We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #42 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

a modern, stylish hotel with large spacious rooms, perfect and friendly service. Great experience!

the hotel rooms have large bathrooms and a desk which really invites to work. The beds are quite comfortable. However, no idea why there is no free internet access.

The hotel is downtown close to the Hamburger Michel.

Outstanding is the breakfast buffet with an incredible choice of fresh juices.

I will definitely come back when I stay for night in Hamburg next time

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Oliver,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated. We thank you for your information, that we should provide more modern business solutions. We can understand your irritation about our internet access, unfortunately, we are bound by contract and can not offer at this time Wi-Fi free of charge. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Yours sincerely,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    857
    284
    78
    25
See reviews for
288
841
95
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We have just returned from a great trip to Hamburg for the Christmas Market. We used the Steigenberger as our base and we were very impressed. We have a 7 year old son and so wanted a room with enough room to have his bed with us - the room had loads of space even with a single fold up bed in it for him. The staff were incredibly helpful and were happy to speak English when my school boy German failed. The breakfast is very good with a lot of choice. On Saturday after a lot of walking we came back to the hotel for tea and cakes - very indulgent but very resonable cost.

Room Tip: We had a standard room booked through Expedia at a special rate which made no difference to the serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear John B,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next stay in Hamburg.

Yours sincerely
Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We went on a business trip to Hamburg and stayed for one night. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, very convenient for shopping. The rooms are quite big compared to typical hotels in the city and they are very comfortable. There is lots of room to work and to relax. The breakfast was great. The choice of juices was amazing. The service was ok, not the fastest although the restaurant was not very busy at the time we went to breakfast. The staff at the front desk was also very helpful. Unfortunately, we had no time to use the spa or the restaurant but they both looked very promising. The car park is rather tiny, meaning the parking spaces are tough to get in and out, but that is typical for parking garages in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Mary0128,

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel and hopefully you have time to use the spa and the restaurants..

Yours sincerely,
Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Steigenberger is a very nice hotel to step into, though the lobby at times got very busy. The floors with the rooms were quiet and the rooms were nice and spacious.
Breakfast is superb, but also comes at a high cost if it is not included (24 EUR from memory).
Overall a nice stay, nice food for breakfast and dinner.

The SERVICE level in the breakfast restaurant could be hugely improved. They were not very attentive, or very good at remembering your order (eg something as simple as tea / coffeee).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FlowerPetalBlooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear FlowerPetalBlooming,

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very sorry that the service in our breakfast restaurant did not meet the level of expectation you had and we assure you that this will not happen again. We would be glad to welcome you again at the STEIGENBERGER HOTEL HAMBURG.

Yours sincerely,
Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Nice, friendly, city hotel. Not super de-luxe but comfortable and in a wonderful location. piano bar staff were really friendly. We stayed five nights last week. Will go back when next in Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Chulodave,

Thank you for your nice review. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I booked this hotel due to it's closeness to the shops, transport, etc, but I forgot to consider that my stay was during a public holiday long weekend and all the shops were closed and not many cafes were open until 10am.
I got a room with a very nice view. Very roomy compared to other 4-5 stars in Germany. Location of the hotel is right in between two stations (of different lines) each approx 100m from the hotel. Restaurants around the hotel were well priced and served good food.
Only approx 200m from Neuer Wall where all the shops are.
The only inconvenience is I couldn't find a convenience store near the hotel, and the only Deutscherbank that has an ATM that allows withdrawal at weekends is near Jungfernstieg, nearly 1km away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Oztraveller65,

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated.

We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,

Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst attending a regional meeting a tour office in the CBD. It is absolutely perfectly situated for access to any of the large corporate headquarters within the CBD.

The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The food is much as one might expect in a large business hotel, plentiful, well presented but perhaps lacking some imagination. The notable exception is the breakfast where one would be very hard pressed to ask for anything that is not already available in abundance.

The common areas are exceptionally clean, well maintained and safe, the design being airy and cheerful.

The rooms are larger than average, well equipped and all of the furnishings are of a uniformly high standard. One curious, these days at least, feature is that the showers are the old type within the tub, rather than a simple walk in type, and hence are a little cramped. However, the bathroom is spacious, the towels and linens clean, fresh and of high quality. The room is quiet and conducive to work, the wi fi genuine fast broadband.

The spa / gym is small but functional.

My one question is why there are no simple tea / coffee facilities in such a large room, when all sorts of other simple amenities are there, such as an iron, hairdryer etc?

Overall a very nice place to say, where the staff are bright, smart and helpful, and where you will feel welcome, safe and connected. In terms of value for money, for the class and location, very good indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, slightly less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Viscount 57,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are happy to inform you, that we will equip 80 rooms by the end of this year with coffee- and tea makers.


We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the STEIGENBERGER HOTEL HAMBURG.

Yours sincerely,

Karl Schlichting
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#55 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing