We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location.. just 2 mins walk to CHANEL boutique! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Ranked #43 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location.. just 2 mins walk to CHANEL boutique! :)”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I booked 4 rooms in Steigenberger hamburg for 5 nights.
I give it 4 stars based on my experience. 
The best thing is location. As all major brand boutiques are just 2-5 minutes walk from the hotel ;)

Starbucks is opposite and there are some restaurants at the back. There is a supermarket after starbucks coffee shop and closes at 7pm.

Deluxe rooms are specious and comfortable.
We spent our first night almost awake and killing spiders; as Hamburg is full of them!! ;)
What I didnt like is that there is no swimming pool.. Sabai Thi restaurant is close during August. 
In general its a very good hotel, and if I will visit Hamburg again, I will come back to it for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaiban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    894
    312
    81
    30
See reviews for
302
889
98
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location for a trip to Hamburg, walking distance from a great shopping area "Hanse Viertel" home to upscale brands and very nice cafes and also the Austen Alster lake area, rooms are very spacious, have all the amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel and the hotel staff are wonderful. My only peeves were the free WiFi which was very slow (256 KB) and also required logging in several times a day and the fact that if you open the window for a couple of minutes spiders will get in, especially in summer when we visited, and that the AC was slightly noisy in our room but overall a great hotel, with nice views of the canals in the area and several bars and cafes right at the back and U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations within a few meters.
Overall a great hotel that could be even better with slight renovations.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Steigenberger is a grand dame of European hotel. The hotel is particularly well situated in the heart of Hamburg within walking distance of pretty much anything you need. In the warmth of the summer (well, unseasonably so for my visit for Hamburg!) their bar opens up to the island square behind where you will also find a variety of outdoor cafe-style restaurants.

The rooms are quite nice and spacious for Europe and if you are on the water (canal) side, it is quite a nice view. The hotel has a decent workout room with a few machines on the outside deck to give you that feeling of running outside, without actually running outside.

The breakfast was quite ample but if you plan on enjoying it, I would strongly recommend getting it as part of your rate as it is around 30 EUR per person (and generally cheaper if baked into your hotel room rate).

My only real complaint was the wifi - they had a free wifi that was PAINFULLY slow (256 kb/s) and then a "fast" one for 8 EUR but the fast one was not terribly fast either. Decent wifi is such a given these days and is probably the only thing I could see them improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed one night. Nice big clean room and bed. There is a parking (for a fee) underneath and a elevator straight up to reception and rooms. Staf was friendly and helpful. There is a free wifi.

During our stay Germany won world championship in football and even though the town was in celebration the whole night we had a good nights sleep and didn´t hear anything through the windows.
Just outside the hotel there is a local train station, restaurants, coffee and a few other shops. Breakfast wash´t included in price so we chose to take coffee and sandwich from nearby coffee shop instead.
The location is central and in walking distance to main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kubbist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night last Saturday. It is a fabulous hotel, ideally located for city. You can walk to the Inner Alster via the Rathaus in 5 minutes. The SBahn is right beside the hotel and the UBahn is round the corner. There is a plaza just outside the main entrance with bars and restaurants.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was large with tabs and chairs and a desk for those who need to work. The bathroom was lovely and robes and slippers were provided. There was a minibar which we didn't use and room service is offered.

The breakfast was amazing. Everything you could want. The usual sausage, bacon, etc cereals, bread, cold meats, cheese, salmon, sushi and omelettes/eggs made to order.

We walked to the St Pauli area in 20 minutes at a casual stroll and as it was the Harley Days Bike Fest Weekend, were able to admire all the Harley's on the way.

We usually stay in the St Pauli area but most of the hotels were already booked so this was our first visit to this hotel and it certainly won't be the last!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was perfectly located, within walking distance of the piers, restaurants, shopping, and the historic warehouse district. The breakfast was excellent and in a large attractive room, no elbowing for space! The room was nice, with a lovely bathroom. The only comment on the room was that the air conditioning seemed to go off at night, making the room a bit stuffy. The staff couldn't have been more helpful from our check in man, Falk, to the concierge, Ms. Weber. Our luggage didn't arrive with us, but when it did later that night, it was delivered to our room. There are restaurants just outside the rear entrance, and a canal in front. If I returned to Hamburg, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: A front room would be more quiet since the restaurants are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location in the center of the city, very close to neuer wall and within walking distance to most attractions.
Friendly staff, efficient check-in and check-out, but this is an older hotel which is seen in the rooms and the décor. The room was very comfortable, nice and clean but nothing spectacular, very standard, and quite boring. Over all, this hotel offers great value for money, and definitely wins by its central location. Would for sure consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Line J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel
#32 of 317 in Hamburg
749 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 317 in Hamburg
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
#53 of 317 in Hamburg
1,070 reviews
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#4 of 317 in Hamburg
2,332 reviews
Neustadt
Hanse Clipper Haus
Hanse Clipper Haus
#18 of 317 in Hamburg
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#32 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#40 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths and relax lounge take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. Rree Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing