We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but not great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Ranked #54 of 319 Hotels in Hamburg
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value but not great location”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Firstly, this is not as central as the Accor website suggests - not 'in the heart' of the city. It is an uninspiring mile trudge to the centre and station.
Hotel is good value, decor in room a bit dated but very spacious, really comfortable bed and pillows, superb coffee machine. The bathroom is well laid out, nice deep tub but no bath plug and the towels are small, thin and feel rough. Room and whole hotel is very clean. Service is superb - all staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The restaurant is good - dinner offers plenty of choice, well cooked and beautifully presented by charming waiters. Which is just as well given there are no obvious alternatives in the immediate area. Nice bar area, good selection of very high quality wine by the glass.
Overall price/quality stacks up well, a point lost for location, towels and lack of bath plug.
If I came to Hamburg again I'd probably look for somewhere more central.
Hamburg itself has lots to offer - superb galleries and museums and at this time of year lots of Christmas markets. Local people I met were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    355
    127
    30
    6
See reviews for
162
217
41
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have stayed here several times. I love the breakfast. the rooms are average but your not paying for luxury here either. The bar food is also good. Close to town and five minutes walk to the train.Fresh Orange juice in the morning. good wifi

Room Tip: if your an Accor member tell them you are so you can get a better room (If you have status points)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokyotraveller918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night during a business trip. Staff is friendly, hotel is OK. Value for money is good.
The only negative point are the dangerous bathtubs. They are very high and you can easily slip when getting out of them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirso T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel for business reasons, check in great, room clean. Only one little moan, I arrived late, just before 23h, was told that the restaurant was closed but food was available at the bar. OK went to the bar to order some food, how about a pizza ? Fine Sir but it will take 40 minutes ! how long ? ok I will have some pasta ... Fine SIR? that will take 30 minutes !!!
so I had a beer and peanuts ! Otherwise you can stay at this hotel, no problem. Just don't turn up late if you haven't eaten.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Hamburg looks massive, and no wonder it is the second largest German city after Berlin. Getting in by car was very confusing, but when we found the Mercure hotel (which we had booked online) we realized that we were quite conveniently located. The city centre is around 25 minutes by foot, but the S-Bahn (Hammerbrooke) is 2 blocks away, and for a family of 4 it pays to get a day ticket for €10.40 which lets you access all the network for a whole day. Mercure Hotels are very well-priced and very family-friendly. I always remind this to myself when I end up in one of them, and I always say that I am so glad to have become an Accor member... infact, this time round, it heped us to have free wi-fi, when normally one would have to pay for a day of wi-fi. Our Superior room was fine for the 2 nights we had planned. In my opinion, the F+B level at this hotel is top-notch. Congratulations to the team, as we were pleasantly surprised by the very good food and the very reasonable prices. We dined in the hotel both nights... One night we had a very good set menu for €13 a head, and the next day we tried the buffet for €21 per person. On both occasions, we have nothing but good words to say. Kids liked it too. Bar area is very comfortable and the staff (especially the F+B staff) are very good. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambumica1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in mercure hotel hamburg for 2 days. The service was really good and the staff was nice. There was a bakery nearby and the u-bahn station was also very close.Overall it was good.i had no complains.You can also watch free movies on the televison

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spend one night at Mercure Hamburg City in July in our family of two adult sand two kids (1, 4). It was a plesent stay since we book a supieror room with seperate bedroom for our smallest kid. The room was nice and the walking distance to city center ok. Cheap. The breakfast at the hotel was quite expensive so we just had this in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brassoee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Hyperion Hotel Hamburg
Hyperion Hotel Hamburg
#29 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 319 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Ibis Hamburg City
#38 of 319 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hamburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hamburg City

Property: Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Address: Amsinckstr. 53, 20097 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Novotel Hamburg City Sud)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#43 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hamburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Hamburg City is a 4 star hotel with a unique decor concept inspired by Hamburg, the media city. This is carried through the 187 guest rooms as well as other parts of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hamburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing