We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Hamburg International
Ranked #91 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Positives: Quiet location but close to metro station (Rauhes Haus) then only 15 minutes to city centre (Jungfernstieg). Room comfortable and ample size. Tea & coffee tray provided on request. Lidl practically next door for additional supplies.
Negatives: Hotel restaurant expensive; limited breakfast & dinner venues near hotel. We had Lidl croissants for breakfast and dined in the city!
Details: Stayed 27/10-02/11/2012 (Europe Trip Hotel 11 of 15!); age range 35-40.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    129
    53
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
94
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
577 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights in mid-October. The hotel isn't anything fancy from the street (the facade) and the lobby is fairly nondescript. However, the hotel staff are warm, welcoming and friendly. The couldn't have been more helpful - such as ensuring we got to the correct place in downtown Hamburg.

The nearest U Bahn station is only one block away - there is another in the opposite direction about 5 blocks away so the hotel is in an excellent location. That is one of the reasons we selected this hotel as we planned to take the U Bahn downtown. There is also a Lidl grocery store about two blocks away and a Penny Markt one block in the other direction (across from the closest U Bahn station). This made it very convenient to pick up juice and yogurt for our breakfast.

Our room had dated decor and in need of any update; however the room was clean, spacious enough with comfortable beds and soft sheets. There was no minibar/refrigerator so we left what needed to stay cool outside in our car. The hotel staff was more than willing to get us as many ice cubes as we needed to keep our drinks cold. The TV was a small older style CRT but wasn't too obtrusive.

We parked in the garage (free due to BW diamond status) but there is free outside parking on the side of the hotel that never seemed to fill up.

The bathroom was great. The tub was the normal deep tub that I have come to appreciate when I travel in Germany and the sink was the best I have ever had in a hotel. It was a standard wall sink that was over 4 feet across with a bowl that was 2 feet across. There were shelves above for setting additional toiletries. Best Westerns in Germany provide liquid soap that is used for hand washing, bathing and shampooing.

We did not have the breakfast since it was an added Euro 11 per person but I was able to get some wonderful coffee simply by asking at the front desk. We had dinner at the hotel and enjoyed a deliciously tender deer goulash - my DH had a salad with chicken strips that he said was tasty. The service was very good.

Finally, the staff graciously allowed us to leave our car parked in the hotel parking lot after we checked out prior to heading to the U Bahn and downtown.

A refrigerator would make the room more comfortable and it would be great if breakfast was included in the hotel price. Otherwise I have nothing negative to say about this hotel and I will stay here again if my travels bring me back to Hamburg.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the street which wouldn't be too great in the summer when you need to open the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Best Western Hotel Hamburg International in the west of Hamburg is just 5 minutes away from the underground station ”Raues Haus” and therefore is ideal for a city trip to Hamburg. Within 20 minutes you are at the main railway station and thus can explore the city. The hotel itself is a average middleclass hotel. The reception guy responded competently to all questions and was able to meet additional requirements.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here just one night after a long drive from Dusseldorf. The rooms are old and dated but clean. Expedia claimed free parking but we were charged five euro (not outrageous since it was in a garage). There is a grocery store just a block away and a park across the street, our view was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSKorelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and were very pleased. We arrived quite late via bus from Copenhagen and were able to walk safely and easily from the station to the hotel. Our room was very clean, comfortable, nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet in the morning exceeded our expectations. There was a great selection of items to choose from - cereals, yogurt, fantastic breads, cheeses and meats, juice, a selection of jams - really anything you might want was available. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would welcome the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcrossqbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel while we were in Hamburg. The hotel is near to the Metro so easy to hop on a train and get into the centre for Hamburg it does not take long at all. The hotel is a little dated but it is clean, however our room smelt of cigarette smoke but this soon disappeared after having the window open for a while. The room was basic and had no tea/coffee making facilities, but you were able to help yourself to a tea/coffee in the reception area free of charge. All staff were helpful and friendly. We ate at the hotel because the weather was so poor, the food was ok. We were able to park our car in the hotels car park. Overall this isn't a bad place to stay given the location and the price we paid. We would consider this hotel if we were to visit Hamburg again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank row83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel to visit our son now living in Hamburg. Ideal location for city break easy 5 minute walk to train station. For a three star hotel it was very clean, decor a bit dated, staff very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again but would request a room at the back of hotel as there is a very busy main road just outside and you could not sleep with the window open because of the noise from the traffic. We had dinner in the hotel on our last night with my son and his girlfriend and it was simple good food at a very good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueM128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Ibis Hamburg Alsterring
#64 of 318 in Hamburg
621 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#60 of 318 in Hamburg
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Georg
Best Western Plus Hotel St. Raphael
Bridge Inn Hotel
#224 of 318 in Hamburg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Hamburg International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Hamburg International

Property: Best Western Hotel Hamburg International
Address: Hammer Landstrasse 200-202, 20537 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Hamburg International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its excellent transport links and city centre yet peaceful location, the Best Western Hotel Hamburg International provides the ideal overnight accommodation for business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has 113 rooms, all with free Internet access via WiFi. There is also an Internet terminal available to use in the lobby. We cater for meetings, conferences and family events... Here you will find the right facilities, first-class organisation and the very best in conference technology. With first-class and personal service, we will ensure your event is a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Hamburg International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hamburg
Hamburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing