We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific in General, Terrible at Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg
Ranked #29 of 323 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The first apparent advantage of the hotel is its location being a easy walking distance from the Dammtor Station (a pity that it's not the Hauptbahnhof that's near it; if only the hotel can provide shuttle buses to the airport. That would make it even more convenient for many of us) and eye-catching height - the tallest in Hamburg (never more worry of getting lost!). As the reception can only be reached by (after going up a small hill), it was nigh impossible for us to handle the escalator that followed soon after with our regrettably enormous bags. Fortunately, the doorman was exceptionally friendly and helped us to carry the biggest bag without hesitation; he even walked away before asking for a tip which he obviously deserved to get.
However, the friendliness and welcome of the hotel seemed to (almost) stop at its door, for our experiences at the reception are without exaggeration, unforgivable. When we asked for free upgrade with our Club Carlson Silver Card, the man at the reception, L. Neumann (so beware everything he tells you if you're going to stay in this hotel, ESPECIALLY if you’re a Club Carlson member); I would have refrained from revealing his lack of morals online if not for another incident which I will soon relate), informed us that 'only Gold Card holders can get free upgrade in THIS hotel'. But how is such a ridiculous 'special rule' possible when the website of Club Carlson ITSELF clearly stated that holders of Silver, Gold, and Concierge can all ask for free upgrade? When we politely doubted the truthfulness in his statement, Mr. Neumann continued his childish game of us being ignorant fools and he being an all-mighty deceiver and told us cleverly that he was but ‘following orders from the managers’. Now why would the hotel managers make that rule? To ruin Radisson Blu’s reputation by themselves? Somehow I doubt that. Therefore we tried to protect our interests without bringing trouble for anyone by patiently reasoning with Mr. Neumann. His next tactic was to inform us that there were no Business Class Rooms left for us. Again, how can such a thing be true when we only checked in the same morning that there were dozens available? Now the displeasure of our front desk experience was getting truly intolerable but us being reasonable people, reasoned with Mr. Neumann for another ten minutes before he finally told us that there was but ONE Business Class Room available – and it was a Smoking Room. I am genuinely confused… Is a Smoking Room not a room? What was Mr. Neumann playing at when he denied that there were rooms available? All the same, we thanked him and smilingly accepted the Smoking Room (at 25th Floor) which we soon found had a spectacular view of a park; but not even a heavenly view can compensate for the disgusting odour of smoke in the room and deliberate insincerity of Mr. Neumann at the reception. Trying to find out what was actually going on, we rang up the room service manager, Sven. The friendly and sincere hotel manager turned out to be the exact opposite of the employees at front desk, for he attentively promised to investigate the matter and find a non-smoking Business Class Room for us as swiftly as possible – but not before assuring us of the world-wide benefit of being a Silver Card holder. So obviously, Mr. Neumann was spitting out downright and deliberate lies when he informed us otherwise. The reason for that was beyond us. Nonetheless, Sven got back to us in five minutes as promised and informed us that there was indeed a room available though we needed to wait until it was cleaned. We thanked him and gladly waited, and within half an hour we moved to the new room at 27th floor with someone to help with our luggage. Our new room was at the tallest spot in Hamburg and held a breathtaking view of the city. The room was impeccable: spacious, fresh-aired, bright, and clean, though admittedly, the size of the bathroom could have been more generous.
The hostility of the reception despite the friendliness of Manager Sven, did not cease, however. When we prepared to go outside in the afternoon, we asked for a map at the reception. The female that helped us happened to be conversing with Mr. Neumann moments earlier; we, of course, did not take that into consideration. However, the coldness of the female startled us when she merely threw us a map and stood there waiting for us to leave, for in any other Radisson Blu hotel or even Park Inn, the person at reception would mark the location of the hotel on the map and even point out the main streets for us. She only reluctantly pointed out the hotel and the main streets on the map when we asked her to do so. Before leaving, we asked her to tell us the rough direction of the city centre so we would know where to turn once we stepped out of the hotel, and she pointed for us though the direction seemed to be somewhat off. When we, feeling suspicious for some reason, asked several locals on the streets, we found that the city centre was at the OPPOSITE direction of where she pointed for us to go! Humph. The female colleague of Mr. Neumann must not know her home town as well as the tourists.
Truly, I have trouble understanding the hostility and untruthfulness of the hotel reception! Hotels are supposed to WELCOME guests, not DECEIVE them, right?

Room Tip: 1) When asking for upgrade, stick to your belief. 2) Choose rooms on higher floors if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seraphina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. We are glad that you took the time to share your experience with us online, so that we can continuously work on improving our services for our valued guests.

Secondly, we would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team for the inconvenience you experienced upon check-in. Please be aware that your experience does not reflect our service standards; furthermore, we are glad that Sven could assist in finding you a non-smoking business class room without further ado and that issue could be solved immediately.

We sincerely hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we can be your perfect host in Hamburg. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can do to ensure that your next stay with us will be flawless.

Best regards from sunny Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent hotel in a great location right next to the gardens where they had a light show on display at night. Stayed here for 1 night on business and also very handy right next to the train station. The hotel has a nice bar where you can sit inside or outside. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pollok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your five star review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and close proximity to the Botanical Garden, Planten un Blomen.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Best regards,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Radisson Blu Hamburg is conveniently located next to the Hamburg Dammtour train station. We had an excellent stay. Our room had wonderful views of Lake Alster. Our bathroom was small but nice. We had an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant. The hotel only offers a buffet breakfast option, which at 26 euro was a bit on the expensive side. We found the service to be generally good, although this hotel has a front desk with a configuration that makes it difficult to queue. As a result, when we were checking in and checking out, people were lining up at in front of different front desk staff members in a very haphazard way, which means that some had a very short wait, while others had a wait that was longer than it should have been. The hotel Internet was free, fast and reliable. We would certainly stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Best regards,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The service I received from the front desk was very good, but suffered with the rest of the break. The days we where there were very warm, but the air-conditioning was non-existent throughout our stay, the only relief being a small window.

Rooms were clean and tidy, but room service was slow. the breakfast buffet was ok, but they never had a good selection of fresh fruit which one would expect.

due to the warm weather I went on the terrace adjacent to the breakfast room to relax on their sofa/type chairs. Where I sat I had to move the table out in order to get my feet in because it had a solid base, imagine my horror when I discovered underneath old pieces of cartons and cigarette ends.The story was the same on most of the tables and I found it unbelievable that it wasnt swept daily !!!!. The next day I went out there they hadn't even bothered to put out any cushions or back rests,extraordinary.

Room Tip: wifi only worked in foyer, not offered in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. We are truly sorry for the challenges you faced during your stay. Please be advised that your experience does not match our service standards and we have forwarded your comments to the appropriate departments for them to review, so that this will not become an issue for future guests. We always strive for 100% Guest Satisfaction, which we clearly did not achieve in your case; therefore, we sincerely hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we can be your perfect host in Hamburg. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay better.

Best regards,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel could not be more conveniently located. Easy access to train station, city center, and gorgeous park. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, comfy, and well-appointed. The breakfast was out of this world. It had everything you would expect, and then double it! Amazing! Would certainly return if occasion arises.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Twinkiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. Wow! What a great compliment- best breakfast buffet in Germany! It’s a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Yours sincerely,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel has 27 floors and is the highest hotel in Hamburg. Myself and my wife stayed here and found it very easy to get to the tourist attractions from it. The ground floor has the reception desks,were staff are quick,efficient and helpful. There is a bar were you can drink inside or outdoors, and an Italian restaurant. We only ate here once, a pizza each but weren't overly impressed!
However, our room on the 15th floor was very nice. A view of Hamburg and the lakes, and a railway station. It had large,comfortable twin beds, a kettle, a desk, a flat screen TV, a fridge and wardrobes. In addition a toilet and shower room, for which the blinds are essential:-)
Wi-fi was good everywhere except for outside the bar.
All in all a very nice hotel and I don't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher up and facing the lakes for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cragster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review and for having chosen to stay with us while visiting Hamburg. It’s a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Best regards from Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently stayed here for over a month so I can say with authority that this is a very fine hotel in a good location in Hamburg. While it does take you a little bit of time to get to some of the sights, the hotel boasts amenities and a decent restaurant downstairs, meaning that you do not have to venture out if you are there on business. The breakfast had good variety and depth, however sometimes the service was a bit slow in responding to requests.

The rooms are of a very good standard, though some of them might need updating soon. If you can manage it, the "business class" rooms boast a good espresso maker and a few more little amenities.

The higher floors (especially the top floor, which you have to reach through some stairs) have a very poor wi-fi connection, so avoid those.

Overall, a very nice, functional property that I would return to, though probably not on a family/couples holiday.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors, bad wi-fi connection and avoid the hotel during the convention season, where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZZCLSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radisson_HH, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. It’s a great pleasure to hear that our central location suited your needs while visiting Hamburg. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our modern rooms, as well as Italian Restaurant left you with a positive impression.

We have forwarded your feedback regarding the WIFI to our technical team for them to review, so that this will not become an issue for future guest.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.

Best regards from Hamburg,
Your Radisson Blu Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 323 in Hamburg
2,353 reviews
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
#17 of 323 in Hamburg
1,741 reviews
Empire Riverside Hotel
#27 of 323 in Hamburg
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 323 in Hamburg
1,553 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#31 of 323 in Hamburg
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg

Address: Marseiller Strasse 2, 20355 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#13 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £99 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center next to the “Planten un Blomen” park you find the Radisson Blu Hotel. Hamburg's biggest and tallest hotel is now, after renovation, also the newest one. Lake Alster, the shopping district and many cultural attractions are within walking distance. The Radisson Blu Hotel offers 556 rooms in 3 different styles: “Natural”, “Urban” and “New York Mansion”. The hotel’s conference area of 2,122 m² offers a multi-functional area for events up to 1000 people. The direct access to the Congress Center Hamburg, CCH, grants additional flexibility if extra space is required. For exclusive events Hamburg´s highest event location “High End” is the place to be: Situated on the 26th and 27th floor breathtaking view over the city is included! The Health & Spa invites guests to workout and relax and two restaurants & bars promise culinary highlights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Radisson Hamburg
Hamburg Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing