We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scandic Hotel - Hamburg. Will stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Ranked #17 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Scandic Hotel - Hamburg. Will stay again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel in early April for a trade show. THe location was excellent for getting to the Hamburg Messe where the show was being held. You can walk 10 minutes if the weather is good or take the underground which is steps away from the hotel entrance. ( Gansmarkt stop). The hotel is modern and very comfortable. The lobby was pretty standard but I don't care much about the lobby, I'm more concerned about the room. In this case it was excellent. Very clean and well laid out with a lot of room to move about. It had a separate couch and table along with large, platform bed and a large wide screen TV. The only drawback was the closet area was not enclosed and no drawers ( only shelves) so you viewed your hanging clothes all day long.

My travel colleague also had high praise for the hotel and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Falcon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    491
    109
    29
    10
See reviews for
240
492
45
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a pretty new hotel in a nice location. The hotel is very nice and modern. They have a great parking garage, probably the nicest one that I have parked in. Only thing is that if I remember correctly, is costs around $20 to park there. It wasn't a huge deal, but the bar is right across from the elevators, so at times we had to weave between people to get on the elevator. Overall, a very nice place to stay. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccoker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muscat
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed a few nights for business and for a trade fair visit and found this gem on the internet.
Check-in was swift and all facilities were explained very well.
The room I got was huge. Well, for some reason they gave me a handicapt room (and I pressed some alarm button by mistake, which caused an immediate response from reception), but my colleague had a "normal" room which was nearly the same size.
There are some quirky design features in the rooma and the rest of the hotel.
The in-room mini bar is empty, but they have a small "shop" in the lobby where you can get food stuffs and drinks at very moderate prices.
Internet was free (at least for my rate) and fast.
The funky(-ish) hotel bar is not expensive and has a large selection of drinks that are prepared expertly by friendly staff.
I did not dine in the restaurant, but the breakfast was quite OK. Nothing to write home about, but not bad either.
It seems that unlike at other Scandic hotels where - according to the frist thing you see on the website "breakfast is always included/free" - this is not the case at the Emporio Hamburg. 20 Euro for all you can eat breakfast is reasonable, I guess.

The hotel is within (maximum) 10 minutes walk to the trade fair exhibition halls and not more to some decent shopping areas.
Will defiantely recommend this place to others.

The only "complaint" I would have that they are very stingy with towels (which are of extremely poor quality and size) and the very limited (soap and shampoo only) bathroom amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerhard1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Brand new hotel, so recent that friends living in Hamburg didnt know it. Hotel is 400m from the harbour front, a pleasant stroll from the railway station (25 mins) or an easy hop on the underground, with the nearest station on the doorstep.
Rooms were great, breakfast buffet was heroic, as it tends to be with Scandic properties.

Fitness area is adequate. Decent free weights which is always a bonus, but space is limited.

If you want a trouble free stay that wont trouble you at all you cant go far wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Modern hotel, great rooms with all amenities. Very nice bathroom with a spacious at-grade shower. CCH in walking distance through a little park.
Had some questions about the beds before arrival and couldn't get the right answer but other than that the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Didn't like the blue light in the elevator but that's just my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Excellent location. Breakfast is typical German of this hotel ranking, amazing. Dinners a little pricey but a welcome respit after a long flight. Little lobby market quite handy for the jet lagged folks. Junior suite had amazing floor to ceiling windows 4 meters high with decadent electric drapes. Was sick and had to do a convention for 3 days in winter, the comforts and location of this hotel really helped.

Room Tip: A little upgrade to a suite is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I can only recommend this place. It is close to the city centre and exhibition halls. Nice and practical rooms. Friendly staff and good breakfast buffet. I would go again to Scandic Hamburg. As well close to the train station Dammtor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#9 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
NH Collection Hamburg City
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#13 of 318 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Property: Scandic Hamburg Emporio
Address: Dammtorwall 19, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Region: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 318 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing