We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hamburg City
Ranked #55 of 321 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The family room was large enough and spotlessly clean. They were super nice at the reception and gave the kids a little goody bag when we checked in. The sofa-bed for the kids was already turned out when we got to the room so we could relax immediately. We didn't take the breakfast as we were simply passing through and left early. Not walking distance (at least not with young kids) to the tourist area of Hamburg, so we drove. This is a short easy drive.

There is plenty of free street parking conveniently located right outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockholmCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear TripAdvisor user,
thank you very much for taking time to respond according to your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback - of course, I am going to forward your comment to our team.
Kind regards,
Sven Falkenburger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Sometimes we are very easy to write issues rather than good things. Today I want thanks all the management for being just superb. My day started at 5.45 so arriving at the hotel at 9 pm and finding welcoming and accommodating staff is just priceless. Well done!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Riccardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear TripAdvisor user,
wow.. what a wonderful compliment. Thank you very much for your sincere words, although this is not just a "management thing". I am happy to forward your message to our team, who is not just participating but the main reason for all those good comments about our service.
Best regards,
Sven Falkenburger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very Welcoming staff, multi lingual so we had no issues with english/german, food was great, fantastic location as we were close to everything or easy access by bus without being right in the tourist areas, great wifi

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear TripAdvisor user,

thank you very much for such a nice comment. It is my pleasure to forward that kind of feedback to our team.
Best regards,
Sven Falkenburger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed her on two separate business trips during May & June this year, on both occasions the hotel lived up to its 4 Star rating in respect of Staff, accommodation and facilities such as the bar, Restaraunt, spa and pool.
The Restaraunt menu like many German hotels is limited but what is served is good quality in general, wines are expensive, breakfast however is excellent being a buffet style/help yourself occasion.
To walk into the city centre takes around 15 minutes but taxis are readily available if required, taxi service from-to Hamburg airport is around 21 Euro each way (about 20-30 minutes depending on traffic).
Hamburg is a shoppers paradise but not cheap but a great city to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for "Privilege" rooms, more expensive but nice, mini-bar is complimentary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dgdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear TripAdvisor user,

thank you very much for such a nice comment. It is my pleasure to forward that kind of feedback to our team.
Best regards,

Daniel Hain, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just checked in it's 23.00. After one day working a crappy taxy driver who didn't even know where this hotel is. Check in and there is only smoking room available but as sorry they give access to minibar? what the hell are you thinking I should get drunk to sleep tonight in this stinky room?
Let's see what they give me tomorrow. Dear Mercure management you spend time energy and money to gain a customer and guess what a simple rubbish like this make you loosing a the customer in less than you think

Room Tip: Hotel is far better of many others here in town so I still suggest it, but if you are a non smokers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven F, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear TripAdvisor user,
thanks for your time to evaluate the check in situation at our hotel.
Unfortunately, like most other hotels, we cannot guarantee non smoking rooms at all. In case we are usually booked up sometimes we only have smoking rooms available, if you are checking in late. Besides you had no comment on your reservation for your preferences as a non smoker.
We meant non harm to offer you the minibar for free - this was just my colleagues courtesy to offer you some kind of benefit. We are sorry, if that keeps you away from staying at our Mercure.
Kind regards,
Sven Falkenburger
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank dgdavis1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sven F, Manager at Mercure Hotel Hamburg City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hammerbrook
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
Prizeotel Hamburg-City
#15 of 321 in Hamburg
893 reviews
Hammerbrook
INNSIDE by Melia Hamburg Hafen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Hamburg City
#43 of 321 in Hamburg
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hamburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hamburg City

Address: Amsinckstr. 53, 20097 Hamburg, Germany (Formerly Novotel Hamburg City Sud)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hamburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Hamburg City is a 4 star hotel with a unique decor concept inspired by Hamburg, the media city. This is carried through the 187 guest rooms as well as other parts of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hamburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Hamburg City
Mercure Hamburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing