We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it says 5 stars but its definitely not a 5 star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #43 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swakopmund
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“it says 5 stars but its definitely not a 5 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I booked my wife and myself into the Hotel for a week. The room is antiquated and dates back to the nineties. The ventilation is so loud that it keeps you awake at night. When you open the window the ventilation is automatically switched off. There is no extraction fan in the Toilet. When you phone room service, you land up at the reception. Every room service order is subject to a tray charge of Euro 5,00 - we ordered a flask of coffee which only contained two cups of coffee at an exorbitant charge of Euro 28,00 - in a 5 star hotel I would expect to find a coffee & Tea station inside the room. The Mattress is old and soft and covered with a PVC sheet (like in a hospital). Duvet is thin and of poor quality. Towels are old and threadbare. When we requested laundry to be collected, we were told by reception that laundry had to be collected by 08h00 - they were very rigid with the turn in times. When we eventually kicked up a fuss about not being flexible they collected our laundry and charged us a hefty price for same day service, returned the laundry on coat hangers without any pieces being folded. The rooms facing the front are very loud on account of traffic and passing trains. In a 5 star Hotel I would expect a bath tub and a shower cubicle - in this Hotel you had to stand in the bath tub to have shower. The shower/bath faucet was so old it was difficult to regulate the water temperature properly. Just because it is rated 5 star, not all services such as internet should be charged at 5 star rates - Euro 27 for 2 day internet access is a rip off. When I checked out I was not offered to scrutinize my bill and had to specifically request it before my credit card was swiped.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhardt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Reinhardt K,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg is a classified 5 star hotel and it is our greatest goal to make sure that our guests have a most enjoyable stay with us. We are truly sorry that we did not achieve our goal on this occasion. We are sorry to hear that you thought our mattresses were old and soft and that you did not like the duvet. We are committed to maintaining the property to the highest possible standards and it is an ongoing plan that we change mattresses whenever necessary. Of course we also offer room categories in which we provide in-room coffee and tea making facilities. Unfortunately we did not receive any information regarding your preferences, so we had no chance to change the mattress or to shift you to another room which suits you more. Indeed if you phone up room service you will be connected to our reception and the reception staff will put your order immediately to our room service staff. This is a current method in most hotels and it´s also common that there is a room service charge. We apologise the inconvenience you may had with the laundry service and the reception staff during check out. We take your complaint very seriously and will discuss this matter with our staff and will intensify our training efforts.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    786
    257
    73
    22
See reviews for
268
771
90
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stenloese, Denmark
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband just stayed here for 2 nights. It is difficult to find the 5 Stars both In service and In comfort. Poor service at the reception no smiles and very short sentences. We did not feel welcome quilte the opposite. The spa was closed, only open for treatments. No pool. 1 EUR for 1/2 hour wireless, and 5 EUR for 3 hours. Breakfast was EUR 28, we found another place to have breakfast . The Rooms were big, but the bed was terrible, the madras was soft and worn. There are much better alternatives to this hotel In wonderful Hamburg.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaboki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Ms. Jaboki,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to submit a review of your last stay with us. While we are obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the service at reception and the room, we genuinely appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to follow up on your experience and to ensure our service quality is up to our usual standards.

Once again my apologies and I thank you very much for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Good hotel (business or leisure) between the river Alster and Elbe with everything in walking distance. Very good restaurant in the hotel with exceptional kitchen. Some rooms are very loud because of the trains passing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear AB,

Thank you for your warm words about the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I shared you comments regarding the kitchen with our chef and he was very happy about your very kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit one day soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney traveller
Level Contributor
204 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Almost 5 star, but for me, 5 star needs to offers something more, and perhaps the Steigenberger is a just a tad impersonal, despite offering everything you need (so it's a really good hotel!). Great fitness centre. Wifi should be free...I travel with prepaid sim cards to get around this, but in this day and age, there is no justification for a 5 star hotel to charge extra for something this basic.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear nathanwaks

Thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your last stay with us. We were delighted to read that you thought our hotel is a good hotel and that you loved our fitness centre. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
640 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

OK ! in between the U and the S Bahn, at walking distance from almost everything in town and on a direct line from the airport, the location is unbeatable. However things are slightly less ideal once inside. Front desk is polite but don't expect a concierge or someone to carry your bag. Our room was fairly large but the beds were quite hard (even for someone who tends to like them) the pillows too soft (and no choice), no trace of coffee/tea making in the room, the heating was rather inefficient and the bathroom very far away from what you would expect from such hotel. Then we happened to be there just before Xmas. Fatal error! The sauna was inaccessible from 2PM, and when arriving on the 23rd we were told that the single open restaurant the next day was already overbooked and that we could have cold cuts in our room the 24th if we wished so!!!! Unbelievable! This place pretends to play in the 5 stars category... However it takes some efforts to reach that level and the Steigenberger should remain reasonable and not pretend anything above an average 4stars level

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear JMGeneva,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We apologise the inconvenience you may had during your stay in our hotel and are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Unfortunately we did not receive any information regarding your preferences in advance. We are very sorry that we had not the opportunity to talk to you in person about your wishes and what you are unhappy about. Things like the bedding, pillows, tea and coffee making facilities (which we offer in an other room category) would have been changed easily.
Our Spa opening hours during Christmas are depending to our experiences from the last years: our guests did not frequented the spa area on Christmas Eve. Due to this and economical reasons we decided to close it earlier. For sure we would have closed it later or opened it again individually if we had any wishes from our guests.

If our restaurant is fully booked we offer alternatives – this could be other restaurants nearby the hotel or room service with hot or cold dishes from the separate menu placed in your room. Usually we ask our guest during check in for help with their luggage if for some reasons our concierge or the bellboy are not available to pick it up immediately. We apologize that this obviously was not done. With our front office team we have already discussed about the issues you mentioned and trainings have been implemented as this is not the service we usually offer.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity on your next trip to Hamburg to show that we have improved in all points.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Visited Hamburg over a weekend and stayed at Steigenberger. Nothing to complain really. Rooms were quite big, view to the canals was nice and sauna section was great. Location is good, downtown is very close, you can rsally walk everywhere, even to Reperbahn. You can get very next to hotel by train from airport. We didn't try the breakfast, so no experience on that.

For some reason we got the room to this hotel over a weekend with very cheap price. We were able to chekin very early on Friday like 10:00 which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Janneki,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope that you will try our sumptuous buffet breakfast when you will come back for your next stay because it contains cold and warm platters, egg specialities à la minute, cold cuts, cheese and fish specialities, pastries, bread, bread rolls, cereals, yogurt, curd cheese, fruits, jam, honey, 12 juices, 18 varieties of tea, coffee specialities and sparkling wine and our guests do love it! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the Xmas markets and couldn't of picked a better location small market outside hotel and only about 10 min walk to the Rathaus main market.The hotel was very easy to get to arrived by train from airport and hotel 2min walk from station.
The hotel was decorated lovely and a very christmassy feeling ,the room was of good size complimentary dressing gown and slippers provided and rooms cleaned and linen changed daily and again in the evening beds turned down excellent service.Did not eat hotel as was out and about most of the time but in the evening we did have a drink in the piano bar to end the day.I would stay here again If in Hamburg nice hotel ,comfortable rooms and great location

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you loved the decoration and ambience of the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. As you mentioned there are a lot of Xmas markets around the hotel and every year between the end of November and Christmas there is a nice, small Christmas market next to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#35 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#52 of 318 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing