viewing the Alster. Check in not to fast and in a dark corner of the entrance. Room ok, improvement in the bathroom (no separate shower), Toilet for lang people not comfortable. Room has no carpet (I like), Internet free in my rate. Breakfast could be better; good service at the bar but very crowdy because of two conferences in the Hotel. Look to my Hamburg reviews the other places are better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. We are deeply sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We have forwarded your feedback to our executive team for them to review.

We hope that you will give us a second chance for us to prove that we can be your perfect host in Hamburg. Please do not hesitate to contact us, if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay better.

Best regards from sunny Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The rooms are comfortable, quiet and beautiful, and offer great views of the city. It is right next to the Park Planten and Blomen, where you can rest, relax, grab and ice cream, and watch the locals. Easy walk to restaurants and to the city center. There is a fairly nice workout facility for guest use. The location, next to Damtor station, made it convenient to get places. Free wifi worked very well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doglover5856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your terrific review! It is a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our central location suited your needs while visiting Hamburg. We are glad that you had a chance to enjoy our beautiful surroundings, Planten un Blomen is definitely worth a visit!

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better. We look forward to welcoming you again soon in our magnifiscent city.

All the best,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#18 of 321 in Hamburg
1,645 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 321 in Hamburg
2,278 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 321 in Hamburg
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Empire Riverside Hotel
#24 of 321 in Hamburg
1,268 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg

Address: Marseiller Strasse 2, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £93 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center next to the “Planten un Blomen” park you find the Radisson Blu Hotel. Hamburg's biggest and tallest hotel is now, after renovation, also the newest one. Lake Alster, the shopping district and many cultural attractions are within walking distance. The Radisson Blu Hotel offers 556 rooms in 3 different styles: “Natural”, “Urban” and “New York Mansion”. The hotel’s conference area of 2,122 m² offers a multi-functional area for events up to 1000 people. The direct access to the Congress Center Hamburg, CCH, grants additional flexibility if extra space is required. For exclusive events Hamburg´s highest event location “High End” is the place to be: Situated on the 26th and 27th floor breathtaking view over the city is included! The Health & Spa invites guests to workout and relax and two restaurants & bars promise culinary highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Radisson Hamburg
Hamburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing