We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star, and worth every penny.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #42 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“5 Star, and worth every penny.”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel in the heart of Hamburg is a modern impressive construction, built by one of the many inland waterways. It is flanked by two subway stations, a taxi rank and bus stops so getting around the city is easy. Staff, who all spoke fluent English were very good and seemed to enjoy sharing their local knowledge of what to see and do in the city.

Ensure you book breakfast as this an absolute delight. Everything from champagne to bacon and sausage!! If you are travelling on a budget, you may want to take a travel kettle as there is no hot drinks facility in the room. Room service is pricey, and coffe at the bar is 5 Euros.

The taxi fare from the airport is about 25Euros and takes 20 mins. The train is much cheaper and stop at the hotel.

Room Tip: If like me your a smoker, ask for a lower floor room so you can nip outside for a sly one with ease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear RickyLeeds,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was a delight to read your feedback. Indeed the train (suburban railway S1) takes only 30 minutes from the airport to the hotel and the train station (Stadthausbrücke) is only 100 metres from the hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed our service and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    879
    307
    80
    29
See reviews for
298
865
96
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fornebu, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Steigenberger is located in the heart of central Hamburg, surrounded by water and a nice square. Its a quite nice hotel.

The service is truly 5-star, very discrete and professional.
Parking was also done fast but safe by the staff.

Price levels are about what to expect at a 5-star hotel, no more, no less.

The rooms are big and nice, but shower in the bathtub was for me a bit too outdated.. And too few English tv-channels (though tv was not so important)

The beds are nice and comfortable.

Will I stay at Steigenberger next time I visit Hamburg. Yes, maybe I will.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vegard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Vegard H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following you last stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted that you felt that the service at our hotel is truly 5-star and we have shared your kind comments with our staff. We are sorry to hear that you thought our bathrooms were a bit too outdates but we are planning to renovate bathrooms in the not too distant future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on your next trip to Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Two days over the weekend with my wife in Hamburg - a little treat for us in a terrific hotel - Hamburg is always excellent, and with the service here second to none would thoroughly recommend. The room was a good size, breakfast excellent (if slightly pricy) and the staff were friendly and courteous - really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for giving us such great feedback, it is very much appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have been staying there several times and I still recommend this particular hotel. May be a bit complicated to find, but your navi should get you there instantly. You are taken care of a professional hotel staff, offering you a very clean room with all facilities you need for good nights sleep. We enjoyed our dinner at Bistro am Fleet and my friend bought even 12 bottles of their excellent Württemberg red wine. May be some local or regional dishes should be added on the menu list.The breakfast was excellent and in line with their service. I have never been disppointed when staying at the Steigenberger in Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Stuart G,

Thank you very much for for posting a review of your last stay with us. We are really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your valuable feedback is extremely important to us and we will discuss your menu list comments with our chef. We look forward to welcoming you and your friend back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was staying here on a business trip and must say it was a wonderful hotel. The room was huge, loved the bathroom it was pretty special, and the fact that when you turned on the TV there were speakers everywhere so you didn't miss a thing. Also I will need to say that the breakfast and choices you got was outstanding, would come back just for the breakfast. Also walking distance to lovely shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hege_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Hege_71,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg and thank you for sharing your comments. We are indeed centrally located close to one of Hamburg´s most famous shopping malls, called “Neuer Wall. We are very pleased that you recognised the high level of breakfast and it is a pleasure for us to hear that you would come back just for the breakfast! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I have been staying there several times and I still recommend this particular hotel. May be a bit complicated to find, but your navi should get you there instantly. You are taken care of a professional hotel staff, offering you a very clean room with all facilities you need for good nights sleep. We enjoyed our dinner at Bistro am Fleet and my friend bought even 12 bottles of their excellent Württemberg red wine. May be some local or regional dishes should be added on the menu list.The breakfast was excellent and in line with their service. I have never been disppointed when staying at the Steigenberger in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Staying high up in the building will always keep you away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear GUMOslo,

Thank you for your feedback on the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us! As valued guests, your feedback is extremely important to us and we will discuss your menu list comments with our chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as i was in town for a family celebration. I was very disappointed with the room - the decor was hideous. Dated wood, curtains that can only be termed offensive, and ghastly black / multi striped carpet. (As a comparison, I have previously stayed at the Park Hyatt in Hamburg where the rooms are well designed and contemporary). the toiletries in the bathroom are cheap and nasty, and the staff at the front desk are too self important. I feel like the Steigenberger likes to think it is a 5 star hotel, but i beg to differ.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MissMarpleTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear MissMarpleTheCat,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg is a classified 5 star hotel and we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations. Room pictures and descriptions are mentioned on the website. However if you are not happy with the room given to you, there is always the possibility to ask receptionist for the alternatives including room upgrade as we operate with different room types. Please accept our apologies regarding your experience with our font desk staff, we take your complaint very seriously and will discuss this matter with our front desk staff and we will intensify our training efforts.

Kind regards,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#34 of 318 in Hamburg
742 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#54 of 318 in Hamburg
1,056 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 318 in Hamburg
2,302 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#28 of 318 in Hamburg
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing