We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night pre-cruise stay was perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #44 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florence, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Two night pre-cruise stay was perfect”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was perfectly located, within walking distance of the piers, restaurants, shopping, and the historic warehouse district. The breakfast was excellent and in a large attractive room, no elbowing for space! The room was nice, with a lovely bathroom. The only comment on the room was that the air conditioning seemed to go off at night, making the room a bit stuffy. The staff couldn't have been more helpful from our check in man, Falk, to the concierge, Ms. Weber. Our luggage didn't arrive with us, but when it did later that night, it was delivered to our room. There are restaurants just outside the rear entrance, and a canal in front. If I returned to Hamburg, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: A front room would be more quiet since the restaurants are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    902
    313
    81
    30
See reviews for
304
898
99
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location in the center of the city, very close to neuer wall and within walking distance to most attractions.
Friendly staff, efficient check-in and check-out, but this is an older hotel which is seen in the rooms and the décor. The room was very comfortable, nice and clean but nothing spectacular, very standard, and quite boring. Over all, this hotel offers great value for money, and definitely wins by its central location. Would for sure consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Line J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel on a business trip and could not have been more pleased. You are provided an extremely high level of service from their staff. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The location is also excellent, a couple of small restaurants with outdoor seating are just downstairs and you can walk to the water and Hafencity in about 20 minutes. There is a subway station also very close and there are always very friendly staff who will hail you a taxi. The breakfast buffet is massive (although a bit pricey) and covers almost every possible breakfast item you could want. I will certainly stay at this property again upon my next visit to Hamburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saiklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful, location of the hotel was nice. Decoration of the rooms were a bit old fashioned, but rooms were comfortable and had enough space, also wardrobes and cabinets were big enough for long stays..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Borealis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Arriving at Steigenburger Hamburg we checked in very quickly and went up to our twin room. Unfortunately, it was not the expected twin but a double. Major problem as I was travelling with my sister and didn't fancy sharing especially as I had booked it in July 2013. Returning to reception to sort it out was not a five star experience! We were told that the hotel was full and there was nothing available as they don't receive request information from Travel Republic. If that's the case why not do something about it? After a few minutes we were grudgingly given a disabled twin for the night. Not quite what you expect for £239 per nt ( room only).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stoneleigh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

For many years I have always been staying at the Park Hyatt, but this time around my company booked me into the Steigenberger and I must say it is a nice hotel.

Great location right in the middle of the city. There is a Subway station right in front of the hotel and the Jungfernstieg is just minutes away by foot.

Rooms are functional and clean and despite being in the middle of the city you can sleep with the windows open as it is located in a relatively quite site street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I were in Steigenberger hotel for 3 nights with family from 4th to 6th April 2014. The location was very well and it was located in the city center, the hotel view was very awesome and there was metro station near there.
There was a great restaurant in the hotel with good behavior staff and breakfast was very full and complete. Rooms were clean with safety box and well equipped.
Receptionists were welcomed but didn't know much about the city.
Hotel had a parking but do not let them to park your car because they did something bad to our car key and 3 of us had to comeback with train.

Room Tip: try to choose a room with Alster river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alize Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#32 of 319 in Hamburg
750 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 319 in Hamburg
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 319 in Hamburg
2,343 reviews
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#54 of 319 in Hamburg
1,075 reviews
Le Meridien Hamburg
#26 of 319 in Hamburg
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing