We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #43 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have been staying there several times and I still recommend this particular hotel. May be a bit complicated to find, but your navi should get you there instantly. You are taken care of a professional hotel staff, offering you a very clean room with all facilities you need for good nights sleep. We enjoyed our dinner at Bistro am Fleet and my friend bought even 12 bottles of their excellent Württemberg red wine. May be some local or regional dishes should be added on the menu list.The breakfast was excellent and in line with their service. I have never been disppointed when staying at the Steigenberger in Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Stuart G,

Thank you very much for for posting a review of your last stay with us. We are really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your valuable feedback is extremely important to us and we will discuss your menu list comments with our chef. We look forward to welcoming you and your friend back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    894
    312
    81
    30
See reviews for
302
890
98
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was staying here on a business trip and must say it was a wonderful hotel. The room was huge, loved the bathroom it was pretty special, and the fact that when you turned on the TV there were speakers everywhere so you didn't miss a thing. Also I will need to say that the breakfast and choices you got was outstanding, would come back just for the breakfast. Also walking distance to lovely shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Hege_71,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg and thank you for sharing your comments. We are indeed centrally located close to one of Hamburg´s most famous shopping malls, called “Neuer Wall. We are very pleased that you recognised the high level of breakfast and it is a pleasure for us to hear that you would come back just for the breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have been staying there several times and I still recommend this particular hotel. May be a bit complicated to find, but your navi should get you there instantly. You are taken care of a professional hotel staff, offering you a very clean room with all facilities you need for good nights sleep. We enjoyed our dinner at Bistro am Fleet and my friend bought even 12 bottles of their excellent Württemberg red wine. May be some local or regional dishes should be added on the menu list.The breakfast was excellent and in line with their service. I have never been disppointed when staying at the Steigenberger in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Staying high up in the building will always keep you away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear GUMOslo,

Thank you for your feedback on the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us! As valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us and we will discuss your menu list comments with our chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as i was in town for a family celebration. I was very disappointed with the room - the decor was hideous. Dated wood, curtains that can only be termed offensive, and ghastly black / multi striped carpet. (As a comparison, I have previously stayed at the Park Hyatt in Hamburg where the rooms are well designed and contemporary). the toiletries in the bathroom are cheap and nasty, and the staff at the front desk are too self important. I feel like the Steigenberger likes to think it is a 5 star hotel, but i beg to differ.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MissMarpleTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear MissMarpleTheCat,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg is a classified 5 star hotel and we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Room pictures and descriptions are mentioned on the website. However if you are not happy with the room given to you, there is always the possibility to ask receptionist for the alternatives including room upgrade as we operate with different room types. Please accept our apologies regarding your experience with our font desk staff, we take your complaint very seriously and will discuss this matter with our front desk staff and we will intensify our training efforts.

Kind regards,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed at the Steigenberger for 5 nights in October. The location is perfect - near the harbour, Rathaus, Neuer Wall and the central shopping area. The S-Bahn and U-Bahn only a few minutes walk away and taxis always waiting outside the entrance. Standard room was spacious with a good bed, a large working desk and good wi-fi connection. Did though miss not having tea and coffee making equipment in the room. Most relevant TV-channels present except perhaps the BBC. Various types of massage available and good fitness facilities. Would also like to recommend the in hotel restaurant for good courses at a reasonable price, but the biggest asset of the first floor in my opinion was the piano bar which offered great relaxation and good service. All services were first class and in line with what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. The air conditioning was perhaps a little bit noisy so I preferred to use the windows to control the temperature and the air quality in the room. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel for city travellers, perhaps with the exception of families with small children.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Engilbert,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our high standards of service and in particular towards our restaurant and the Piano Bar, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Indeed not all of our rooms are equipped with a coffee/tea machine. When making your reservation for your next visit we suggest you to ask for a room with a coffee machine to avoid any disappointment. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Fantastic location for all the major tourist attractions and top shopping places. Lovely size room with almost all we could have wanted (tea and coffee making facilities would have been a great bonus ). Very friendly helpful staff. All in all a great hotel. Slight downside, the room was a bit on the hot side for sleeping comfortably in, we did try to turn down the room temperature but it didn't make much difference.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_n_debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear phil_n_debs,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated by all our staff. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Loved the location. It just depends on which direction you walk and you will be near most key must visit sites like the Rathaus, the port, alster lakes and even the reeperbahn (which is very touristy and more like a pub crawl) etc. 5 or less mins to U-Bahn and S-Bahn. Nice restaurants around including one which serves German food like Bratwurst, etc adn beer. Also stroll down the street for shopping (high end) mind you although there is a few high street shops like H&M and Zara like 10 mins away. Room was very spacious with a nice sized desk for working. They do not replenish drinking water though and there was no tooth paste. Nice large white bathroom as well. Looked a little clinical to me but it looks very clean. Loved the breakfast. Nice selection (not just danish/toast like some european places) including one of the best made to order pancakes that I've ever had. They were thin, warm and extremely tasty as they came to you. Sit outside if the weather permits as there is a serene canal outside. I loved the view with the old bridge while I had my OJ, yoghurt etc

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Dear suetz,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated by all our staff and especially our cook at the egg service station is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed his pancakes. On request there is a complimentary tooth brush kit including a tooth brush and tooth paste is available at the reception desk. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#32 of 318 in Hamburg
749 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#53 of 318 in Hamburg
1,071 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,337 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#18 of 318 in Hamburg
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing